We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too rustic for me ”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Im Eimer

Im Eimer
Ranked #39 of 118 Restaurants in Somerset West
Cuisines: German, Bar, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Im Emier brings German dining to you with traditional German dishes such as Currywurst, Eisbein and a variety of different schnitzels. A relaxed and friendly atmosphere with a large fireplace inside for those cold winter evening and a great beer garden for those hot summer days. Recently, they have broadened their scope, offering weekly spit-braai's and potjies on a Sunday afternoon.
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
70 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Too rustic for me ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

I come from a mix of German Spanish heritage , and for me the place is toooo German in the rustic decor sense haha. The food was fine but to be honest the look and feel of the place put me off but then again others love that atmosphere so if you enjoy German food on a traditional rustic setting, then go check it out.

Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    27
    19
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Big meals!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Not that we needed more food on this amazing trip to South Africa but we found the food pretty good with large portions and excellent service. Yes,do not be put off by the entrance !!We thought it was a shanty town and had been given the incorrect directions.
Would visit this place again :)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ascendee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Rustic atmosphere, great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

The atmosphere at Im Eimer is rustic and laid back. It was cold on the night we went there, but inside the pub it was cosy with a big roaring fire. The beer was delicious, and the food was also great! The steak was done to perfection and the venison goulash with Spätzle was equally delicious. "Easy" night out, will definitely go again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hanelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Rustic German experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Have eaten at many wine farms and fine dining restaurants with our last visit to the Winelands. Im Eimer is "good" different. Don't be put off by the entrance. Once you are inside you will be pleasantly surprised. Warm, inviting atmosphere, fantastic beers and comfort food. Will be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DominiqueduP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Unimpressed!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

Have eaten here 3 times, probably not again. Very hit or miss! Depends how you like your schnitzel - oily or very oily.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Im Eimer also viewed

Somerset West, Cape Town
 
Somerset West, Cape Town
 
Somerset West, Cape Town
Somerset West, Cape Town
 

Been to Im Eimer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing