We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay View Somerset West
Ranked #14 of 81 Somerset West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Excellent accommodation with still really value for money. Friendly reception that gives you a homely feeling. Stunning views. Would defineltly make use if again. Well done to the staff of this establishment for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Derick and Annelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Owner at Bay View Somerset West, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear Derick and Annelize
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and the positive comments about Bay View. We strive to provide excellent accommodation at great rates and are pleased that you have confirmed this. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip. All the best to you both.
Best Regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

The unit was upmarket and spotless and I had a very comfortable stay. Mark is friendly and accommodating and the staff are unobtrusive. WIFI meant that I could stay in touch with the office. Great outdoor area to sit and take in the view across False Bay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Drewan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Owner at Bay View Somerset West, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Drewan

Thank you for taking the time and writing a review, it is much appreciated.
We are pleased that you had a comfortable stay even if Somerset West presented all the seasons to you in one week, from sunshine to floods with a side serving of wind, cold and heat.
All the very best for you and your family over the festive season, may 2014 bring you all the Gold Trophy's in Croquet.

Best Regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Loved my stay here, such attention to detail! The room was comfortable and beautifully decorated. Was just one night unfortunately, would definitely love to return when on holiday, it would make a lovely base to visit Gordon's Bay, Stellenbosch etc. Thanks for a lovely stay Mark!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Aimee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Owner at Bay View Somerset West, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Aimee

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, your efforts are much appreciated.
We are pleased that you found our facilities comfortable and that you enjoyed your short stop over. We look forward to welcoming you back for a longer relaxing stay in the near future.
May you and your family enjoy a safe and relaxing festive season and all the best for 2014.
Until we meet again!
All the best.
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Friendly service, close to all amenities, comfortable and great views. Priced well and a better choice than staying in a hotel, especially if you want to do your own thing for breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hermias N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Owner at Bay View Somerset West, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Hermias
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and are hoping to see you again in the near future. We would like to also take this opportunity to wish you and your family a blessed festive season and all the best for the new year.
Best Regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

We had a one-night stopover on our way back from hiking the 'Whale Trail'. We booked the family room which turned out to be two rooms and a separate bathroom.

We desperately needed a good rest after a 55km hike over five days.

Accommodation could not have been better and neither could the welcome from our host Mark. Mark's recommendation for a restaurant for dinner also turned out to be excellent.

Value for money was as good as I've ever had, and the quality of the accommodation and overall stay would have been exceptional at any price.

Five stars plus!

Stayed: October 2013
Thank RichardHowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Owner at Bay View Somerset West, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Dear Richard

Thank you for taking the time to review Bay View.
We enjoyed having you and are pleased that we were able to live up to what we strive to offer "Good, clean, comfortable accommodation at reasonable prices".
We hope to meet up with you and your lovely family again on your next adventure in the area.

Best Regards
Mark & Eugene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

What an amazing place! Accommodation was superb and hosts Mark and Eugene couldn't have been more helpful! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend their establishment to others. Well done Mark and Eugene.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Owner at Bay View Somerset West, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Dear Barbara

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review, we are pleased that you were happy with what Bay View offered and hope that the rest of your stay in the Helderberg was just as enjoyable.

Many thanks once again.

Mark & Eugene
(PS: Congrats to "our team" the Sharks pulled through)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My wife and me would not expect such a lovely, charming and friendly Hotel in Cape Town where I was to attend an international Conference on electrical engineering. We spent 8 days in Cape Town with total support of Mark and Eugene, the owners of Bay View Hotel. They help us in all our requests, including transportation service, amazing breakfast, besides a pleasant and bright conversation. The Hotel is located in a hill where we saw incredibles sunrises and sunsets. We recommend this Hotel which has a high rate of benefit related to the price. Surely we will return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Antoniobarbosa2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Owner at Bay View Somerset West, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Dear Antonio and Patricia

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, we thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and are pleased to have lived up to all your expectations. We are certainly going to take you up on your offer in the near future and will meet up in Brazil.

All the best to you both.

Mark & Eugene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Somerset West hotels
0.4 mi away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
#1 of 6 in Somerset West
394 reviews
1 mi away
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
#17 of 81 in Somerset West
152 reviews
1 mi away
Blaauwheim Guest House
Blaauwheim Guest House
#1 of 81 in Somerset West
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Erinvale Estate Hotel and Spa
Erinvale Estate Hotel and Spa
#2 of 6 in Somerset West
359 reviews
1.7 mi away
Somerset Lodge
Somerset Lodge
#5 of 6 in Somerset West
20 reviews
1.6 mi away
Woodlands Guest House
Woodlands Guest House
#21 of 81 in Somerset West
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay View Somerset West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay View Somerset West

Address: 21 Abelia Street | Heldervue, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Somerset West
Price Range: £52 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay View Somerset West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay View is conveniently located in Heldervue, Somerset West with easy access from the N2 and R44. Rooms have panoramic daylight views of the surrounding mountains and of the entire False Bay including Gordon's Bay, Strand and Cape Point and a mass of night lights of the Helderberg Basin. Affordable ROOM ONLY accommodation serviced daily, with private entrance, Queen Bed, Air Conditioning, TV/DSTV, Free Wi-Fi connection, Fridge, Microwave, Coffee & Tea Facilities and Mini Bar in the room. A family room is available with a connecting separate bedroom with 2 single beds. Most other rooms have a Queen and Single Bed layout within 1 room. All rooms have en-suite bathrooms with either shower or bath and shower options. A guest lounge area is also available for you to enjoy the sunset or have some quiet time. Bay View is ideal for the leisure and business travelers alike. A base from which you can explore the Helderberg, surrounding wine estates, beaches and scenic routes with many hiking trails and mountain bike routes in the area. Bay View does not serve any meals due to our close proximity to Waterstone Village which has many restaurant options serving breakfast, lunch, dinner and various take away options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Bay View Somerset West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay View Somerset West Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing