We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hospitality and views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay View Somerset West

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bay View Somerset West
Ranked #13 of 78 Somerset West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stocksfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful hospitality and views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We've stayed in Somerset West before on our Western Cape travels but this was our first time at Bay View ( what an appropriate name!). We had the 'family room' which turned out to have two separate bedrooms, ample in size, as well as a lovely bathroom with a fantstic modern walk-in shower. Our host, Mark, could not do enough for us, including booking a restaurant for dinner. No breakfast is supplied, which is reflected in the price, but this was not a problem. We shall definitely return when next in Somerset West, which is an ideal base for the Winelands and the coastal road to Hermanus.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank cliveperrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Owner at Bay View Somerset West, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Clive
Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your stay at Bay View, we enjoyed having you are pleased that we were able to live up to your expectations. As you mention we have a great location close to Cape Town, Wine routes, The coastal Road and Hermanus, the Airport and many others.
We look forward to your return and will ensure that your next stay will be just as enjoyable.
Best Regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    20
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
43
6
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Eardisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

The decor, appointments and amenities speak for themselves. The facility is is well located to restaurants, beach, shopping malls and wine route. The views are spectacular. All in all a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ann-Herefordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Owner at Bay View Somerset West, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Ann
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for the wonderful comments, we are pleased that you had a lovely stay and are hoping to see you again on your next trip.
I hope the weather has improved in the UK? we continue to have great sunshine days "but winter will soon be approaching".
All the best and hope to see you again.
Best Regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hersbruck, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Good location for a few nights if you have to do in that region. Ideal for stop-over to CPT airport. Very nice view over false bay day and night. Perfect parking. Very clean and friendly. Bar in the upper flour with great stuff and view!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Roland W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Owner at Bay View Somerset West, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Roland
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Bay View. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. As you mention we have great views and our location close to the airport and for visiting the Helderberg and Winelands area are ideal.
We look forward to meeting you again on your next trip.
Best Regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek, Namibia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Beautiful rooms, well decorated, very clean, views over the whole of False Bay, very friendly staff, good location, lovely garden and swimming pool. Can only recommend it to everybody. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Owner at Bay View Somerset West, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Carol
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for recommending Bay View.
We really enjoyed having you and are looking forward to your next trip which you have already booked.
Travel safe and see you soon.
Best Regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffreys Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

Excellent accommodation with still really value for money. Friendly reception that gives you a homely feeling. Stunning views. Would defineltly make use if again. Well done to the staff of this establishment for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Derick and Annelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Owner at Bay View Somerset West, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Derick and Annelize
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and the positive comments about Bay View. We strive to provide excellent accommodation at great rates and are pleased that you have confirmed this. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip. All the best to you both.
Best Regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

The unit was upmarket and spotless and I had a very comfortable stay. Mark is friendly and accommodating and the staff are unobtrusive. WIFI meant that I could stay in touch with the office. Great outdoor area to sit and take in the view across False Bay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Drewan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Owner at Bay View Somerset West, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Drewan

Thank you for taking the time and writing a review, it is much appreciated.
We are pleased that you had a comfortable stay even if Somerset West presented all the seasons to you in one week, from sunshine to floods with a side serving of wind, cold and heat.
All the very best for you and your family over the festive season, may 2014 bring you all the Gold Trophy's in Croquet.

Best Regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Loved my stay here, such attention to detail! The room was comfortable and beautifully decorated. Was just one night unfortunately, would definitely love to return when on holiday, it would make a lovely base to visit Gordon's Bay, Stellenbosch etc. Thanks for a lovely stay Mark!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Aimee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Owner at Bay View Somerset West, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Aimee

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, your efforts are much appreciated.
We are pleased that you found our facilities comfortable and that you enjoyed your short stop over. We look forward to welcoming you back for a longer relaxing stay in the near future.
May you and your family enjoy a safe and relaxing festive season and all the best for 2014.
Until we meet again!
All the best.
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Somerset West hotels
0.4 mi away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
#1 of 6 in Somerset West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
4.1 mi away
Erinvale Estate Hotel
Erinvale Estate Hotel
#3 of 6 in Somerset West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blaauwheim Guest House
Blaauwheim Guest House
#1 of 78 in Somerset West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Albourne Boutique Guest House
Albourne Boutique Guest House
#7 of 78 in Somerset West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
1.0 mi away
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
#19 of 78 in Somerset West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.8 mi away
Southern Cross Guesthouse
Southern Cross Guesthouse
#5 of 78 in Somerset West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay View Somerset West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay View Somerset West

Property: Bay View Somerset West
Address: 21 Abelia Street | Heldervue, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Somerset West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay View Somerset West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay View is conveniently located in Heldervue, Somerset West with easy access from the N2 and R44. Rooms have panoramic daylight views of the surrounding mountains and of the entire False Bay including Gordon's Bay, Strand and Cape Point and a mass of night lights of the Helderberg Basin. Affordable ROOM ONLY accommodation serviced daily, with private entrance, Queen Bed, Air Conditioning, TV/DSTV, Free Wi-Fi connection, Fridge, Microwave, Coffee & Tea Facilities and Mini Bar in the room. A family room is available with a connecting separate bedroom with 2 single beds. Most other rooms have a Queen and Single Bed layout within 1 room. All rooms have en-suite bathrooms with either shower or bath and shower options. A guest lounge area is also available for you to enjoy the sunset or have some quiet time. Bay View is ideal for the leisure and business travelers alike. A base from which you can explore the Helderberg, surrounding wine estates, beaches and scenic routes with many hiking trails and mountain bike routes in the area. Bay View does not serve any meals due to our close proximity to Waterstone Village which has many restaurant options serving breakfast, lunch, dinner and various take away options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bay View Somerset West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay View Somerset West Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing