We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bay View Somerset West
Ranked #12 of 82 Somerset West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We had a really pleasant stay. The host really helped us with our visit to the winelands. He gave us the best advice! Nice, clean and big rooms, lovely bed. Wifi was good. His advice to have diner at Ben's Grill turned up to be a fantastic evening. Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Dries V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
There are newer reviews for Bay View Somerset West
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

Fantastic place. Very clean. Beds comfortable. Magnificent views. Decided to get take out and sit on the balcony. Host was extremely helpful and provided us with brochures fir local attractions. Only downside they don't serve breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lindie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

It is a well run, great location guest house with stunning views, big comfortable clean rooms, with very good Wi-Fi connection. If my travels ever take me to Somerset West again, Bay View would be my only choice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Juan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I have delayed reviewing this accommodation because I don't want to share my secret that I've found the best accommodation in the Western Cape! Very comfortable, clean, and run very well. (And I loved my choccy next to the bed!)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Odessa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This accomodation is absolutely FIRST CLASS as is the gardens, pool and proprietor Marc.Immaculately clean !!! In a great location for Cape town, winelands, and sight seeing, Will definately stay here again and will recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Owner at Bay View Somerset West, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Rob
Thank you for taking the time to write these kind words. We are pleased that we lived up to your expectations and are hoping to do so again in the near future. We have just finished planting the remaining Indigenous garden on the outside of the property this morning so we are sure it will be looking great for your next visit.
All the very Best
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Best place to stay for business but will also do so next time for holiday. Hosts and their staff were fantastic and really made an effort to meet my needs
The view is awesome. The honesty bar selection of drinks and snacks was well appreciated as it was definitely not the usual - affordable prices for it too. If I have had 10 thumbs, all would be up for Bay View! Thanks!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Karlien D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Owner at Bay View Somerset West, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Karlien
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review after your stay at Bay View. We are pleased that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay and hope that we see you again in the future. We pride ourselves on quality and affordable accommodation which includes the "drinks and snacks", the view comes free and are pleased that you enjoyed it.
All the very best
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

A beautiful, elegantly and cosy home with a very generous and kind host.
Rooms are clean, neat and very spacious and extra beautiful!!!!
Nothing is too much for ask for. Mark was kind enough to wash and dry my husbands dirty mountain biking kit from the Absa Cape Epic.

Living in Cape Town, I would still go there for a long weekend.

Bayview is fit for Royalty!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Owner at Bay View Somerset West, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Emma
"Blush" Thank you for the kind words it was an absolute pleasure, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and are hoping to see you again in future.
Hope the Epic ended well for the guys - "our logo on the Jerseys next year as the 2 day Laundry sponsor? - was worth a try"
All the very best
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Somerset West hotels
0.4 mi away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
#1 of 6 in Somerset West
340 reviews
4.1 mi away
Erinvale Estate Hotel
Erinvale Estate Hotel
#2 of 6 in Somerset West
313 reviews
1.0 mi away
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
#17 of 82 in Somerset West
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Southern Cross Guesthouse
Southern Cross Guesthouse
#5 of 82 in Somerset West
222 reviews
1.6 mi away
Woodlands Guest House
Woodlands Guest House
#19 of 82 in Somerset West
91 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cape Vermeer
Cape Vermeer
#3 of 82 in Somerset West
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay View Somerset West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay View Somerset West

Address: 21 Abelia Street | Heldervue, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Somerset West
Price Range: £57 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay View Somerset West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay View is conveniently located in Heldervue, Somerset West with easy access from the N2 and R44. Rooms have panoramic daylight views of the surrounding mountains and of the entire False Bay including Gordon's Bay, Strand and Cape Point and a mass of night lights of the Helderberg Basin. Affordable ROOM ONLY accommodation serviced daily, with private entrance, Queen Bed, Air Conditioning, TV/DSTV, Free Wi-Fi connection, Fridge, Microwave, Coffee & Tea Facilities and Mini Bar in the room. A family room is available with a connecting separate bedroom with 2 single beds. Most other rooms have a Queen and Single Bed layout within 1 room. All rooms have en-suite bathrooms with either shower or bath and shower options. A guest lounge area is also available for you to enjoy the sunset or have some quiet time. Bay View is ideal for the leisure and business travelers alike. A base from which you can explore the Helderberg, surrounding wine estates, beaches and scenic routes with many hiking trails and mountain bike routes in the area. Bay View does not serve any meals due to our close proximity to Waterstone Village which has many restaurant options serving breakfast, lunch, dinner and various take away options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Bay View Somerset West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay View Somerset West Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing