We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vergelegen - the gem of the Basin”
Review of Vergelegen Estate

Vergelegen Estate
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Vergelegen - no ordinary Estate. Founded on 1 February 1700, Vergelegen (meaning "situated far away"), has been under the ownership of some of the world's great explorers and visionaries, each of whom, in their own way, have helped shape Vergelegen to what it is today: a world-class Estate. With its world renowned handcrafted wines, history spanning over 300 years, heritage, exquisite gardens and refined cuisine, it comes as no surprise that Vergelegen continues to be the choice of the discerning visitor seeking a total sensory experience. For this reason, the Estate has borne witness to many visits of heads of state and celebrities from all over the world. Think of Vergelegen to spend quality time on your own, with your family and friends or business associates - wine tasting centre and cellar tours, Camphors at Vergelegen Signature Restaurant, Stables at Vergelegen Bistro Restaurant and the Picnic, are only a few of a myriad of enjoyable activities at Vergelegen. We invite you to experience the world of Vergelegen first-hand.
Cape Town South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Vergelegen - the gem of the Basin”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

As we live nearby, we often visit the gardens. It does not matter what time of the year you go, there is always something to see. The old buildings and the very old trees, takes you back ...... and you wonder If they could talk?! It is such a pleasure to take a stroll and because the gardens are kept neat and tidy, it makes you calm.... it's really peaceful.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 194850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    466
    119
    29
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“refreshing”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Once you have been there you will surely go back again.
Ideal place to enjoy peace and quite. This is the place you
Go to for good food and relaxing walks in the beautiful gardens

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank runa g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“WHY CHARGE AN ENTRANCE FEE?”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My wife and I wanted to visit this Estate three weeks ago. On arriving at the entrance we saw a notice board indicating that there was an "entrance fee" of R10pp. Why? The Estate is going to have some financial benefit when we purchase wines, etc and dine at the restaurant. That's why most peolple go there. Nothing "free" is offered for that fee, either, not that we were looking for "freebies".
We were somewhat disillusioned by, not the cost but, the principle thereof.
We turned around and went to another Estate where there is no such "entrance fee".
JOHN AND ALICIA.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best place in Somerset West!”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This venue is the best place by far in Somerset West. This is where I take my friends or family if I want to brag with our town because you just can not go wrong with their excellent food, friendly service and value for money. The gardens and the Manor house and library are VERY well looked after and we can spend hours there. Just wear comfortable shoes and definately take a camera!
Excellent place to have a special occasion or every day lunch.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Always a great outing”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stay close to Vergelegen and often take our young kids there for a break - beautiful big gardens, a great new play area for young children and some great food at the restaurant. Very friendly staff - lots to explore and enjoy. There is a small entry fee of about R10 per person (US$1). We have never paid for kids (up to 4 years old).

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Potman74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vergelegen Estate also viewed

Somerset West, Cape Town
Somerset West, Cape Town
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Vergelegen Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing