We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant and wonderfull ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Opa Greek Taverna

Opa Greek Taverna
Ranked #35 of 118 Restaurants in Somerset West
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Stellenbosch, South Africa
1 review
“Great restaurant and wonderfull ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

I have driven past so many times, and was not disappointed when we finally decided to give Opa a try.

We sat outside as it was quite a pleasant evening (for winter...) service was great, our waiter was friendly and helpful. He recommended the meze platter, which is really good value for money. Food was great, especially the squid and hummus!!

I think it might have been to noisy inside, but didn't bother us where we were. The music, lights and stream passing by made us feel like we were in Greece - well done we will definitely be back! (still want to break a few plates though!!?)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank antjie-tat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    38
    26
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bellville, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Find the Greek and win...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

A visit to Opa Greek Taverna jolted my memory about the well know joke concerning the hostel pie. If you can find the meat in the pie, you can win the car! The same apply to Opa. If you can find the Greek in the restaurant, you will be a winner. Except for the menu and the name of the restaurant you could have been in any suburban restaurant in Cape Town. So don’t expect a typical Greek experience when you visit Opa. The food is relatively good. Not exceptional, but good. Our group felt the meze’s was better than the main course. My main course, Opa Calamari, could easily be mistaken for a meze. Luckily our waiter, Nato, saved the situation by offering to replace it. Well done to him! The wine list is not extensive, but big enough to cater for all tastes. Will I be back? I am not sure…

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Greek spirit!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Always a pleasurable experience - incredible vibe on Friday nights when they have a belly dancer entertaining the crowd. Good food, good vibe - nice people! Definitely to be recommended. This is a fun place - not somewhere that you will go for serious conversation (unless you choose to sit outside in the beautiful garden.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
70 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Light meal -refreshing ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

What I love about Greek food is that it just tastes fresh,different and usually quite healthy. We just had some quick snacks -the outa and hummus -and a gyros and they were all done really well

Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Tasteless food and very noisy”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

The staff did try to make it a good experience but the food was not good and the restaurant very noisy which made it almost impossible to speak to each other. They brought on a belly dancer which was also pathetic.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Opa Greek Taverna also viewed

Somerset West, Cape Town
 
Somerset West, Cape Town
 
Somerset West, Cape Town
Somerset West, Cape Town
 

Been to Opa Greek Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing