We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In need of a renovation” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Willowbrook Country House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Willowbrook Country House
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Somerset West
Certificate of Excellence
Achterveld, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
141 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“In need of a renovation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2011

We stayed at Willowbrook 6 years ago when it was a top class lodge with a top class restaurant. Unfortunately, the lodge has not really been kept up to date (bathrooms are now really old and badly in need of renevation) and the restaurant is nothing special anymore. Hence overpriced. Good location for the wine area.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PvLAchterveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    54
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
23
117
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waalwijk, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

We stayed two nights and then again three nights in this hotel and enjoyed it very much,
the setting is real nice with all rooms having their own terrace opening into the splendid garden. Personnel were very friendly and assisted with all our needs.
We also visited the D'vine restaurant a couple of times and agree that it is among the best restaurants in the region

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adri002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2010

This was our third visit to Willowbrook Lodge and we will probably go again. We found it in the Portfolio Retreats Collection booklet as a good location for driving to Stellenbosch and its wine routes as well as to Cape Town and its surrounds. We invariably returned late afternoon and chilled out by the pool. Getting around would not have been so easy without a rental car.

The country house setting is peaceful and elegant and the gardens well maintained. There are 11 bedrooms but we have only stayed in the basic rooms which are perfectly adequate with TV, frig, tea/coffee, hairdryer, a/c (noisy - we preferred the overhead fan).

We dined each evening at the lodge's fine-dining restaurant where guests are often outnumbered by non-residents. This was never a problem as we were always allocated our own waitress. We soon learned to pass on the starter as a concession to our waistlines!

It is probably the friendly, efficient, well managed staff who encourage us to return - not just the place.

There's no spa, gym or nightlife on site, more like just staying at someone's house.

We are not golfers but fellow guests were there for the local golf courses.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank garden33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2010

One of the nicest hotels we have stayed in around the world. A very relaxed atmosphere - the grounds are lovely, with super birds and butterflies. The staff are great,; nothing is too much trouble. The restaurant is also superb - a good menu and the food beautifuuly cooked and presented, with a good selection of local wines.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeebeeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2010

My sister and I had a three night stay which included B&B and evening Meal in the D'vine Restuarant. What a beautiful place, this was further enhanced by the wonderful service along with the friendliness of the entire staff. Was made to feel quite at home....felt sad to leave.

Oh!.. and oh boy the food was wonderful, French cuisine of the highest standard. Couldn't wait each night to try something new from their menu.

Thank you to all who made my Sisters and my stay so wonderful

Sue Ashworth
xxxxx

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OneandonlySmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

Willowbrook Lodge and D’vine Restaurant. Second trip in the past year to this hidden jewel in Somerset West area of Cape Town. Beautiful part of the country and close to Cape Town City, but more relaxing than city hotels. If you’re arriving from a long trip like I was (New York), this is the place you need to stay to get acclimated. Surrounded by wonderful gardens and a babbling brook, this would be a great place for a quiet wedding and after party. Allen and the D’vine Restaurant staff put on a great meal and bar stocked with many favorite liquors and terrific wines from the Stellenbosch wine region. The dinners where unbelievable. You get a 5 star dinner for a 3 star price tag. We dined here both nights. Can’t say enough good things about the Willowbrook Lodge and D’vine Restaurant and staff. Dave Moynihan, New York, USA

Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank dave48503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2009

My wife and myself have been coming to this marvelous property the last 8 years, the reasons are many;
- service is very personal, the owner and her crew delivers service wich even the best 5 star hotels can not offer
- their restaurant is superb, why they do not have a michelin star is beyond us
- rooms are spasious and delicate
- value for money
- we will return each year to this marvelous place

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ersande76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerset West
3.1 mi away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
#1 of 6 in Somerset West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.7 mi away
Erinvale Estate Hotel
Erinvale Estate Hotel
#3 of 6 in Somerset West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
5.2 mi away
Krystal Beach Hotel
Krystal Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Somerset Lodge
Somerset Lodge
#5 of 6 in Somerset West
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
5.9 mi away
Gordon's Beach Lodge
Gordon's Beach Lodge
#1 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
3.4 mi away
Blaauwheim Guest House
Blaauwheim Guest House
#1 of 78 in Somerset West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willowbrook Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willowbrook Country House

Property: Willowbrook Country House
Address: Morgenster Avenue, Somerset West 7130, South Africa (Formerly Willowbrook Lodge)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Somerset West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Willowbrook Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Willowbrook Country House offers luxury accommodation in an idyllic, private and secluded country setting amidst lush gardens in the quiet residential town of Somerset West in the Western Cape, South Africa. Owner Lisa will welcome you and personally make sure that your stay at Willowbrook Country House is a superb experience. Our location offers the advantage of being in close proximity to the tourist hot spots of the area, pristine golf courses, sandy beaches, the Cape winelands and popular towns including Cape Town, Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Hermanus. Willowbrook Country House also offers an exquisite dining experience – the D’Vine Restaurant, voted among the top 100 in South Africa. Our garden setting next to the river is also ideal for intimate private functions such as weddings and smaller conferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Willowbrook Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willowbrook Country House Somerset West, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing