We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and spa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Erinvale Estate Hotel and Spa
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Somerset West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Before we checked in, we had a wonderful relaxing session at the spa. We booked a family room that was outfitted with a Queen bed, as well as two single beds.

The room was clean, comfortable and well appointed.

The Erinvale burger is an absolute must! Possibly the best beef burger I've had in my life!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueSkySA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

I recently again stayed at this most delightful property.

Again our stay was not as we would have liked it.
WI-FI is really not up to any standards.

Our clients were offended by the "SMOKING" in Skellig`s pub. One would have thought that smoking laws in SA would apply here. Management defense is that the Locals Appreciate this. Maybe then the lovely lodge should be closed and the pub remain open as a closed club.

No management comunication that would improve client satisfaction.

This time round our dining expierience was not up to standard. Breakfast on last day was poor to say the least

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Portapower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Recently visited Erinvale Estate Hotel and was surprised by the experience. However it was a bussiness trip everything exceeded my expectation from the reception, to conference facility to food and beverages. Attention to detail was given to everything I was exposed to. Not to mention the excellent location and probably in one of the most beautiful areas in South Africa. Didn't get to use the spa facilitiies, bit it seems that it might be worthwhile to try out. Thank you for the great experience

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Our stay at this pleasant establishment was very memorable. The comfortable rooms at reasonable prices and attentive staff make this a special place. It is well located in a beautiful area of Somerset West close to all the beautiful wine estates. The breakfasts were simply great. Will return again. Highly recommended. Kenneth & Petra Fisher.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We have never stayed at the hotel, but we love going to the pub - Skellig's. So this review is for them. It's a favourite haunt for sports lovers and when there's a big game (particularly rugby) big screens are put up and the pub gets very busy, so check the dates and be sure to book.

In summer it's lovely to sit outside as well.

The food is all good, but we honestly think it's the best burger in town. So go hungry, it's a decent plate of food!! :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Hanelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed in one of the rooms located right next to the public road. It was quite noisy during the late afternoon and early morning. The room was spacious and comes with a bath and shower. The top unit we stayed in had a thatched room so you get the feeling of being in a safari lodge. The skellings pub had really nice food and big portions. We were not so impressed with the food at the Seventeen07 restaurant. The main dishes were all very very spicy, we could not eat much as it was way to ‘hot’. The service was excellent though. The spa is extremely nice at Erinvale, the staff friendly and informative. They have a nice relaxation area, with heated pool, where you can relax before or after a treatment.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not located near the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lale-Burg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

My younger sister celebrated her 21st birthday so we took the family out to Erinvale for a treat. The rooms were spacious to fit my two kids and the breakfast was delicious. We relaxed, laughed and bonded as a family in those tranquil surroundings. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T_girlCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerset West
3.6 mi away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
#1 of 6 in Somerset West
369 reviews
0.7 mi away
Willowbrook Country House
Willowbrook Country House
#3 of 6 in Somerset West
204 reviews
10.1 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Krystal Beach Hotel
Krystal Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
179 reviews
9.1 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,946 reviews
6.4 mi away
Gordon's Beach Lodge
Gordon's Beach Lodge
#1 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erinvale Estate Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erinvale Estate Hotel and Spa

Address: 1 Erinvale Avenue | off Lourensford Road, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Somerset West
Price Range: £93 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Erinvale Estate Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history, surrounded by the majestic Hottentots Holland Mountains, the Erinvale Estate Hotel & Spa offers distinctive and captivating hospitality. The property is only 40 minutes from Cape Town and 20 minutes from Cape Town International airport. Guests are a stone's throw away from a world of outdoor and leisure activities and have access to golf, spa, wine, chocolate and olive tasting at famous estates, in the 'Heart of the Helderberg'. The neighbouring Gary Player-designed Erinvale Golf Course offers a unique golfing challenge to all levels of players. The Erinvale Estate Spa is operated by the Lurra Spa and Wellness Group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Erinvale Estate Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erinvale Estate Hotel And Spa Somerset West, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing