We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel but pub staff needing sorting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Erinvale Estate Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Somerset West
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester England
Level Contributor
114 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel but pub staff needing sorting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed here for one night and overall had a good experience.
Highs - Very nice room, very friendly front of house staff, helpful in taking our luggage up to the start of the w2w race, excellent breakfast!
Lows - The pub staff seem very disorganised and disinterested. We had to go and find someone to take our order after being told 30 mins earlier that we couldn't order at the bar, and that someone would be out to us shortly...
The food then took another 30 mins to arrive.
Only a small issue which is a shame as the rest of the hotel was very nice!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin1England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Paul v, General Manager at Erinvale Estate Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear martin1England

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We appreciate the positive feedback together with the lows. It is with disappointment that I read that we did not deliver the standard of service we should have in all the areas of the hotel. I sincerely apologise for this.

I can assure you that this is not the standards that we strive to deliver and we have already addressed this with the team to ensure that we do not have a similar incident to what you experienced.

I trust that we will welcome you back to the hotel soon or for the next W2W race, and we'll ensure that you have a memorable and enjoyable experience with us.

Thanks again for the feedback.

Regards,

Jean-Paul & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    96
    26
    10
    12
See reviews for
53
117
11
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Pretty, clean hotel in lovely surroundings. Hotel has very nice public areas in which to sit, inside and outside. Very good service - all staff from front desk to cleaners very welcoming and cannot do enough for you.

Unfortunately we were given a room with only one window which was set back from the room, and overlooking the car park, which was very dark during the day and quite noisy at times.

There was an excellent choice of hot and cold buffet breakfast which was included in the room price. Food and service in the Skelligs did not quite match that of the rest of the hotel.

Would stay again if a better room could be arranged.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jameskc_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Paul v, General Manager at Erinvale Estate Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear jameskc_12

Thank you for the feedback. We're delighted that you enjoyed stay with us and were well looked after by the staff.

On your next visit, please ask us for an alterative room, I'm certain one of our other rooms will be to your liking and help to create a comfortable and relaxing stay.

Please also try our Seventeen07 restaurant on your next stay as an excellent and completely different dinning option to the Skelligs Pub.

Thanks again for the feedback and we trust that we will welcome you back to the hotel in the near future for an even better and relaxing stay.

Kind regards,

Jean-Paul & the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and I went for a sundowner at the hotel restaurant and we decided to sit outside on the terrace. The atmosphere was magic...Under the trees cool breeze passing over us... a lovely way to end the day.
Only one thing made the setting a bit unpleasant, the service. We waited ages before we got served and when we did I had to go inside to and remind the waitress about the order. We also waited nearly an hour for a club sandwich. It wasn't busy at all so I don't know what the problem was, I had to speak to the manager before the food miraculously arrived. Apart from the shoddy service, the food was good and the ambience was great. ...

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Paul v, General Manager at Erinvale Estate Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Andrew L

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. It is with disappointment that I read that we did not deliver the standard of service we should have. I sincerely apologise for this.

I can assure you that this is not the standards that we strive to deliver and we have already addressed this with the team to ensure that we do not have a similar incident to what you experienced.

I trust that we will welcome you back to the hotel soon, and we'll ensure that you have a memorable and enjoyable experience with us.

Thanks again for the feedback.

Regards,

Jean-Paul & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

What a welcome!

Front office staff couldn't do enough to help & even suggested to have a drink at the bar & relax before undergoing the slightly tedious form filling.

Buffet supper was a mixture & range of tasty, slightly spicy to "very spicy!" local dishes which left the palate tingling for more.

Maitre d'hotel attentive & table cleared effortlessly between courses.
Very South African experience which left a feeling of being invited to the kitchen table to eat with the Family.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Paul v, General Manager at Erinvale Estate Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Raffrey

Thank you for the feedback. We're glad that you enjoyed the stay and dining experience. Its great to hear that you were well looked after by the staff and that you appreciated the dish variety on our Seventeen07 menu.

I trust that we will welcome you back to the hotel soon for another memorable stay and dinner.

Regards,

Jean-Paul & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greyton, South Africa
Level Contributor
195 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

After a day of golf at nearby Erinvale Golf Club, the hotel is a short drive away. Friendly staff and good facilities in the room. No wifi in room which was disappointing but is available at business room nearby. I also needed a two point plug for iPad, cell phone etc which one would expect to have in the room.

Room Tip: 39 is a good , very big room with separate bathroom including bath and shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewCTKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Paul v, General Manager at Erinvale Estate Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear AndrewJP62

Thank you for the feedback. We're glad that you enjoyed the stay and liked the room. I do apologise for the lack of Wi-Fi signal. We did unfortunately pick up a problem with some of the Wi-Fi equipment last week. Our service provider is busy attending to this and the full Wi-Fi signal should be restored this week.
I can also mention that international adapters are available at reception if you were not informed, but at the same time I'll mention that we are planning to change plug points to accommodate various devices and make this easier for our guests.

I trust that we will welcome you back to the hotel soon, and we'll ensure that you'll be able to use the free Wi-Fi in the comfort of your room.

Thanks again for the feedback.

Regards,

Jean-Paul & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strand, South Africa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

For first timers doing an overnight at this lovely hotel with its natural beauty, and tranquil surroundings was the order of our stay. Our room with a view to the inner courtyard of the hotel an absolute feast for the eye.

Before checking in from the front friendly, desk personal who ushered us to our elegantly decorated room, we dined at the Skelligs Pub restaurant for a bite to eat.

The staff serving were all courteous, friendly and great service.
The food of a high standard very tasty and well presented especially the fish dish.

The ambiance was one of a happy one with the TV channels showing the game between the mighty Springboks and the Australians with our team winning of cause..(y)

The room we were allocated was beautifully furnished and had all the necessary little items at hand that made our stay a memorable one..Oh yes by the way we love and appreciate a comfortable and good mattress and pillows when we travel and do hotel accommodation, and Erinvale rooms have it all which made our sleep a dream..!!

The open buffet breakfast was the cherry on top with such a variety of so many different eats..and we enjoyed it very much, where the friendly staff once again gave individual attention and the hotel can be proud of their team staff. We skipped lunch as the buffet kept us going until late afternoon.

We did not use the facility at the spa but had the opportunity to peruse and do a walk about, and it is very classy and set in a quite part of the hotel grounds.. Will have to re-visit there soon for a treatment for sure!!

We will recommend this hotel any time well worth the price..!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenixwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Paul v, General Manager at Erinvale Estate Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Jenixwp

Thank you for the great feedback. We're delighted that you enjoyed stay with us. Yes, we are proud of our staff and its always great to hear that they provided great service.
I trust that we will welcome you back to the hotel soon for another memorable stay and perhaps some spare time to enjoy what the hotel has to offer which you did not have the time for on this visit.

Kind regards,

Jean-Paul & the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

My husband and I visited Erinvale Estate Hotel for a Heritage Luncheon in their restaurant 1707, hosted by Michael Olivier, Restrateur and Wine Fundi. It was fabulous!! Accomodation was very good. Staff incredibly helpful and golf was booked for us at Erinvale golf course. A wine tasting and luncheon at Stables on Vergelegen wine estate next door . Really good value for money.

Room Tip: All the rooms are well situated and comfortable. Location of all rooms are away from any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Paul v, General Manager at Erinvale Estate Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Oobe

Thank you for the great feedback. We're delighted that you enjoyed the luncheon in our Seventeen07 restaurant to celebrate Heritage Month with Michael Olivier. I'm also happy that you enjoyed the stay over with us and also enjoyed some of the activates and attractions the area has to offer.

I trust that we will welcome you back to the hotel soon for another memorable stay.

Kind regards,

Jean-Paul & the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerset West
3.6 mi away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
#1 of 6 in Somerset West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.7 mi away
Willowbrook Country House
Willowbrook Country House
#3 of 6 in Somerset West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
5.7 mi away
Krystal Beach Hotel
Krystal Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Somerset Lodge
Somerset Lodge
#5 of 6 in Somerset West
3.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
9.1 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,719 reviews
3.9 mi away
Blaauwheim Guest House
Blaauwheim Guest House
#1 of 78 in Somerset West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erinvale Estate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erinvale Estate Hotel

Property: Erinvale Estate Hotel
Address: 1 Erinvale Avenue | off Lourensford Road, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Somerset West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Erinvale Estate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history, surrounded by the majestic Hottentots Holland Mountains, the Erinvale Estate Hotel & Spa offers distinctive and captivating hospitality. The property is only 40 minutes from Cape Town and 20 minutes from Cape Town International airport. Guests are a stone's throw away from a world of outdoor and leisure activities and have access to golf, spa, wine, chocolate and olive tasting at famous estates, in the 'Heart of the Helderberg'. The neighbouring Gary Player-designed Erinvale Golf Course offers a unique golfing challenge to all levels of players. The Erinvale Estate Spa is operated by the Lurra Spa and Wellness Group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Erinvale Estate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erinvale Estate Hotel Somerset West, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing