We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet & Nice”
Review of Penny Lane Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Penny Lane Lodge
Ranked #63 of 79 Somerset West B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet & Nice”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The place is great & offers a nice & quiet environment for resting. One thing that the hosts can improve on is separating their reception area from pets & smoking areas - visitors generally don't like both.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Phylis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane7555, Owner at Penny Lane Lodge, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback and have taken note of your comments. It is good to know that you were pleased with your room during your short stay and we will pass your appreciation onto our housekeeping staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    9
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
8
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I stayed at Penny Lane with my family. We had a really nice time. The owners and the dogs were all very friendly and the breakfasts were wonderful. No complaints from us!
Kevin and Diane had lots amazing ideas for things for me to do. Thanks for the experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrandonRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane7555, Owner at Penny Lane Lodge, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Thanks for your review Brandon, so glad you enjoyed the safari, the golf and the surfing...and that you came back all in one piece from your sky dive!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W Yorkshire
Level Contributor
157 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I stayed here last week for 4 days on business. I was put up in one of the self catering chalets.
Unfortunately being on business meant that didn't have much chance to take Dianne's and Kevins sight seeing advice, but they were very useful for recommending nice local restaurants. They were even kind enough to help me after I trip and cut myself. I would highly recommend this as a place to stay.
If I were to have any gripes it would be the wifi didn't reach the chalet and a few more tv channels would have been nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZX6RRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dianewh, Owner at Penny Lane Lodge, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you taking the time to give us your feedback. We do appreciate it! So glad you had a comfortable stay. We would be delighted to have you stay with us again, whether on business or pleasure, we are here to make all our guests feel at home and you would be most welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2013

My husband, two young children and I stayed in the cottage at Penny Lane Lodge. The cottage is very comfortable with a well-equipped kitchen which was perfect for self-catering for our young family. There is a private patio behind the cottage with a little garden and a barbeque. There is a nice clean pool in the main garden surrounded by lovely palm trees.

The beach is a short drive away. We found the beach at Gordon's Bay best for the kids, with rock pools to explore as well as lovely sand. There are some good places to eat here too. We also enjoyed a picnic in the nature reserve where our children were amazed to see the biggest tortoises ever!

The town of Somerset West has all you need and there are all the wine farms up the road. Diane and Kevin were really helpful in suggesting which were best to visit for the kids and we had a great day at Spier where the tame owls landed on our heads.

We had a lovely holiday for the first time in South Africa. Thank you Diane and Kevin for making us so welcome.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dianewh, Owner at Penny Lane Lodge, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear Julia,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we do appreciate your nice comments. So glad you and your family enjoyed your holiday here. It was such a pleasure to have you stay here. Have a lovely summer and hope to see you again one day!
With best wishes, Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, Usa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We needed a place which could accomodate 3 adults, and for only a single night. For that, Penny lane was fine. The room was spacious and clean, and I thought the price was quite reasonable. For a longer stay I would probably look for a more scenic location. If you don't like smoke - the reception / lounge area has a strong smoke odor, I wouldn't spend any time there! But there was no problem with the room

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Darryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane7555, Owner at Penny Lane Lodge, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
We're pleased you found your room comfortable and value for money! We pride ourselves in being able to accommodate guests for short and long stays, in a handy location for many activities and events and at an affordable price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains, Reunion Island
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed at the cottage, which is perfect for a family. It was clean and spacious, except for the parent's room and bathroom, which we found quite small, compared to the children's room and bathroom: it's the only thing we found strange and disapointing in this room. Sommerset is the perfect location to explore the Winelands (20 min) and Capetown (30 min)! A special thanks to our hosts, Diane and Kevin, who were very nice and helpful!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cel974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane7555, Owner at Penny Lane Lodge, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
We're pleased you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure to have you and your charming children stay with us - our first guests from Reunion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zeewolde, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

We stayed for 6 nights in the chalet and were very happy with the location, the accommodation and the help of the owners with planning trips etc. There are 3 restaurants in walking distance. And by car you can easily visit Cape Town, Stellenbosch, Gansbaai (for shark cage diving) and beaches like Strand or Gordon's Bay. It was a very nice end of our holiday.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane7555, Owner at Penny Lane Lodge, responded to this review, 21 December 2012
We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay - especially the shark cage diving! It was a pleasure to have you here and we would be delighted to have you stay again should you return to our beautiful country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Somerset West hotels
0.0 mi away
Two Oaks Bed and Breakfast
Two Oaks Bed and Breakfast
#47 of 79 in Somerset West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.8 mi away
Smart Stay Luxury Self-catering Apartments
1.6 mi away
Bay View Somerset West
Bay View Somerset West
#13 of 79 in Somerset West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Chelaya Country Lodge
Chelaya Country Lodge
#3 of 28 in Somerset West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
1.0 mi away
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
#18 of 79 in Somerset West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stellendal Guesthouse
Stellendal Guesthouse
#8 of 79 in Somerset West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penny Lane Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penny Lane Lodge

Property: Penny Lane Lodge
Address: 5 North Avenue | Westridge, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Somerset West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Penny Lane Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the beautiful town of Somerset West with magnificent views of the Helderberg Mountains, and at the gateway to the winelands, close to the beaches of Strand & Gordons Bay, close to 5 major golf courses, we have 6 units to let on a self-catering / room only basis. We are 20 minutes from Cape Town International Airport and 35 minutes from central Cape Town, centrally situated for the tourist or business traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Penny Lane Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penny Lane Lodge Somerset West, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing