We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret”
Review of At Winkfield House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
At Winkfield House
Ranked #26 of 78 Somerset West B&B and Inns
Wernau
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best kept secret”
Reviewed 26 December 2012

I stayed at Winkfield House from the 09-23th December 2012 for my holidays before the world ends ;-) The look and feel of it is homely and comfortable. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the breakfast buffet is great (I love your fruit salad), the rooms are spacious and as a bonus, you get a splendid view to False Bay. It is close to the heart of Somerset West where everything is close by and easily accessible. Great place for spending my holidays. Thank you Robert and staff for making my stay so enjoyable – Christian

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Christian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
31
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloemfontein
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

I found this place to be Comfortable, in pleasant surroundings: a real upmarket B n B. Good breakfast and attentive hosts made you feel at home. It is close to all amenities and main routes.

Attention to detail with special provision for German tenants is a plus. A good place for business or a couple needing a base to operate from in Somerset West.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dupreezg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This is a guesthouse that combines luxury with affordability. We were met by very friendly staff who went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The rooms were tastefully furnished, very neat and provided for all our needs. Some of us spent a relaxing time after breakfast in the beautiful garden while others lounged on the spacious dek outside the dining area overlooking Gordons Bay. This guest house is highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirchheim
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We have seen several of guest house and lodges whilst traveling South Africa, but this one is most remarkable. Best situated in Somerset West, just below helderberg mountains, only 15 driving mins away from Winelands like Stellenbosch and also some of the best golf courses in the region. Cape Town easy via N2 in some 30 mins. Guest house is light up the hill with a spectacular grand view over False Bay up to Cape of Good Hope from cozy terrace and even some of the rooms ! Also a really great swimming pool, including a warm sweet water shower. Very nice gardens to relax also. Advertising of guest house is, of course like some others, "you come as guest and you´ll leave as friend" but to be honest, it´s really like that ! Dani and Robby are extraordinary friendly hosts and they will make nearly everything to make the stay as comfortable as possible. We stayed 6 nights in "Coral room" (its one of those with Cape of Good Hope view). Nice spacious room, great view, really big bathroom with bathtub, shower, bidet, toilette.
All in all a valuable stay !

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Tobias M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2010

Brilliant, well looked after. Vee is the best hast you could wish for, nothing too much trouble. Beautiful setting, lovely people.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank wainey57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2010

Special place, great people, this guest house is exceeding in all areas, go for it,and you'll enjoy every single minute of your stay!
MH

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank mahariteusgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Somerset West hotels
0.7 mi away
Somer Place B&B
Somer Place B&B
#34 of 78 in Somerset West
30 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golf and Garden
Golf and Garden
#43 of 78 in Somerset West
5 reviews
0.7 mi away
KhashaMongo Guesthouse
KhashaMongo Guesthouse
#12 of 78 in Somerset West
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Albourne Boutique Guest House
Albourne Boutique Guest House
#6 of 78 in Somerset West
188 reviews
0.4 mi away
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
#17 of 78 in Somerset West
136 reviews
1.0 mi away
4 Heaven Guesthouse
4 Heaven Guesthouse
#4 of 78 in Somerset West
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Winkfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Winkfield House

Property: At Winkfield House
Address: 36 Scholtz Road | -, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Somerset West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — At Winkfield House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your At Winkfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Winkfield House Somerset West, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing