We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay in newly decorated Guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
De Molen Guest House
Ranked #30 of 78 Somerset West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg
1 review
“Very pleasant stay in newly decorated Guesthouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We spend 2 nights in a family room which had just been upgraded (we were the first ones to stay in the room). The room looked very nice, was very comfortable and had a magnificent view over Somerset West and Gordon's Bay. The owners Joris and Christy run the guesthouse with much passion and Lizzy makes great breakfast (pancakes for the kids!!!).

The guesthouse is a great starting point to explore the beautiful.

We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Svanwijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    29
    14
    7
    8
See reviews for
22
44
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Me and my wife stayed at De Molen for a night recently. Reception escourted us with umbrellas from the car park as it was raining. The atmosphere is elegant and the rooms and facilities were neat and tidy. It is located favorably with great views and beautiful gardens. Can definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobias T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feuerthalen, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

Great place, located half way on the helderberg. While you are having breakfast you can look over Gordon Bay and the Ocean. Staff is super friendly and Joris and Christy have become very good friend of mine. Real value for money and nice change from hanging around in the Cape Town area and move over to the other side of the cape and stay in the neighbourhood of all the wineries.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lestraden68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

I stayed here with a group of friends from the Netherlands for a few days in October. I was excellent, spacious rooms, clean, great staff and so very relaxed. If you don't have a clue what to do in SA. Just ask the owners Joris and Christy. It was like they read our minds. We got all the inside information, with offbeat places where you see more locals then tourists. Just perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Utzi97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

we stayed at de molen with our 2 sons at the beginning and at the end of our two week holiday in South Africa, in a suite with two bedrooms and a big balcony. Very comfortable, slept very well, great shower The owners Joris and Christy helped us plan our trip, tailored totally to our wishes and what two 10 year olds would like! They even managed to arrange a shark diving trip for us at very short notice; having discussed it at breakfast, we came back in the evening to find it was organised for the next day!
Great location, wonderful views, convenient for cape town, airport and wine!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FamilyBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed here in late October 2012 for a week and absolutely loved it. The Guest House is located in the middle of all local attractions: half an hour to downtown Cape Town, 20 minutes to the airport, 15 minutes to Stellenbosch and an hour from the Cape itself. The accommodation itself is very nice, with spacious and comfy rooms (we stayed in one of the suites which has a private balcony), a big living room on the ground floor and a lovely patio for a sunny outdoor breakfast. The best thing are the owners that help you plan your daily activities with excellent suggestions, both for sightseeing and for visiting one of the many restaurants and wineries. Well worth visiting!

Room Tip: Suite is a bit more expensive, but well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ferjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

Great location and excellent hosts. We stayed in Room 1, that has a spectacular view. The king size bed made it hard to get up in the morning. But breakfast, prepared by Lizzie, was the reward. Absolutely recommended.

Room Tip: We had room 1 which is spacious and has a bath (for two) with a view over False Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BinsSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Somerset West hotels
1.2 mi away
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
#18 of 78 in Somerset West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
1.7 mi away
Blaauwheim Guest House
Blaauwheim Guest House
#2 of 78 in Somerset West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
1.5 mi away
At Winkfield House
At Winkfield House
#27 of 78 in Somerset West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Vredenburg Manor House
Vredenburg Manor House
#6 of 78 in Somerset West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
1.5 mi away
Woodlands Guest House
Woodlands Guest House
#21 of 78 in Somerset West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
1.6 mi away
Two Oaks Bed and Breakfast
Two Oaks Bed and Breakfast
#63 of 78 in Somerset West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Molen Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Molen Guest House

Property: De Molen Guest House
Address: 62 Silverboomkloofroad | Spanish Farm, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Somerset West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Molen Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Molen Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Molen Guest House Somerset West, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing