We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Guesthouse LaRachelle
Nearby Hotels
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Karoo Art Hotel(Barrydale)
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria Hotel(Bredasdorp)
US$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
19
8
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
8
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstown centreguest house iswithin walking distancemariusshampoocontinentalguesthousehostsbathroomaccommodationbreakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2011

This place is not as described, there is no pool, the lady host is abrupt, unfriendly and condecending, the bathroom lacks cleanliness the toilet seat made of wood yuk, the carpets and rugs were dirty. The tea and cofee tray lacked milk , so I went and asked the owner if he would be kind enough to provide some, he went into he private quarters and gave me some in an open jug. In total it was a complete disapointment. It progects secure parking, what that means is you "leave it on the drive and it will be fine" or at least that is what the owner told us. Its boasts 4 stars, I would say 1 star would be a compliment. My wife and I on a road trip, say we always get one bad stay! well La Rochelle was it!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadrunner161045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaRachelle, Owner at Guesthouse LaRachelle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2011

We are appalled by this review. The guest NEVER once mentioned any of his "complaints" to any of us. We had a delightful conversation during breakfast and they even wrote "thank you very much"in our guestbook.
We, that is myself, my wife and other personnel have NEVER been abrupt, unfriendly or condescending to our guests. As a matter of fact we have always been complimented on our hospitality and friendlyness. See any of the other reviews on Trip Advisor.
We were in the process of removing the pool off our premises and it was finalised a day before their visit. Our website will soon be updated with new photographs.
We have checked the rugs, bathroom and coffee/tea making facilities and found them to be in order. We choose to have wooden toilet seats instead of plastic ones.
Yes, I did gave the guest a jug of milk when he asked for it. I cannot understand his complaint. How were I supposed to give it to him??
Well, in short we are extremely unhappy with this unjust review and appeal to you to remove it from your website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

I stayed one night and had a room at the back by the small pool. The decor in the guest house is superbly done, very tasteful. The room was large, although I did not see any tea/coffee making facilities which would suit some guests. The bathroom was very large and well appointed, there was a guests lounge with an honour bar and books and magazines if required. The English breakfast was very good. I will certainly stay here again next time I am in the vicinity.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chapel43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2010

A friendly helpful family run guest house where we stayed the one night on our way back to Cape Town. The accommodation is located on the edge of town but close to a couple of restaurants.

The breakfast was arranged the previous day and we opted for the continental style which was great - boiled eggs, fruit, toast and cereals etc.

The room was a little on the small side and located at the front by the road so a bit noisy/hot at times although a fan was provided. Also our toilet was a bit temperamental and although we mentioned this it didn't appear to be resolved during the stay.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLF12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2009

Stopped off in Swellendam to break the drive and what a little gem it is? Very pretty setting and lovely houses and restaurants. La Rachelle was easy to find and very welcoming. Our room was very nice with a lovely bathroom. Very quiet and overlooked the small pool area. Our hosts were very kind and helpful and recommended a lovely restaurant nearby. Lovely relaxing breakfast before we headed off. The town is very sweet and well worth a walk around. Highly recommended and very good value.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank limericklady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaRachelle, Owner at Guesthouse LaRachelle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews