We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to break the journey”

Old Gaol Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 37 Restaurants in Swellendam
Price range: US$1 - US$6
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Cape Town
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A good place to break the journey”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

If you are looking for somewhere to have a break while travelling on the N2, this is a great spot to do it. I can recommend their lemon meringue and coffee, the cheese cake is less inspiring. They also do a very good chocolate cake, but this may not help you to stay awake if you still have a long way to drive, as it's rich and filling!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank CapeTownGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    104
    33
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
George, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can recommend The Old Gaol”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Pass through Swellendam on our way to Cape Town. The food was very good, the service was excellent. We had a table under the trees and we enjoy a lovely afternoon at the Old Gaol..

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberrieden, Switzerland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“a special taste”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

great food. tastes really local! go for a table under the trees. you support an ambitious project to get local women involved in the hospitality business (they co-own the gaol restaurant),

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank urs e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hmmm...”
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Went out for a bite to eat at this local restaurant and I think that the service was ok, could have been better if the waitress had introduced herself and recommended a table for me to sit at rather than me having to find my own table...

None the less the food was fine and the atmosphere was fine. 3/5 from me I would give. Tip: the menu looks outdated so try adding some new items or specials for the week

Helpful?
Thank Obakeng M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Warm welcome at The Old Goal”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Swellendam welcomes the weary traveller with a plethora of good places to eat and sample local beer or wine. Bistros and coffee shops, restaurants and guest houses line the main road. We chose the Old Goal because we could sit at a table under the trees. Portions are generous, ingredients fresh and beautifully plated. We thoroughly enjoyed our delicious salads and home-made chicken pie which was very generously filled with succulent white meat. The restaurant offers a good selection of wines and beers as well as home-made ginger beer or lemonade to quench a traveller’s thirst on a hot summer’s day. A lovely garden and shady trees make this a perfect place for families, especially with small children. Reasonably priced and very good value – food and service are excellent. Well worth a detour for an hour or two as you drive the Garden Route.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Gaol Restaurant also viewed

Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 

Been to Old Gaol Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing