We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people and fantastic breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Impangele B and B & Self Catering Cottage
Ranked #21 of 39 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I stayed here for one night with my wife and 1 year old son in mid-July and we had a wonderful stay. This was the only night I did not book in advance on the garden route before coming to South Africa and booked it after getting a recommendation from the place we were staying the next night (in Outdshoorn). Dave and Amanda were super nice and fun to chat with in the morning over breakfast (which I will elaborate on shortly). We stayed in the leopard room (which was almost as big as our apartment at home :-D) and really liked the amount of detail in the room. You could tell that every time they happened across something that had to do with leopards they added it to the room (a suitcase, dresser, mask, rug, doll, books, diaries...).
As for the breakfast, it was without a doubt the best one we ate during our entire stay in South Africa! I do not eat meat, and Amanda made sure there were plenty of other things for me to eat and that the cheeses and meats were in different platters in the morning. I like a big breakfast and there was a huge variety in the breakfast here (yogurt, cereal, pastries, bread, jams, butter, eggs.....). The setting for breakfast was also beautiful. We sat outside in the garden and had birds chirping all around us with the mountains as our background.
Last but not least, Dave and Amanda were also very helpful in helping us plan our day and drive after we left Swellendam. If I ever do the garden route again, I will make a point of staying here again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rafman80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
There are newer reviews for Impangele B and B & Self Catering Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2011

We´ve spent one night in a group of 7 with two teenage girls and one 10 year old boy.
We all enjoyed the friendly and warm hospitality and the home cooked delicious dinner ( "british style ") served in the stylisch dining room.
The rooms are decoratet lovingly ( everyone in an special "animal " style). and the gardenhouse ( a little more rustic) was also comfortable and good equipped for self catering. Breakfast on the deck with sun-birds flying arount was fabulous.
If swellendamm- choose impangele

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schubis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shackers, Owner at Impangele B and B & Self Catering Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2011

It was a pleasure meeting you all - and hearing your rendition of Rule Britannia after sampling my version of Prince William's wedding cake is going to be a treasured memory! Thank you for the warm review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

I had the pleasure of staying for one night on Thursday 28th April(I wish it could have been longer) at Dave and Amanda's guesthouse Impangele.What a wonderful place.The views are outstanding,the house is spotlessly clean,the hosts made me very welcome and the Leopard room which I stayed was comfortable and roomy. The breakfast was outstanding and considering the price I certainly will be back here again.

Room Tip: Book well in advance as they are very popular
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank dongoodinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

Dave and Amanda made us very welcome, gave us a nice breakfast and were exceedingly helpful with route, where to visit etc.

Would avoid the Leopard room though, as it is in need of brightening up. Room was very dark, Shower mat was hard on the feet, and there was lack of a comfortable chair - the basketwork chair looked nice but was hard to sit on.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidmalam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shackers, Owner at Impangele B and B & Self Catering Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2011

We feel that the scores given by this reviewer are somewhat harsh and would like to respond to their comments. Sadly, although we would like to be able to, it is just not possible to please everybody all the time. A ‘poor’ review is something all of us dread, and it is even worse if we honestly cannot see a justification for it! Impangele has a reputation for comfort and quality, with a relaxed family atmosphere, and many extras not normally provided by a three star guesthouse. Value for money is something we greatly pride ourselves on. The majority of our other reviews on Trip Advisor testify to this.
The Leopard Room is a huge room, with polished wooden floors and handmade furniture. It overlooks the front stoep, which has a veranda roof to give shade. This is a positive advantage in the summer, when guests frequently comment on the delightfully cool contrast to the searing heat outside. We are aware that it can seem a little dark, which is why we have three free standing lamps, as well as an overhead light, we repaint the white walls every four months, and we have installed a huge mirror to reflect the light. This is an old house with much character, and we would not be allowed to destroy the beautiful façade of the building, even if we should want to.
The bathmats are rubber mats to prevent guests slipping on wet tiles and a soft mat and plenty of towels are provided for guests to use to make themselves more comfortable. The ‘hard chair’ is an African crafted chair, and is probably more decorative than comfortable, but there are more than seven extra cushions provided in the room.
This answer is not really directed at the reviewer, as giving only two stars for nearly all categories for the reasons provided seems overly harsh. But it is an attempt to put the record straight, and to ask that potential visitors to Impangele are not put off from staying in our lovely, cool, beautifully decorated Leopard Room and come and enjoy all the extras that we provide at a more than acceptable economic rate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

We spent 2 nights at Impangele guest house and were greeted by the beaming smile of Beauty the housemaid after which it only got better . Amanda and Davids hospitality was second to none , the house was sparkleing , the views from the back porch / breakfast area with the Langeberg Mountains as a backdrop was Spectacular . Had we not booked other accommodation for the remainder of our stay in the region we would have been tempted to stay . We had the best breakfasts of the whole trip at Impangele which set us up for the rest of the day exploreing the region and there is plenty to see and do ! Thanks to you all for making our stay so enjoyable . Cheers

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clancey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shackers, Owner at Impangele B and B & Self Catering Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2011

You would love to have seen the smile that spread over Beauty's face when I showed her your review! It is reviews like this that make the effort all worthwhile, we really appreciate it, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2011

My husdand and I stayed in Dave and Amanda's Leopard room for one night on our 2 week road trip in South Africa in November 2010 and had a great stay.
We were made to feel so welcome and spent the early evening chatting with our hosts with a bottle (or 2!) of wine which we thoroughly enjoyed. Other guests were around and no pressure was put on them to join us but it was obvious that everyone was welcome if they wanted.
We went to a really nice restaurant on Dave and Amanda's recommendation which doesn't have a menu but serves fresh local food differing each night. A lot of its diners were staying at Impangele and everyone seemed to really enjoy it!
Dave's breakfast lived up to expectations having read some great reviews on TA!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucywhite1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2011

We stayed in Swellendam on our return drive across the Karoo and it was a lovely surprise,we got a lovely welcome from Dave and Amanda and after settling into our comfortable room we sat down and shared a bottle of wine with Amanda,both Amanda and Dave are from the UK and we had a great chat with Amanda,she can certainly talk.. but it was great fun,breakfast was delicious and our hosts were very informative about local activities and things to do,Swellendam has a lot going for it and it is a shame that so many people bypass it,we loved our stay and will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waterford1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shackers, Owner at Impangele B and B & Self Catering Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2011

I only talk too much when I have red wine in me - I blame you entirely! Otherwise, thanks for the great review, and hope to see you again one day so I can tell you more stories............

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.6 mi away
Elianthe's Guesthouse
Elianthe's Guesthouse
#11 of 39 in Swellendam
119 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 39 in Swellendam
374 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#2 of 39 in Swellendam
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Flametree Guesthouse
Flametree Guesthouse
#13 of 39 in Swellendam
104 reviews
0.7 mi away
Guesthouse LaRachelle
Guesthouse LaRachelle
#30 of 39 in Swellendam
29 reviews
0.7 mi away
Old Thatch Lodge
Old Thatch Lodge
#20 of 39 in Swellendam
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Impangele B and B & Self Catering Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Impangele B and B & Self Catering Cottage

Address: 10 Andrew Whyte Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range: £32 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Impangele B and B & Self Catering Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Impangele lies near the base of the Langeberg mountain range. It offers superb accommodation, in either of three luxury en-suite bedrooms, all with TV, hospitality tray, complimentary chocolates and liqueurs. The rooms are furnished in contemporary African style, with quirky yet tasteful references to African animals. There is also a lovely family cottage which can sleep up to six people. This can be booked on a self catering basis or with optional breakfast. Impangele boasts a peaceful indigenous garden, with stunning mountain views and has a farm style plunge pool. Amanda and David will warmly welcome you to their beautiful home and being very knowledgeable about the area will help you plan your onward trip, as well as give you plenty of tips for unusual things to do and see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Impangele B and B & Self Catering Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing