We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality, great location in a lovely South African town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Impangele B and B & Self Catering Cottage
Ranked #21 of 38 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great hospitality, great location in a lovely South African town”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I stayed at Impagele with my wife for two nights in the Zebra room. The room was really nicely decorated with every detail having fun Zebra and African accents. The bed was very comfortable, the room and guest house were very clean. The bathroom had very nice towels and designer brand soaps. For breakfast, there is a good selection of fresh fruits, cereals coffee and tea, and since the hosts Dave and Amanda are English you can also expect a full compliment of warm breakfast items.

The location is very nice. It is located just off the main street in Swellendam, and easy walking distance to many restaurants and shops. The house has a beautiful garden and excellent views of the 'Langeberg' mountain. The garden has a 'braai' (grill) that can be used by guests. We actually stayed in one evening and grilled. Dave made it very easy for us to have a barbecue because he had wood, utensils and starting blocks to help give us the real South African experience.

The hosts are really very genuine and friendly people. They are very knowledgable about the area and were really able to help us with the planning of our activities, as we had some ideas, but nothing really planned. They gave us some great restaurant tips - we went to Sabine's, which I also will recommend. Throughout the whole stay they were very welcoming and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. For the price, location and quality I would highly recommend this guesthouse to anyone going to Swellendam - we really had a wonderful.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balloot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    74
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
64
132
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed for one night whilst on a tour of the sourthern Cape but received one of the warmest welcomes of the many places we stayed during our trip. As it was a Sunday Amanda advised us that it would be better to book a restaurant. She suggested various options and then booked for us and it turned out to be the best meal of our holiday. Extensive breakfast in a lovely setting and we enjoyed their company so much it was difficult to leave. However we had to move on and followed their advice to visit Monkey Land and Birds of Eden which turned out to be a wonderful experience. All in all we couldn't have asked for any more.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We loved our stay at Impangele B&B. Amanda and David were fabulous hosts, and made us feel so at home and relaxed. The rooms are quirky and fun, and patio breakfasts outside under the grapevine, with sunbirds coming in to feed were lovely. The B&B is located far enough away from the main street to be secluded and quiet, but within easy reach of the good cafes and restaurants. Excellent value for money, we look forward to our return visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philrobertsalbany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dresden, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Our stay in Swellendam at Amanda and Dave's Impangele was a wonderful experience. Our room was beautiful, Amanda and Dave were very helpful and we missed nothing during our stay. We highly recommend Impangele. Many thanks to Amanda and Dave.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Falk1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Dave and Amanda welcomed me a like a long lost family member!
The guesthouse is fantastic and great value for money. Great response time on email and phone... within 5 minutes of calling, i had a room.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cvhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 30 December 2011

we needed a short break frim our business and after looking at so mant choices of where to stay in Swellendam we choose Impangele.From the moment we got there both Amanda and Dave made us feel so welcome,and our room which was the leapard room was very clean and comfortable with everything that we needed.At breakfast Dave served a great breakfast with a very large selection all freshly prepared and no shortage.After a start to the day like that you do not need a lunch.There is no doubt in our minds that we will recommened Impangele to any of our customers that want to stay in Swellendam in future.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chester312659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2011

We had a lovely time, the atmosphere was very chilled and we relaxed easily.
And the cherry on the cake was that by booking via sleeping-out.co.za we won our stay for free.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gretchen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.8 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 38 in Swellendam
371 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elianthe's Guesthouse
Elianthe's Guesthouse
#12 of 38 in Swellendam
116 reviews
0.7 mi away
Flametree Guesthouse
Flametree Guesthouse
#13 of 38 in Swellendam
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 38 in Swellendam
510 reviews
0.7 mi away
Old Thatch Lodge
Old Thatch Lodge
#20 of 38 in Swellendam
139 reviews
0.6 mi away
A Hilltop Country Retreat
A Hilltop Country Retreat
#10 of 38 in Swellendam
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Impangele B and B & Self Catering Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Impangele B and B & Self Catering Cottage

Property: Impangele B and B & Self Catering Cottage
Address: 10 Andrew Whyte Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Impangele B and B & Self Catering Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Impangele lies near the base of the Langeberg mountain range. It offers superb accommodation, in either of three luxury en-suite bedrooms, all with TV, hospitality tray, complimentary chocolates and liqueurs. The rooms are furnished in contemporary African style, with quirky yet tasteful references to African animals. There is also a lovely family cottage which can sleep up to six people. This can be booked on a self catering basis or with optional breakfast. Impangele boasts a peaceful indigenous garden, with stunning mountain views and has a farm style plunge pool. Amanda and David will warmly welcome you to their beautiful home and being very knowledgeable about the area will help you plan your onward trip, as well as give you plenty of tips for unusual things to do and see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Impangele B and B & Self Catering Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing