We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Impangele B and B & Self Catering Cottage
Ranked #23 of 39 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Our stay at Impgangele was absolutely superb! The best accommodation we had on our garden route! Great rooms and great service! I will reccommend this to everybody who needs to sleep over in Swellendam.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2012

Like many other travelers we only stayed one night as a stop over on our way back to Cape Town. As mentioned by other guests our hosts Dave & Amanda have a variety of recommendations for restaurants and we followed their good advice. The B&B has a very relaxed homey feel to it with lots of outside places to sit both on the front stoep and back breakfast patio. We spent the afternoon at the local museum (another recommendation) which was both inexpensive and very interesting comprising several buildings on both sides of the street. Breakfast next morning was excellent and served on the breakfast patio in view of the bird feeder and various birds that visited. Quite clearly Dave and Amanda have put their hearts and soul into the B&B.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiagaraDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

It feels relaxed from the moment/minute you come in. Amanda and Dave are the most friendly hosts we have met on our African trip. They were born for hospitallity . Breakfast was lovely (home made) and a. charming house

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frits k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We booked this after reading other reviews and were so impressed. We arrived on a gorgeous sunny day after driving from Cape Town to be warmly greeted by Amanda and Dave and welcomed to the really smart, authentically decorated leopard room. The gardens front and back are beautiful and so you feel imemdiately relaxed by the incredible surroundings. Dave and Amanda were so accomodating to our toddler and he was entertained all afternoon by the paddling pool they provided for him on the patio. It's often hard to find internet access in South Africa but they were more than happy to let us use their computers whenever we wanted which was really handy. There was a fridge to store our food/ toddler's milk which was also handy. The town itself has plenty of eating options within walking distance of the B&B and there is so much to do in the area if you want to stop for more than one night. Dave and Amanda are also full of tons of local information and tips they are willing to share which was very handy for us required medical attention for our toddler.
I can't recommend Impangele enough.
Breakfast was great, so lovely to be able to eat outside and we were provided with a huge choice.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mowzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We booked at the very last minute and were pleased we did! Dave and Amanda were great hosts and were really helpful in planning the next stage of our drive. We stayed in the Leopard room which had been fully themed! We even had a fluffy leopard on the bed to greet us. Breakfast was lovely with home made jams and even some freshly made fried bread. A real good find.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janerolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

My partner and I decided to have a stop over at Impangele to break up the journey on our way to the Garden route and we are so glad that we did. Amanda and Dave the owners are very friendly and relaxed and obviously take great pride in what they do and this shows in their charming house and indeed in our room. The leopard room was large, tastefully furnished and had lots of pleasant little surprises. I particularly enjoyed the outside stoep and the breakfast area which made for lots of enjoyable and relaxing breaks. Our bathroom had a rustic feel to it and was modern and well equipped and had great bathroom products. 

The breakfast area was a haven for birds and we watched the double collared sun birds as we had our lovely and plentiful breakfast. Our hosts also kindly invited us to "help yourselves to our private bar" which says a little bit about the kindness and generosity of these ex Londoners. (St Albans to be precise. )

We were recommended a place for dinner which turned out to be lovely and just what we felt like and which also showed us some more of the easy-going Swellendam charm.

 There was so much more to see and do in Swellendam than we thought and it was also really nice to see how community minded Amanda is and to see her involvement with the area's tourism as well as her own establishment and her staff. If you decide to visit and I recommend that you do then be sure to add to the "skatkis" and to read the guest info folder, it brought a smile to my face which probably sums up our entire visit. If you are thinking of stopping over in Swellendam then this is the place to do it!

Likes: Nice personal touches like biscuit in the room. A generous drinks tray and some liquors to sample and the friendly and relaxed atmosphere and the knowledgable and unobtrusive hosts. Quirky and interesting items in the bedrooms.

Dislikes: The fact that we only stayed for one night.

Oh and if you are in the area and have children with you then be sure to ask Amanda about the Fairy house down the road, it's unusual and a bit too"hippy" for me but it's great for kids and the free spirited.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottishExplorers_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

A one-night stopover down the Garden Route from CT found us staying with Dave and Amanda at their delightful B&B, in the Leopard room with our son in the Giraffe room. After the driving, it was great to sit on the verandah with a drink to chat and watch the birds flitting to the water feeders. Good advice on all the local restaurants for dinner. Sadly, the weather turned overnight so we had breakfast inside but no matter, it probably has the vote of the best of the holiday ( we didn't have any bad ones and nearly all were very very good). Especially Amanda's deadly nightshade jam which went down a treat. They are clearly working hard to build up the business and the styling of the rooms works very well with all the little touches that one needs, especially samples of the local Wildebraam liqueurs - well worth the short drive up the road. Clean and comfortable, great hospitality, friendly service, good value. Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stanmansurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.5 mi away
Marula Lodge
Marula Lodge
#7 of 39 in Swellendam
392 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 39 in Swellendam
391 reviews
0.7 mi away
Flametree Guesthouse
Flametree Guesthouse
#17 of 39 in Swellendam
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cypress Cottage
Cypress Cottage
#6 of 39 in Swellendam
266 reviews
0.6 mi away
A Hilltop Country Retreat
A Hilltop Country Retreat
#10 of 39 in Swellendam
195 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 39 in Swellendam
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Impangele B and B & Self Catering Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Impangele B and B & Self Catering Cottage

Address: 10 Andrew Whyte Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range: £32 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Impangele B and B & Self Catering Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Impangele lies near the base of the Langeberg mountain range. It offers superb accommodation, in either of three luxury en-suite bedrooms, all with TV, hospitality tray, complimentary chocolates and liqueurs. The rooms are furnished in contemporary African style, with quirky yet tasteful references to African animals. There is also a lovely family cottage which can sleep up to six people. This can be booked on a self catering basis or with optional breakfast. Impangele boasts a peaceful indigenous garden, with stunning mountain views and has a farm style plunge pool. Amanda and David will warmly welcome you to their beautiful home and being very knowledgeable about the area will help you plan your onward trip, as well as give you plenty of tips for unusual things to do and see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Impangele B and B & Self Catering Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing