We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Impangele B and B & Self Catering Cottage
Ranked #23 of 40 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We stayed here for one night, in the Zebra Room. Amanda and David are great hosts and really make your stay great. They have really done their best on this B&B!
The Zebra Room is really nice and spacious. The breakfast was fantastic!!

Great place to stay in Swellendam.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amnsmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed for two nights in April en route to Plettenberg Bay in the family cottage. The cottage was rustic with character and perfect size for our group of three adults plus toddler and 13 month old baby. Kitchen is well equipped and the cottage backs on to a lovely garden where you can see lots of the local birds visit in the mornings.

The breakfasts are as good as any we've had at five star hotels across the world - not to be missed.

The owners were exceptionally helpful from booking through to our departure, even advising on how we can reclaim on tax paid on our accomodation! They also organised a traditional Xhosa feast for us as well as visits to the local township and also the nearby orphanage.

This is not a five star hotel and therefore the cottage may not be suitable for someone looking for luxury, but it is clean, comfortable, and gives a real feel of being in Swellendam, which we are very glad we visited. If you have kids be sure to visit the restaurant a few km further east along the N2 which has a HUGE outdoor play area for the little ones.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dion D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Our stay at Impgangele was absolutely superb! The best accommodation we had on our garden route! Great rooms and great service! I will reccommend this to everybody who needs to sleep over in Swellendam.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Like many other travelers we only stayed one night as a stop over on our way back to Cape Town. As mentioned by other guests our hosts Dave & Amanda have a variety of recommendations for restaurants and we followed their good advice. The B&B has a very relaxed homey feel to it with lots of outside places to sit both on the front stoep and back breakfast patio. We spent the afternoon at the local museum (another recommendation) which was both inexpensive and very interesting comprising several buildings on both sides of the street. Breakfast next morning was excellent and served on the breakfast patio in view of the bird feeder and various birds that visited. Quite clearly Dave and Amanda have put their hearts and soul into the B&B.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiagaraDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

It feels relaxed from the moment/minute you come in. Amanda and Dave are the most friendly hosts we have met on our African trip. They were born for hospitallity . Breakfast was lovely (home made) and a. charming house

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frits k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We booked this after reading other reviews and were so impressed. We arrived on a gorgeous sunny day after driving from Cape Town to be warmly greeted by Amanda and Dave and welcomed to the really smart, authentically decorated leopard room. The gardens front and back are beautiful and so you feel imemdiately relaxed by the incredible surroundings. Dave and Amanda were so accomodating to our toddler and he was entertained all afternoon by the paddling pool they provided for him on the patio. It's often hard to find internet access in South Africa but they were more than happy to let us use their computers whenever we wanted which was really handy. There was a fridge to store our food/ toddler's milk which was also handy. The town itself has plenty of eating options within walking distance of the B&B and there is so much to do in the area if you want to stop for more than one night. Dave and Amanda are also full of tons of local information and tips they are willing to share which was very handy for us required medical attention for our toddler.
I can't recommend Impangele enough.
Breakfast was great, so lovely to be able to eat outside and we were provided with a huge choice.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mowzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We booked at the very last minute and were pleased we did! Dave and Amanda were great hosts and were really helpful in planning the next stage of our drive. We stayed in the Leopard room which had been fully themed! We even had a fluffy leopard on the bed to greet us. Breakfast was lovely with home made jams and even some freshly made fried bread. A real good find.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janerolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.5 mi away
Marula Lodge
Marula Lodge
#7 of 40 in Swellendam
401 reviews
0.7 mi away
Old Thatch Lodge
Old Thatch Lodge
#22 of 40 in Swellendam
142 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 40 in Swellendam
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Flametree Guesthouse
Flametree Guesthouse
#15 of 40 in Swellendam
118 reviews
0.6 mi away
A Hilltop Country Retreat
A Hilltop Country Retreat
#10 of 40 in Swellendam
200 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cypress Cottage
Cypress Cottage
#6 of 40 in Swellendam
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Impangele B and B & Self Catering Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Impangele B and B & Self Catering Cottage

Address: 10 Andrew Whyte Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range: £35 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Impangele B and B & Self Catering Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Impangele lies near the base of the Langeberg mountain range. It offers superb accommodation, in either of three luxury en-suite bedrooms, all with TV, hospitality tray, complimentary chocolates and liqueurs. The rooms are furnished in contemporary African style, with quirky yet tasteful references to African animals. There is also a lovely family cottage which can sleep up to six people. This can be booked on a self catering basis or with optional breakfast. Impangele boasts a peaceful indigenous garden, with stunning mountain views and has a farm style plunge pool. Amanda and David will warmly welcome you to their beautiful home and being very knowledgeable about the area will help you plan your onward trip, as well as give you plenty of tips for unusual things to do and see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Impangele B and B & Self Catering Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing