We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop on our way to Port Elizabeth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Impangele B and B & Self Catering Cottage
Ranked #21 of 38 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great stop on our way to Port Elizabeth”
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Me and my husband spent a night in the Leopard room. The room was very spacious and well decorated! We had a lot of fun putting on the leopard matching bathrobes! The breakfast was very very good...a lot of choices: fruits, pastries, cheeses, eggs, bacon, etc. Dave and Amanda were amazing hosts for us. Only negative point is that the house and the room were a little bit cold. We definitely used the heater in the room.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evagc_1526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    74
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
64
132
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We stayed with David and Amanda for 2 nights in the garden cottage with 2 bedrooms, a small kitchen, bathroom and living room. They made us feel right at home and couldn't have done enough for us. Even one of our nights while we were sitting on the patio enjoying the view they brought us over a small bottle of wine as a kind gesture. They're conveniently located right off the N2 and it's a great pitstop on your way to the garden route. There were some good restaurants in town as well that they recommended. Breakfast was abundant and great! The morning we were leaving it was early so they packed us breakfast goodie bags to take with us when we left the next morning. The rooms were comfortable although it was a tiny bit chilly. We would recommend them to anyone!

Room Tip: De Hoop Nature Reserve is about 45 minutes to an hour away just make sure you ask for directions tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misstoscana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roma
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We spent a night in Zebra Room. It was very nice and we can say even...so fun! Dave and Amanda are great hosts, they suggested us a very good restaurant for dinner and they were so friendly. Breakfast was good. Just a note...Room was a bit cold.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emille_naty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

The couple that runs Impangele must be some of the kindest and most hospitable people we ever met. They want to make guests as comfortable as possible. They allowed us to pick any of the more expensive rooms at no additional charge as they though those were more suitable for a couple. They care not only about their guests, but for example use tips to save money to allow the cleaner's child to go to school and bring remainders of breakfast to a local orphanage. We got the impression they prepare much more than guests can eat just to make sure plenty is left. They are also helpful and know which places to go to in Swellendam.

We had the Leopard Room, which was clean and in good state. The way in which rooms are decorated in style of the animal they are named after is really lovely. There are European power sockets, wifi and kettle with coffee/tea. If this place has any disadvantage it would be that the room gets quite cold in the winter, though I hasten to add that everything is done by the hosts to make sure that this is not a problem (including even leopard-styled styled hot water bottles)

Breakfast is excellent and abundant.

The location is very good in the sense that it is easy (and safe even at night) to walk to the restaurants on the Swellendam's main road, though this would probably go for most accomodation in Swellendam as it seems fairly small.

I would recommend anyone to go here and would certainly go there again myself.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Amanda and Dave have the most wonderful home to share in Swellendam. Each room is eclectic and decorated in the theme of one of the 'big five'! It's warm, it's fun , the beds are so comfortable and have the most inviting hot water bottles ! The breakfast was a feast indeed, lots of fresh fruit, jams from the local berry farm, delicious breads , and the entire range of cooked breakfast including French toast when requested ! Amanda and Dave shared lots of information on the area and wine region. We were a group of 5 and had a truly memorable night at Impangele, sorry it's just so far from Ireland !

Room Tip: Each room is different so choose your favourite big five animal , Zebra and Leopard are great double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0veTravel321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Dave and Amanda are star hosts and gave us such a memorable stay.
They have themed rooms and we loved the zebra room and had such fun dressing up as zebras!
Warm room and hot water bottles in our beds were greatly appreciated.Thank you so much for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bodytoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Amanda and Dave were involved in a busy local fundraising event when we stayed so it is to their credit that they made us so welcome. We felt almost as if we were part of the family. We stayed in the cottage as redecoration was in progress in the main house. It was spacious for two of us and adequate for our needs. The breakfasts were huge with a good variety of pastries and excellent locally sourced jams and preserves. The cooked breakfast was plentiful and varied.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marmot60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.8 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 38 in Swellendam
371 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cornfields River B&B and Self Catering
0.9 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 38 in Swellendam
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Elianthe's Guesthouse
Elianthe's Guesthouse
#12 of 38 in Swellendam
117 reviews
0.7 mi away
Flametree Guesthouse
Flametree Guesthouse
#15 of 38 in Swellendam
100 reviews
0.7 mi away
Old Thatch Lodge
Old Thatch Lodge
#20 of 38 in Swellendam
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Impangele B and B & Self Catering Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Impangele B and B & Self Catering Cottage

Property: Impangele B and B & Self Catering Cottage
Address: 10 Andrew Whyte Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Impangele B and B & Self Catering Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Impangele lies near the base of the Langeberg mountain range. It offers superb accommodation, in either of three luxury en-suite bedrooms, all with TV, hospitality tray, complimentary chocolates and liqueurs. The rooms are furnished in contemporary African style, with quirky yet tasteful references to African animals. There is also a lovely family cottage which can sleep up to six people. This can be booked on a self catering basis or with optional breakfast. Impangele boasts a peaceful indigenous garden, with stunning mountain views and has a farm style plunge pool. Amanda and David will warmly welcome you to their beautiful home and being very knowledgeable about the area will help you plan your onward trip, as well as give you plenty of tips for unusual things to do and see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Impangele B and B & Self Catering Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing