We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky, friendly and relaxing B&B in Swellendam”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Impangele B and B & Self Catering Cottage
Ranked #23 of 40 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 April 2010

We originally booked for 2 nights but we stayed for a 3rd and wished we could have stayed longer. The bedrooms all have an animal theme. We were in the Zebra Room but thought the Leopard Room and the Giraffe Room looked great too. Super comfy bed and good wetroom ensuite. We enjoyed the dawn chorus of native birds in the tree outside the window and the hadeda ibis on the lawn. A great choice at breakfast time to suit everyone was served al fresco on the decking. Dave and Amanda spent time making us feel really welcome and organised for us tours of the Bontebok Reserve and the Bonnievale wine tasting area. We went with Fynbus tours who were excellent and Peter was very friendly and informative. The Bontebok is a must with many animals, birds and plants to spot. We enjoyed Swellendam which is a nice relaxed and secure town with many good eating places. It is also convenient for a drive to Cape Agulhas, the most southerly point in Africa. We wish Dave and Amanda all success with their unique B&B and will definitely visit next time in South Africa!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peacemaker77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2010

Nicely decorated and large rooms with large bathrooms, some nostalgic scent.
The adorable hosts would do anything to please their guests.
Quietly located however very near to the center of Swellendam
We traveled for nearly 3 weeks through the cape region and stayed at 14 different guest houses and B&B's. Impangele was amongst the cheapest and offered with no doubt the best value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikavBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

We have stayed at Impangele for 1 night - unfortunately, as we could have spent there several days. The room was so special, nice and clean, breakfast was delicious and especially the hosts, Amanda and Dave, made our stay unforgettable. We have spent a very nice evening (and several glasses of wine) together and have learned a lot about Swellendam and South Africa. It was very hard to leave this place and from our point of view, Impangele was one of the best B&Bs in South Africa.

Hopefully we will come back soon!
Thanks for everything, Andrea & Philip

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha2315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2010

It got a very warm welcome; within 15 minutes after arrival on a (not booked!) safari trip.
Absolte perfect B&B.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marbrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2010

What a wonderful stay we had at Impangele.
Dave and Amanda were excellent hosts.
Breakfast was amazing.
If you are in for fine dining you should go to La Sosta restaurant.
Places of interest: De Hoop Nature Reserve, Cape Agulhas, De Mond Nature Reserve,Robertson Wine valley.
If you don't want to drive your own car you can come out of CapeTown by Intercape (aircon coach), Peter & Davy ( Belgium)

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterenDavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shackers, owner at Impangele B and B & Self Catering Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2010

Thank you for you comments - it is so good when people point out how much there is to do in this area. I am only disappointed that you did not post your photo of you dressed up in the Leopard bathrobes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2010

Most of the guest houses that we used during our recent trip to South Africa were excellent, and this was amongst the best. Our hosts went out of their way to make our stay most enjoyable. For example, they arranged for us to join them in a wine tasting that was taking place in a local restaurant as soon as we arrived. They also arranged for us to have the benefit of an excellent guide to the local National Park. The breakfasts were truly amazing - you won't go hungry if you stay here. The standard of the accommodation was very good, especially for the price. I would happily recommend Impangele to any visitor to the area.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoventryJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2010

Dave & Amanda really made our stay in Swellendam special - they really took an interest in our trip and the local advice and recommendations they gave us were invaluable!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.5 mi away
Marula Lodge
Marula Lodge
#7 of 40 in Swellendam
400 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 40 in Swellendam
404 reviews
0.6 mi away
A Hilltop Country Retreat
A Hilltop Country Retreat
#9 of 40 in Swellendam
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Flametree Guesthouse
Flametree Guesthouse
#15 of 40 in Swellendam
118 reviews
0.7 mi away
Old Thatch Lodge
Old Thatch Lodge
#21 of 40 in Swellendam
142 reviews
0.8 mi away
Babette Bed and Breakfast
Babette Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 40 in Swellendam
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Impangele B and B & Self Catering Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Impangele B and B & Self Catering Cottage

Address: 10 Andrew Whyte Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range: £35 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Impangele B and B & Self Catering Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Impangele lies near the base of the Langeberg mountain range. It offers superb accommodation, in either of three luxury en-suite bedrooms, all with TV, hospitality tray, complimentary chocolates and liqueurs. The rooms are furnished in contemporary African style, with quirky yet tasteful references to African animals. There is also a lovely family cottage which can sleep up to six people. This can be booked on a self catering basis or with optional breakfast. Impangele boasts a peaceful indigenous garden, with stunning mountain views and has a farm style plunge pool. Amanda and David will warmly welcome you to their beautiful home and being very knowledgeable about the area will help you plan your onward trip, as well as give you plenty of tips for unusual things to do and see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Impangele B and B & Self Catering Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing