We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“leopard room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Impangele B and B & Self Catering Cottage
Ranked #23 of 37 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“leopard room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2010

We had a wondeful stay in the Leopard room, a comfortable and large room with leopard details (very funny!). Our hosts Amanda and Dave were very friendly en helpful. The breakfast was really great, you do not have to worry that you have to move along with an empty stomach!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astrid040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    74
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
64
131
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2010

Amanda and Dave were perfect hosts. They were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Rooms were very comfortable and the little touches were very much appreciated. Breakfast was excellent and all in all the stay was extremely good value. Enjoyed Swellendam too.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanCWilby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
100 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2010

We stayed over in Swellendam on our way between Cape Town and the Garden Route and Impangele was an excellent choice. We were warmly welcomed by the hosts, who offered us a (number of) glass(es) of wine on their beautiful terras overlooking the next-door mountains. In the morning, we also had our magnificent breakfasts there. Through the close contacts with the hosts and by sleeping in their house, one really got the full bed and breakfast experience, which is generally not the case in South Africa. They were also more than happy to discuss restaurants and activities, and their personal commitment to local development is laudable.

The hosts have taken great care in building up the place, including through all kind of little details in the rooms. Needless to say though, for the very reasonable price they are asking, one should expect too much. It is a very nice place to stay, but it is not a five-star hotel and it may not be suitable to everyone's taste.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b12346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2010

I stayed in the Zebra room, and as it name suggests everything has a zebra print or motif on it somewhere. Tjh room was spacious, spotlessly clean and had the kind of touches that really show the hosts have the guests needs at heart. Robes, (zebra) Slippers (Zebra) local liquor to sample, tea, coffee, biscuits huge wet room (zebra). There are patios at the front and rear, and the rear patio is where Dave and Amanda serve a stunning English breakfast. surrounded by a wonderful garden and huge numbers of birds. Nothing is too much trouble. They are the perfect hosts. I am finding an excuse to do more business in Swellendam just to stay another night!

Andy

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chapel43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2010

Impangele has three nice rooms. Two of them are called the Zebra room and the Leopard room, in which really everything is related to the animal which name it bears. We liked it! It also has a self catering cottage, simple but spacious, for up to 4 people. You can use patio's on both sides of the house whenever you like, so you can allways sit outside in a comfortable place. On one patio in the garden breakfast is served, or in a room when the wheather is not good enough. Dave's breakfast is fantastic, even by South African standards. But we valued Amanda her fruit salade very high too. English owners Dave and Amanda are friendly, helpfull, have a nice sense of humor and they are socially very active in life in Swellendam. You can walk to the centre of Swellendam, and at the back is Marloth Nature Reserve.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bert-Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shackers, Owner at Impangele B and B & Self Catering Cottage, responded to this review, 7 November 2010
Thank you so much - my fruit salad has finally made it onto Trip Advisor! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you liked the rooms - the third bedroom is the Giraffe Room by the way. Hope we will see you again some day. Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selfkant
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2010

The Zebra room is one of a kind, very lovely, incl. coffee and some yummy cookies. The owners are very friendly and serve the most extensive and delicious breakfast on there charming patio.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelfan074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2010

Amanda and Dave made us very welcome and the overall hospitality was outstanding! We were in the 'Leopard Room' which was very comfortable and quite charming - I just loved the leopard cups and saucers and the cookie jar on the tea tray!! The English breakfast was absolutely wonderful, as much or as little as you liked - all served in a hot tray. Our hosts were very helpful with local knowledge and we found samples of the local liqueur in our room for us to try.
We were able to walk into the town where there were very good restaurants, museum, visitor centre etc. We could also take a short drive to a nature reserve and other attractions.
Would definitely recommend this delightful accommodation and location.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank consadine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shackers, Owner at Impangele B and B & Self Catering Cottage, responded to this review, 30 October 2010
Thank you - we are so glad you enjoyed your stay - and also that you enjoyed our beautiful and under-promoted town! Love to see you again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.8 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#6 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cornfields River B&B and Self Catering
0.6 mi away
Old Thatch Lodge
Old Thatch Lodge
#19 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cypress Cottage
Cypress Cottage
#7 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elianthe's Guesthouse
Elianthe's Guesthouse
#13 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.9 mi away
Langeberg Guest Lodge
Langeberg Guest Lodge
#12 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Impangele B and B & Self Catering Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Impangele B and B & Self Catering Cottage

Property: Impangele B and B & Self Catering Cottage
Address: 10 Andrew Whyte Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Impangele B and B & Self Catering Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Impangele lies near the base of the Langeberg mountain range. It offers superb accommodation, in either of three luxury en-suite bedrooms, all with TV, hospitality tray, complimentary chocolates and liqueurs. The rooms are furnished in contemporary African style, with quirky yet tasteful references to African animals. There is also a lovely family cottage which can sleep up to six people. This can be booked on a self catering basis or with optional breakfast. Impangele boasts a peaceful indigenous garden, with stunning mountain views and has a farm style plunge pool. Amanda and David will warmly welcome you to their beautiful home and being very knowledgeable about the area will help you plan your onward trip, as well as give you plenty of tips for unusual things to do and see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Impangele B and B & Self Catering Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing