We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of African Shades B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
African Shades B&B
Ranked #19 of 37 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Very nice hotel, friendly staff, clean and large rooms were well-equipped with everything, pool area a bit small but nonetheless very nice. Breakfast was very good as well! Good car parking area, wi-fi worked good all around the whole spot

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Tony1895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    33
    13
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
53
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2014

A very comfortable room with a great shower and comfy bed. An excellent location in the centre of Swellendam. Normally would have given a place like this a higher rating but the owner was not very welcoming or helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Penelope A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randburg
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed for 1 Night. What a Pleasant Experience. The Room was Clean and in perfect Condition. Staff were friendly and Helpful. Breakfast was Tops. Highly Recommended. Will Definitely Recommend to friends.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Daan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed 23 December 2013

A very nice and very good furnished two bed bedroom. The service all in all as well as the breakfast was excellent! Managed by a family which gave me the feeling of beeing home! You can have your own specialised breakfast which was awesome, even our vegetarian friend found what she wants to eat.




  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Abstaubaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Ideally situated in a quiet leafy street a short walk from a couple of good restaurants and conveniently close to the centre of town. Our stay in Sept 2013 was just before completion of renovations but we were made to feel incredibly welcome and were exceedingly well looked after.
Recommended!!

Room Tip: Rooms are similar, but wifi is best closest to reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S33ORL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek, Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Friendly staff, easy to find, clean & well equipped rooms, good breakfast, etc. What more do you need when travelling the N2 between Cape Town and George? Located right across the road from Mayville House (part of the Drostdy Museum) in an oak lined street, African Shades is within walking distance from most of Swellendam's attractions with some of the best views you would get of the Langeberg mountains. I would definitely recommend African Shades for your base to explore Swellendam and the surrounding area, or even for a night stop on your journey East or West to relax in tranquil Swellendam.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2013

An ideal location to break your journey to or from the garden route. Close to N2, easy to find and park, good restaurant across the road for your evening meal and quiet at night for a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.3 mi away
Flametree Guesthouse
Flametree Guesthouse
#13 of 37 in Swellendam
96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 37 in Swellendam
490 reviews
1.9 mi away
Swellendam Country Lodge
Swellendam Country Lodge
#8 of 37 in Swellendam
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#2 of 37 in Swellendam
449 reviews
0.2 mi away
Babette Bed and Breakfast
Babette Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 37 in Swellendam
139 reviews
1.5 mi away
Langeberg Guest Lodge
Langeberg Guest Lodge
#11 of 37 in Swellendam
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Shades B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Shades B&B

Property: African Shades B&B
Address: 13 Swellengrebel Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — African Shades B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique bed & breakfast located in the beautiful, historic town of Swellendam, right across from the Drostdy Museum. Expect a warm welcome, clean, spacious rooms, super comfortable beds and luxurious cotton percale linen. We offer 6 en-suite rooms all with separate entrances and private patios. Our swimming pool has stunning mountain views and offers welcome relief for those hot, summer days. At our Arts & Crafts shop, the best of modern and traditional South African crafts and designs are on display. Colourful, unique and inspiring!Our restaurant is shaded under large oak trees and overlooks the Langeberg Mountains. Open for breakfast and lunch, this is the ideal spot for a quick refreshment stop. As a family run business, we pride ourselves in always providing friendly, personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your African Shades B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing