We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate overnight stay”
Review of African Shades B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
African Shades B&B
Ranked #19 of 38 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kuwait
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Adequate overnight stay”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed here for one night. I found the room very cold. There was a heater which they put on for us when we arrived but it would have been a nice touch to have it on before we entered the room. It was a Saturday in winter and everything in the town seemed to have shut as we really struggled to find anywhere that was open to eat that night. The whole place is set up for summer with no concessions made to how cold it gets during the winter months. Breakfast the next morning was fine but i felt like they were rushing us out, with plates being removed from the table when we hadn't quite finished. It did the job as a half-way stop between Cape Town and Knysna but I'm not sure I'd hurry back.

Room Tip: I think they're all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    34
    13
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
54
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay in the African Shades. The room was clean and comfortable, the pool area was nice to relax and to cool down. Restaurants nearby with fantastic food. Friendly staff. Great breakfast!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Susann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilderness, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

In a town with many B&B's this is a friendly place in a good location. Our room was clean, large and well fitted. It is in a quiet part of the town close to some excellent restaurants. The new owner is making improvements to everything. The breakfast outdoors was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank manorfarmnf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2014

It is a beatiful, cozy and clean B&B. Rooms are really nice, beds very comfy, definitely good sleep. You get tea, coffee in the room. There's a little fridge and a fan. Little touches to the property make it a great place to stay. Swellendam as such makes a fantastic stop on the way to Garden Route. Really recommended. Breakfast was good, with cereal, toast, eggs with bacon etc. 200m away is a fantastic restaurant (recommended by the owner).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jerzy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Very nice hotel, friendly staff, clean and large rooms were well-equipped with everything, pool area a bit small but nonetheless very nice. Breakfast was very good as well! Good car parking area, wi-fi worked good all around the whole spot

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Tony1895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2014

A very comfortable room with a great shower and comfy bed. An excellent location in the centre of Swellendam. Normally would have given a place like this a higher rating but the owner was not very welcoming or helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Penelope A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randburg
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed for 1 Night. What a Pleasant Experience. The Room was Clean and in perfect Condition. Staff were friendly and Helpful. Breakfast was Tops. Highly Recommended. Will Definitely Recommend to friends.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Daan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.2 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 38 in Swellendam
510 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cypress Cottage
Cypress Cottage
#6 of 38 in Swellendam
238 reviews
1.6 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 38 in Swellendam
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
A Hilltop Country Retreat
A Hilltop Country Retreat
#10 of 38 in Swellendam
184 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elianthe's Guesthouse
Elianthe's Guesthouse
#12 of 38 in Swellendam
116 reviews
0.2 mi away
Babette Bed and Breakfast
Babette Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 38 in Swellendam
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Shades B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Shades B&B

Property: African Shades B&B
Address: 13 Swellengrebel Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — African Shades B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique bed & breakfast located in the beautiful, historic town of Swellendam, right across from the Drostdy Museum. Expect a warm welcome, clean, spacious rooms, super comfortable beds and luxurious cotton percale linen. We offer 6 en-suite rooms all with separate entrances and private patios. Our swimming pool has stunning mountain views and offers welcome relief for those hot, summer days. At our Arts & Crafts shop, the best of modern and traditional South African crafts and designs are on display. Colourful, unique and inspiring!Our restaurant is shaded under large oak trees and overlooks the Langeberg Mountains. Open for breakfast and lunch, this is the ideal spot for a quick refreshment stop. As a family run business, we pride ourselves in always providing friendly, personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your African Shades B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing