We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute Place to Stay with Beautiful Surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Swellendam Backpackers Adventure Lodge
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Zurich, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cute Place to Stay with Beautiful Surroundings”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Affordable, cute place to stay. Nothing fancy but very friendly staff and beautiful scenery. Had a great time. There are nearby trails and hiking and close to town to pick up groceries, etc. About an hour and a half drive to Cape Agulhas - the geographic southern tip of Africa and the official dividing point between the Atlantic and Indian Oceans.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Kerri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    15
    19
    17
    20
See reviews for
8
46
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We phoned from Cape Agulhas and booked a room at Swellendam Backpackers after seeing their listing in a guidebook of budget accommodations in South Africa. We weren't really sure what to expect as we don't go to hostels very much, but we booked a private ensuite double room. The room was warm and a little stuffy, but we opened up the windows and got a breeze going (though a fan would have helped greatly.) Cleanliness was average and acceptable if not sparkling. We liked the sink and tub made from a galvanized washtub.

The listing in the guidebook said that they had laundry facilities, which they do -- but the washer and dryer are in a communal area that you can't access after a certain time at night. We got in just around dusk and were disappointed that we couldn't do laundry or hang out in the common area or use the kitchen. It would've been nice if the gentleman who checked us in had mentioned the common-area curfew when we booked the room with him on the phone. When we checked in, it seemed like he wanted to give us our keys and get out as quickly as possible.

A decent place to stop for the night, but the welcome and provided information could use a little work.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vidiot42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We've chosen a garden cabin for two people. Luckily just for one night. The cabin was a tiny shack with two single beds which are everything but comfy. As an experienced backpacker I'm not that fussy, but this one - yikes. And the main interest of the present staff members were obviously focussed on how to get drunk asap. I wouldn't usually mind, but travelling with my mother I was quite disappointed about the place - not to mention the ablution facilites' condition.
But for one overnight stay it's okay.

Room Tip: Garden cabins give you privacy but you have to cross the garden to get to the ablution facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mina-Vianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed here for a week. It's a great place to relax on your way up the coast, accommodation was reasonably priced (cute and clean according to my wife), the nice kitchen was appreciated for making your own meals, and the view of the mountains was great. Nearby trails were great for nature walks, birding, and filming: https://vimeo.com/80661433

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EyesoftheWorldFilms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I stayed here in April 2014 for two nights. It has a very relaxed atmosphere. The owner, Stephanie, is extremely friendly and helpful. Place is safe and secure, location is not in the center of town, and is pleasantly quiet. Wifi costs extra. Bathrooms and showers clean. Stephanie told me that most guests stay in single rooms, so if you take the dorm, you may have it all to yourself. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Lukas97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dar el salamm
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Clean and comfortable a walk from town but makes up for by the great location. Unfortunately the ensuite rooms have wafer thin walls and we shared every moment of our next door neighbours abulations, music, and conversations. The raised walkway resonates every footstep and herds of baby elephantss could have walked more quietly. No soap in the shared showers or rooms was provided. The shower and basin were a wash tub base and bucket respectively. Good idea but impractical and I would have thought for people with mobility problems stepping unrealistic. Sadly we were woken up one morning by the manager shouting at a member of staff outside our door. Later when we asked for more washing up liquid she replied well there was plenty earlier, then told us we had enough. Not a very helpful attitude to take with paying guests.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed one night here on a solo bike tour along the garden route. Made an enquiry through the website but didn't realize that a room wasn't guaranteed (my own fault!! Make sure to BOOK in advance). Luckily there was room available in one of the garden cottages. The cottages don't have electricity, but there is something romantic about reading a book by the light of a paraffin lamp. At night, the infamous Cape Winds blew at close to 30mph but these cottages are built to last!! The bathrooms and showers are cleaned daily and centrally located and the water is HOT! (After riding 65 miles from Cape Agulhas the hot shower was reinvigorating). In the morning, a couple of the other guests chose to go on one of the many mountain hikes that are a stones throw from this backpackers, and the owner Steff was more than happy to go over the maps. As some of the trails aren't marked, she made sure the guys knew where to go and also told them that if they weren't back by dark SHE WOULD GO LOOK FOR THEM!! Good luck getting that kind of service elsewhere lol. Finally, when the BazBus came to pick me up and the driver wasn't trying to take my bicycle (the BazBus website states that ALL busses have trailers for bikes and surf boards, but apparently you have to let them know in advance) Steff once again came to my aid and said something to him that made him change his mind and I was on my way!!! If I'm ever passing this way again there will be no question as to where to stay. Thanks Steff!! :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terpsfan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
1.2 mi away
Swellengrebel Hotel
Swellengrebel Hotel
#3 of 4 in Swellendam
66 reviews
0.4 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
0.5 mi away
Cypress Cottage
Cypress Cottage
#6 of 38 in Swellendam
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
De Kloof Luxury Estate
De Kloof Luxury Estate
#2 of 4 in Swellendam
257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 38 in Swellendam
503 reviews
1.9 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 38 in Swellendam
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swellendam Backpackers Adventure Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swellendam Backpackers Adventure Lodge

Property: Swellendam Backpackers Adventure Lodge
Address: 5 Lichtenstein Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy wooden cabins and luxury en suite rooms lie in a lush bird filled garden fringed by its own gurgling mountain stream and the Marloth Nature Reserve. Halfway between Cape Town and the Garden Route it is ideally situated to hike or horse ride through indigenous forests or wander through the picturesque village. Beneath the most spectacular peaks of the Langeberg Mountains Swellendam is the 3rd oldest magisterial district in South Africa with plenty of inspiring and peaceful experiences. Sit around our welcome fire under starry skies and enjoy the countryside. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing