We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marula Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Karoo Art Hotel(Barrydale)
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria Hotel(Bredasdorp)
US$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (425)
Filter reviews
425 results
Traveller rating
259
142
15
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
259
142
15
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful gardengarden routehelpful couplehonesty barclean roomsceiling fanfriendly dogsde hoopb boff street parkingconvenient locationpowell housenice poolfriendly and helpful hostsvery pleasant staystayed one nightgreat place to stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
197 - 202 of 425 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Great location,easy to find on the main street,within walking distance to shops and restaurants. Nice and comfortable room with safe and coffee/tea making facilities.Great bathroom with large shower and toiletries. Nice gardens and pool area with off road parking. Great breakfast with plenty of choice, great hosts and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icisEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Unfortunately the owners are not friendly at this place. We did not feel welcomed as it is the case in other guest houses. This is sad because the garden is very nice. Not a good place to stay to feel relaxed...

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

A beautiful lodge and a very nice place to stay. A tasty breakfast served in a nice setting completes your stay. Swimmingpool is excellent.And on new years eve they had arranged a nice table in a good restaurant and a campfire.We had a very nice stay in Marula Lodge.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulhofstee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

After our experiences the previous day in George we were worried what we could further expect.

However this place did not only meet our expectations it exceeded them. The owners were very friendly and told us about "De hoop" national park which was really a beautiful place and worth to visit, it's quite a drive but the white sand dunes are amazing.

The rooms really had an African feel and were clean and all furniture was in good condition. The swimming pool was clean and right outside the room. From the garden you have a great view on the surrounding hills.

They also recommend and booked the restaurant for us, which was great as well. Even a small snack for our daughter was already in place when arrived at the restaurant which was great! The restaurant is called "The vagebond" and it's really worth visiting as well.

Finally the breakfast was really nice and well prepared overall this was a very pleasant stay. And we would recommend everyone travelling on the N2 (or no matter where) to make a stop at Swellendam and stay at Marula lodge.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_dude_1984_Kees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

On the second and long leg of our journey through the Garden Route, on a tip from a friend we were sent over to the Marula lodge. As is our (admittedly bad) habit, we arrived later than intended and we greeted warmly at the door. Promptly we were shown our room with was spacious and comfortable with a very nice motif. Everything was clean and in great order. Since we got there Christmas Eve, the hosts had reserved for us a great restaurant just down the road and had an amazing meal, when we headed back, you would hear people talking and laughing in the communal area (where an honesty bar is set up as well as a tv, dvd player and other nice amenities to keep you occupied) which was nice because if gave the place a great and friendly vibe. In the morning we had a great breakfast with coldcuts and an english breakfast in a beautiful and open yard and as we checked out, were given great tips on places to stay and see in the area. Note: They do have two friendly and nice dogs so if you're allergic, be aware! But other than that they are sweet and lovely!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vanessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews