We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse
Ranked #10 of 37 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aindling
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Very charming Place with big clean rooms and very nice hosts. The garden is just amazing and in very good shape. We were positively surprised of Swellendam. In case we would visit Swellendam again we would definitely select this B&B again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernd F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    26
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
80
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

De Oude Pastorie is on the main road of Swellendam, but is set far back from the road and high above it, so it is pleasantly quiet. You enter through high wrought-iron gates (the bell didn't seem to be working, but there is a mobile phone number on the bell, so travellers should know they may need their mobile to gain entry!) and drive up round a huge fountain.

Dina received us warmly, and we were shown to the Galileo room. It was furnished with a slightly small bed (for two big people!) but had interior shutters on the windows for warmth and total privacy. The bathroom was enormous, and doubled as a dressing room, with huge cupboards and drawers for one's clothes.

Daylight showed a lovely view over the rear garden - a green lawn, mature trees and more fountains. The dining area and common lounge were splendidly in period, and very well maintained. We had a really great breakfast, with some home-made bread and croissants. I had a huge jug of orange juice all to myself, and my wife had a similar jug of mango. The coffee was fresh and strong, a real kick-starter for the day.

We left with a rather sad feeling that we could not stay longer and enjoy the gracious splendour of the place and its heritage.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A-Nutty-Prof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dina L, Owner at De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
I'm happy to say that we have installed a new "Bell" so visitors won't be needing a phone to enter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

A very comfortable establishment with the feeling of total luxury , quality and warmth of the very friendly owners . We staid in the Pharoah room with the wonderful fire place and great views , highly recommendable for a romantic getaway .

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Carlo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hörby, Skåne Län, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

On our way from Knysna to Cape Town we decided to stay over in Swellendam to break the trip. No accommodation was booked, assuming that a place for a family of 4 would be easy to find in a town with many, many B&B's. Not so! But we were welcomed at the De Oude Pastorie and stayed in the very spacious family room upstairs with a fantastic bathroom. The room was quickly prepared for our toddler with a baby bed. Breakfast was great and the house is family friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012 via mobile

It is a pity, that we only stayed for one night on our way from Capetown to Knysna. We were travelling with my mum, in a group of three and even as we booked a cheaper single room they gave us the two luxury rooms upstairs with our own living room and veranda. Both bathrooms were extraordinary, lots of space nice combination of wood and stone with giant shower and victorian bath. As we only stayed one night we had no possibility to use the very nice looking pool. We have been there the day after the riots and all the restaurants were closed, we even got a mail from Dina discribing the circumstance and an invitation to join them for a barbecue in the evening. The breakfast was very good, too. You will not experience professionals in tourism ( who will describe the house and the surroundings in high speed ) as the owners are new in this business but you will feel more like a guest of the family in their house. Swellendam is perfect for a stopover between capetown and the following Garden Route and my recommendation is to stay longer then one night, enjoy this unique and well restaurated place before you move on. The pets are very friendly and made us feel at home. It is not just a guesthouse, its an experience ;-)

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Spiontek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dina L, Owner at De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse, responded to this review, 25 November 2012
Thank you,for your kind words it was a pleasure having you in our Guest house,hope to see you soon again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

We booked to stay with for a mountain biking event, and paid our deposit. When my partner was delayed returning from a trip overseas and arrived back too sick to cycle. I had to phone and cancel. I assumed we would lose our deposit. She was completely understanding of our dilemma and offered to re-fund our deposit. We will definitely go back to stay!

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MMarais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

We booked and paid a deposit. When we arrived the guest house gates were locked - seems they had closed down. Had no contact from them and they didnt answer their mobile when I called from outside. Had a sick 11 year old with us - it was freezing and it took me nearly 2 hours to find suitable other accommodation (there was a festival on) which ended up being a mattress on the floor for the child. We ended up having to split our group into two guest houses. I made my booking by email and received replies so there was no reason they could not contact me They could at the very least have rebooked us somewhere else and left a note on the gate. I have since received my deposit back having been put in contact with the owner through the tourist board but nothing further to cover the extra expenses. I have had to pass the refund back to my guests as a goodwill gesture.

Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dina L, Owner at De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
I'm so sorry that you had this bad experience,my husband and I bought the guesthouse middle of February 2012 and we are busy renovation and restoring this lovely old mansion to its former beauty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.8 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
1.0 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#6 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marula Lodge Guesthouse
Marula Lodge Guesthouse
#8 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
A Hilltop Country Retreat
A Hilltop Country Retreat
#11 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.8 mi away
Augusta de Mist Country House
1.0 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#4 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse

Property: De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse
Address: 101 & 103 Voortrek Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled under the Langeberg Mountains, 220 km from Cape Town along the N2 Garden Route, in the beautiful town of Swellendam in the Overberg region, this magnificent Victorian-style guesthouse has welcomed many visitors from all corners of the world. The peaceful settings of the gardens, to the warmth of the splendid decor, and comfort and service to the visitor, guarantee their return. Enjoy the elegance in a stately historic manor house, or in the garden cottage rooms each with a private entrance. Relax in the magnificent landscaped garden, or enjoy the African sun at the large salt-based swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing