We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay at de oude pastorie” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse
Ranked #9 of 37 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay at de oude pastorie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Excellent friendly and very accomadating .
Beautiful gardens on the property with swimming pool.
Very quiet and peaceful surroundings.
Beautiful decor.
Breakfast of Your choice
Excellent value !

Would certainly revisit

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank leslene cpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dina L, Owner at De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you Leslene,it was nice having you.
Kind Regards
Kobus & Dina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    24
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
78
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Probably our favorite city b&b of our 3 wk stay in the cape. Old house is amazing - we had the suite on the 2nd floor with a library/sitting room right outside our room. Could have lounged around there all day sipping a brandy and reading. Breakfast is solid and hosts lovely + helpful. Keep up the good work.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dina L, Owner at De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you Eric for your review and kind words,glad you enjoyed your stay.
KInd regards
Kobus & Dina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We had a wonderful stay. It's a great guest house, central and with all the comforts a 4*-stay should come with. BUT there were 2 major No-Nos: a) the owners deducted the second half of our payment from my credit card without my permission, having illegally stored my card info on their computer (we were planning to pay cash when it turned out we had already "paid"). b) the owners are flying an old (Apartheid) South African flag in their bar, raising major questions about their political values/racism/equality. For us, that's a reason not to go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kristin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aindling
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Very charming Place with big clean rooms and very nice hosts. The garden is just amazing and in very good shape. We were positively surprised of Swellendam. In case we would visit Swellendam again we would definitely select this B&B again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernd F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

De Oude Pastorie is on the main road of Swellendam, but is set far back from the road and high above it, so it is pleasantly quiet. You enter through high wrought-iron gates (the bell didn't seem to be working, but there is a mobile phone number on the bell, so travellers should know they may need their mobile to gain entry!) and drive up round a huge fountain.

Dina received us warmly, and we were shown to the Galileo room. It was furnished with a slightly small bed (for two big people!) but had interior shutters on the windows for warmth and total privacy. The bathroom was enormous, and doubled as a dressing room, with huge cupboards and drawers for one's clothes.

Daylight showed a lovely view over the rear garden - a green lawn, mature trees and more fountains. The dining area and common lounge were splendidly in period, and very well maintained. We had a really great breakfast, with some home-made bread and croissants. I had a huge jug of orange juice all to myself, and my wife had a similar jug of mango. The coffee was fresh and strong, a real kick-starter for the day.

We left with a rather sad feeling that we could not stay longer and enjoy the gracious splendour of the place and its heritage.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A-Nutty-Prof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dina L, Owner at De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
I'm happy to say that we have installed a new "Bell" so visitors won't be needing a phone to enter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

A very comfortable establishment with the feeling of total luxury , quality and warmth of the very friendly owners . We staid in the Pharoah room with the wonderful fire place and great views , highly recommendable for a romantic getaway .

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Carlo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hörby, Skåne Län, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

On our way from Knysna to Cape Town we decided to stay over in Swellendam to break the trip. No accommodation was booked, assuming that a place for a family of 4 would be easy to find in a town with many, many B&B's. Not so! But we were welcomed at the De Oude Pastorie and stayed in the very spacious family room upstairs with a fantastic bathroom. The room was quickly prepared for our toddler with a baby bed. Breakfast was great and the house is family friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.8 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
1.0 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#6 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marula Lodge Guesthouse
Marula Lodge Guesthouse
#7 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Augusta de Mist Country House
0.6 mi away
De Kloof Luxury Estate
De Kloof Luxury Estate
#2 of 4 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.8 mi away
Babette Bed and Breakfast
Babette Bed and Breakfast
#5 of 37 in Swellendam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse

Property: De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse
Address: 101 & 103 Voortrek Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled under the Langeberg Mountains, 220 km from Cape Town along the N2 Garden Route, in the beautiful town of Swellendam in the Overberg region, this magnificent Victorian-style guesthouse has welcomed many visitors from all corners of the world. The peaceful settings of the gardens, to the warmth of the splendid decor, and comfort and service to the visitor, guarantee their return. Enjoy the elegance in a stately historic manor house, or in the garden cottage rooms each with a private entrance. Relax in the magnificent landscaped garden, or enjoy the African sun at the large salt-based swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing