We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy country food in Swellendam”
Review of La Belle Alliance

La Belle Alliance
Ranked #11 of 37 Restaurants in Swellendam
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: La Belle Alliance, a family run restaurant since 1998, is situated on the main road between the Drostdy Museum and the Dutch Reformed Church, on the banks of the Koornlands river.The historical building was formerly a masonic lodge with some symbols still visible on the premises today. The garden terrace offers tranquility and shade under a canopy of White Stinkwood trees and lots of sunshine and blankets on cooler winter days."Specials" include both traditional and international dishes, all freshly home made.La Belle Alliance is renowned for its efficient and friendly service. The venue is child and dog friendly and the ideal spot to enjoy a relaxed breakfast or lunch.Opening hours: Mondays to Sundays: 8am to 5pm.Fully Licensed.Credit cards accepted.Languages spoken: English, Afrikaans, Dutch/Flemish, French and German.Indoor (50 pax) and outdoor(100 pax) seating.Groups welcome.Find us on facebook.GPS longitude: 20'27' EGPS Latitude: 34' 01' S
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cosy country food in Swellendam”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

On arrival in Swellendam, we stopped here for lunch - lovely setting next to the river, with a big fireplace inside. The food and service was very good - in an old-world setting.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ZahnHulme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    94
    31
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Outstanding Lunch in a Beautiful Setting”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stopped here for lunch on our way to wine country. The service was prompt and attentive. The garden setting was enchanting. The food was nothing short of amazing. This establishment is highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FishhawkII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Outside eating in the sunshine”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We were not an easy table - six of us, including an infant, and we hadn't booked...but it didn't faze the welcoming staff at La Belle Alliance. Outside table? No problem. Help with baby seat? No problem. Prompt drinks orders served, and food not long behind. Efficient staff, managing well in spite of full tables and a coach load due imminently. Food was plentiful, and while not exactly gourmet, it was nicely presented, tasty and served hot. Loos were a bit of a let down, being outside and definitely on the basic side. All is forgiven though - they were fantastic with a big party with a small baby.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodiehag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Appalling service - not recomended”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stopped here for lunch and were appalled by the service and staff attitude. As a group of British visitors we could not have been made to feel more unwelcome. We waited for about 40 minutes to be served, while other guests came in and were immediately served . We asked several times , and were just met with a shrug by the waitresses. After seeing yet another group of people coming in and being served we asked to speak to someone . An intimidating man just came up really close and shouted that these people had all booked . We apparently were never going to get served. We were shaken . We left and went to a lovely restuarant nearby where we were immediately served . I was interested to see the previous review which confirmed this was not an isolated instance . Appalling way to treat people . Not recommended. Avoid.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellou2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“No service!!”
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We waited 20mins for drinks, and another hour and 10 mins for food that never came. The waitress avoided us and people that arrived much later than us got their food before we did. Won't go back again!!

Helpful?
Thank Alecia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Belle Alliance also viewed

Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 

Been to La Belle Alliance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing