We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Swellendam Oasis!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swellendam Country Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Swellendam Country Lodge
Ranked #9 of 37 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Swellendam Oasis!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

My husband, me and two friends recently stayed at this lovely accommodation for two nights on our way to Knysna. Our rooms were separate from the main house but were very comfortable and. We had our own porch with table and chairs.

Wi-fi is available in the main house or on the veranda which was very much appreciated. The garden and pool area were lovely. We were only sorry that it wasn't quite warm enough to have a dip in the pool although we did sunbathe around the pool a couple of times. On the first evening I knocked over and broke a full glass of rose wine in our room and was impressed at Bette's reaction of `these things happen'. The next day my stained duvet cover had been changed for a clean one!!

The breakfast was delicious and the plates of fruit and cold cuts were `wow'! We were pleasantly surprised at such a pretty town and enjoyed our visit to the museum which consisted of several old Dutch buildings and their contents. The best thing of all was a meal at the Field and Fork. We even wanted to eat there on our second night but sadly it was closed!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Puzzling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    47
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
121
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
96 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

We stayed here for one night here on our tour from Port Elizabeth to Cape Town. Staying at this B & B was a really pleasurable experience. It is located just out of the centre of Swellendam but near two good restaurants. So no need to take your car to eat if you do not want to. The B & B consists of individual units in the garden, and our room was spacious enough and well appointed, with a modern bathroom. It also had a well stocked minibar. One feature we really appreciated were the two guides provided in our room. One shows local eateries and the other local tourist venues such as museums, game parks etc.
It really helped our planning and our hosts were also knowledgeable about all local facilities and also recommended which restaurants were open and their preferred choices.
The breakfast was perhaps the best we had had so far on our trip with fabulous fruit plus the treats made by our host, such as quince jelly, fig jam and many more. The breakfast including a freshly cooked traditional option, which was also spot on!.
Our welcome was very friendly and this B & B is an excellent place to stay in Swellendam - thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

We had two rooms for our overnight stay at Swellendam country Lodge. Our children had space to play in the garden and there was a couple of good restaurants next door. Breakfast was delightful. I wish we could have stayed longer and done some walking in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank KirstyD664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleton Tyas.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

We stayed for a third time at the Swellendam Country Lodge with some friends in March 2013 and we all agree that this is the best Bed and Breakfast accommodation we have found during our many visits to South Africa. The setting of the house, gardens, pool and sleeping accommodation units is so serene with beautiful plants / trees and many birds adding to the experience. Easy to find but so difficult to leave.
Breakfast is also something never to be missed. Taken on the stoep for as long as you wish to enjoy the wonderful home made preserves which so complement the sumptuous courses of fruits / cereals / locally made breads and finally the eggs and bacon. It is the perfect start to any day to go exploring through this wonderful part of Africa.
A true gem which never disappoints. Even our car was washed overnight!!
Jim and Val Wilkinson. ( UK).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale,England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

Once again a wonderful stay at this delightful lodge. Cannot recommend it too highly. Lovely pool. Best of all are the breakfasts - eight different fruits, bread, cereals, preserves and the largest omelette we have ever eaten !

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank donkey30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night whilst travelling back to Cape Town, the bedrooms are separate from the main hotel, very clean and spacious, the swimming pool was an added delight. Bettie met us on our arrival and was extremely helpful, the breakfast was fantastic, although poached eggs are not one of their specialities. great place to stay would certainly recommend it.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank June G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiptree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

Our room set in a very pleasant garden was well appointed. It met all our needs as a tourist. The hosts were very welcoming and attentive, going the 'extra mile' to assist us in everyway. They offered a wealth of information on local attractions, things to do and facilities. The staff were were helpful and v. friendly, which made for a very enjoyable six night stay. As the Guest Book confirms the breakfasts were probably the best in Africa. Leaving little need for lunch!
We should certainly stay at the Lodge again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank robertgreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
1.9 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
1.4 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#6 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 37 in Swellendam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Marula Lodge Guesthouse
Marula Lodge Guesthouse
#7 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#3 of 37 in Swellendam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
1.9 mi away
Augusta de Mist Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swellendam Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swellendam Country Lodge

Property: Swellendam Country Lodge
Address: 237 Voortrek Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Swellendam Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Swellendam Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing