We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swellendam Country Lodge
Ranked #8 of 37 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glastonbury
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent stopover”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

This was our first stop from cape town on our Garden Route trip. A great introduction to B&B's in South Africa. Attentive hosts and staff, good swimming pool, very good accommodation and fantastic breakfast. Had dinner at the restaurant next door which was very good aside from being very handy. Will definitely stay again if passing through.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    48
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
123
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Unfortunately, we only spent one night at the Swellendam country lodge, but enjoyed every minute of it. Bettie and Heiko are perfect hosts and made is feel very welkome. The room was spotless, very agreeable and nicely decorated. The bathroom with its large shower area and bath was top of the mark and superclean.
Finally, it' s always the small things that make a positive difference, such as the candles for the private terrace, the map of the area and the professional staf . Combine this with a lush and very wellkept garden, and you'll never want to leave. Especially when you have enjoyed the super breakfast with homemade jams and fruit preserves.!
The only thing we regret is that Swellendam country lodge is so far away from Holland :-)

Peter en Jan, Groningen, the Netherlands

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

A lovely experience, comfortable rooms with sitting out area , beautiful gardens and a very good swimming pool. Breakfast is outstanding!! Bettie is very welcoming and helpful on planning trips in the area. Also in the morning our car was cleaned without our asking what a nice touch We have stayed before and we're not disappointed on our second visit.

Room Tip: Try room 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jinny49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twello, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed 3 nights. Friendly hosts. Centrale location. Comfortable rooms. Delicious breakfast. Beautiful gardens. After a busy vacation day, we enjoyed a refreshing swim in the pool. Excellent restaurant next door. Everything was perfect.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JR00k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in Swellendam at the country lodge and it was really great. Nice clean rooms with everything you could possibly need. Lovely pool area to relax at and nice and quiet. Our car was even given a clean before we set off on our journey again. Breakfasts were fantastic if not too much... Will definitely be back

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We had a spacious and very comfortable room; the whole estate with its great garden is very well-tended. We had excellent breakfast and friendly hosts. As we were on a honeymoon trip, we were even upgraded.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Daniela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Clean - friendlly - relaxing. The country lodge is the ideal place to stay when visiting Swellendam. The room is reasonable size and a very nice shower! The pool was not yet in use - I guess to soon in the season.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kilian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
1.9 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
1.4 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 37 in Swellendam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#2 of 37 in Swellendam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
1.9 mi away
Augusta de Mist Country House
Augusta de Mist Country House
#30 of 37 in Swellendam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swellendam Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swellendam Country Lodge

Property: Swellendam Country Lodge
Address: 237 Voortrek Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Swellendam Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swellendam Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing