We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Amazing Meal”

De Vagebond Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 37 Restaurants in Swellendam
Price range: US$4 - US$17
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Under New ownership since 1 December 2010, it became a Family Restaurant serving Local Cuisine and Traditional South African Dishes, including; Bobotie, Game Pie, Kudu Fillet, Springbok Shank, Malva Pudding. We stock some of the regions finest wines and have a fully stocked bar. A big fire will be burning in the evenings if the weather allows to welcome all to a romantic night of the best South Africa have to offer.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An Amazing Meal”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

A great restaurant and very affordable prices. We had the nachos, vegetable pasta and vegetable combo plus wedges. All the items were excellent and our host was extremely friendly. If you are staying in Swelendam, this is a place you must come to eat. I would highly recommend it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dotsonamap2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    85
    47
    21
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Magnetic Island, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A bit pricey? Coffee is great though”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We were meeting a friend for coffee, maybe extending to lunch.

She is local and suggested De Vagebond as it was under new ownership. Coffee was nice, strong and creamy. Perfect.

But we decided not to have lunch as the prices seemed a bit much in comparison to other places. Maybe we missed out, maybe they are justified with excellent quality, not sure and cannot comment on anything other than the yummy coffees we were served.

The new owner came out introduced himself, he offered to take a photo of the 3 of us for us as a keepsake. Nice enough guy and I wish him all the best for the future.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
145 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“An excellent meal”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We had quite a surprise with an excellent meal at The Vagebond. I had the pork fillet with vegetables, because I am allergic to dairy products. The vegetables was done without any hesitation. My wife had the Aubergine Lasagne. Both dishes was excellent prepared.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dorpshuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Best porc I've ever had!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

All round fantastic evening with great wine and an absolutely delightful host! The porc was tender and very tasty, the malva pudding is a must. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Ina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The food is tasty, warm, well prepared and worth the price.”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We came later than normal for a small town restaurant, bit received a hearty welcome and excellent food. Cold night, but steaming hot food, tasty, moist and as on the menu.

We do not eat the decorations or settings, thus we care about the food first, then the decor. Nothing in the decor is off-putting. In fact, it is clean and easy. The food packs the punch. No Derby Pie can beat the Vagabond Pecan Nut Pie!

We'll be back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CX3417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed De Vagebond Restaurant also viewed

Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 

Been to De Vagebond Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing