We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly place with great food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oppi Stoep

Oppi Stoep
Ranked #20 of 36 Restaurants in Swellendam
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Coffee shop
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly place with great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

My plan upon visiting Swellendam was to go to another restaurant, but when we realized it had moved we decided to stop here. And very glad we did, for a late light lunch. As
This was our first trip to South Africa, and we had not tried bobotie yet, we gave it a go here. Sooo delicious!
We ate outside under the trees which was very pleasant. Our service was great. Highly recommend for a casual lunch! Friendly people and great food at a very reasonable price!

Helpful?
Thank smok213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    28
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Great food - this is the place to try Bobotie! Very relaxed pub-like atmosphere. If you're lucky the local alcoholic will turn up and swear at you in Afrikaans (from the other side of the hedge - apparently she's a regular!).

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pleasant stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

We stopped for breakfast while passing through Swellendam as this was one of few places open. We enjoyed sitting outside under the beautiful trees and found the service friendly and efficient, the food pleasant and well-priced and the cappuccinos good.

Helpful?
Thank Judith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahr, Germany
Level Contributor
280 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Recommendable stop-over from/to Garden Route”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

This little restaurant offers light meals, freshly cooked, so allow some minutes. We enjoyed the Lamb Shank Pie and the Beef Lasagne very much, which both cam after 15 minutes. Very friendly and attentive service.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dils2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cakes away”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

It was pouring with rain and we popped into Oppi Stoep for a cuppucino and a break from the wet. The resturant is very pretty and has a lovely light feeling. We has great cuppacino's, awesome cheesecake, indifferent muffins and super dry scones.

The staff where pretty slow (lets call it african time) but highly recommend for a cuppa and a slice of cake. The staff were also very accomodating of my messy 3 and 5 year old who were bored silly in the resturant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KimL79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oppi Stoep also viewed

Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 

Been to Oppi Stoep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing