We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
A Hilltop Country Retreat
Ranked #10 of 38 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
1 review
“The best!”
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We have had the pleasure of staying at A Hilltop Country Retreat a couple of times and it has always been such a relaxing and pleasurable experience. The decor and design is effortlessly luxurious and with the most comfortable beds, you'll have the absolute best sleeps there! Our perfect getaway.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ida M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    33
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
41
96
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Freising, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Very nice, very clean, lovely room, full kitchen and all really new.
Absolutely recommended if you wanna stay in Swellendam!
Not in Center of town but this means no noise and a wonderful sleep.
P.S. Best bed we had on our Trip in South Africa.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GTom99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2013

A wonderful place to stay with pretty gardens,spacious rooms and friendly staff - highly recommended. Make sure you use the fire pot and watch the stars. Close to the town where the helpful map pointed us in the right direction and near to the nature reserve too.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012 via mobile

We had a warm welcome on a cool rainy day. So we couldn't use the braai and the pool but the teapot instead. The room was spacious, clean, modern furnished and included a well equipped kitchenette. We decided to go out for breakfast and dinner. The recommended locations were worth a go. The garden had a lot of nice flowers and Parking was on the premises. We would recommend this place and stay here again next time with less rain.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HolidaycheckZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 December 2012

A Hilltop really offers so many opportunities for all, whether a stopover during a trip or to stay and explore. Across the road from a nature reserve and the wonderful mountains, close to many unusual tourist attractions or simply relaxing in the peaceful surroundings. Staff are willing and helpful, the rooms are really attractively furnished, all fitting,linen etc of the highest quality, and all comforts are catered for.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vaughan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Absolutely the best welcome we've had! Friendly and helpful service and willingness to go the extra mile, with a smile -thank you Lana! Loved the decor and interiors. Linen and towels were ample and luxurious. The bed was spacious and super comfy. Loved the pets, adds a very homely feel. All the small extra's go a long way, the stocked fridge, the lotions etc. Tranquil and peaceful surroundings with breathtaking views of the hills and overlooking the town. This was the perfect getaway from the city. I cannot fault anything at this establishment, we will definitely return!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adeeba H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHilltop, Manager at A Hilltop Country Retreat, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
It was lovely to have you stay with us Adeeba. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2012

I visit "A Hilltop" almost every month on my trip for work - after staying at many similar establishments in the area I can truly say that "A Hilltop" can not be compared to any other. It is tranquil, charming and clean- Lana cannot be faulted and her friendliness and willingness to go the extra mile in trying to accomodate her guests! I look forward to my stay every month it is truly a home away from home!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernielat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHilltop, Manager at A Hilltop Country Retreat, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
Always nice to know your coming to stay with us! You are part of the family now. Lana xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.3 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
1.3 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 38 in Swellendam
371 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 38 in Swellendam
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 38 in Swellendam
621 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marula Lodge
Marula Lodge
#7 of 38 in Swellendam
360 reviews
0.5 mi away
Babette Bed and Breakfast
Babette Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 38 in Swellendam
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Hilltop Country Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Hilltop Country Retreat

Property: A Hilltop Country Retreat
Address: 7 Bergsig Avenue, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — A Hilltop Country Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star luxury self-catering accommodation on a superb location. A Hilltop Country Retreat is located in the foothills of the Langeberg Mountains, yet close to the town centre, where you get the best of both worlds ... 360' views and no traffic. A Hilltop Country Retreat offers a complete experience far superior to that of a mere stop-over. Our rooms are spacious and luxurious featuring finishes and furniture made by local entrepreneurs and artists. The delightful calabash radios, created by South African artist Soloman, are just one of the beautiful, unique and mostly handmade elements we have chosen to enrich your stay. Our accommodation offers great value for money. All the rooms come with en-suite bathrooms and fully equipped self-catering kitchens. You can dine inside or on the patio while enjoying the magnificent and inspiring view of the Langeberg Mountains and the town below. Pick some fresh herbs from our garden to prepare your own special meal or dine out at one of the many exquisite restaurants Swellendam has to offer. Here you can relax and unwind surrounded by breathtaking landscapes in a restful environment far from the hustle and bustle, but convenient to Swellendam's many attractions. A Hilltop Country Retreat treats you to high standards of hospitality throughout, but it's also a great base for trips and excursions. Book today, and come and experience the delights A Hilltop Country Retreat has to offer. We offer guests the option of a fully stocked fridge for breakfast, so you can enjoy your morning meal in the privacy of your own room or patio whenever it suits you. Breakfast includes: bacon, eggs, tomato, toast, butter, jam, muesli, yoghurt, juice, coffee, tea, sugar, milk and a variety of fruit. **DSTV now available in all the rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your A Hilltop Country Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing