We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Flametree Guesthouse
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Karoo Art Hotel(Barrydale)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria Hotel(Bredasdorp)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveller rating
83
33
5
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
33
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe owneran amazing cookshower cubiclesafe areacape townb byummy breakfastguest housesouth african hospitalityfelt like homequiet streetwarm welcomewill visit againfree wifiair conditioningcharming placenext morning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 122 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Isabel & Pierre go all out to make you feel at home and relaxed. Nothing is too much trouble it seems! Very comfortable outside room en-suite with heated under blankets and everything else you may need. Delightful outlook onto private patio with table & chairs. Great attention to detail in everything from comfort to lovely breakfasts. We booked for 2 nights and ended up staying 3 because we were so comfy. Lovely town to visit with lots of great places to visit in the surrounds. It was 5 star treatment at very reasonable costs - they deserve to be full every night. We will be back!

Room Tip: The outside room we had was outstanding but only has a shower (fine for us but just make a note if this doesn't suit you)
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed at Flametree for two nights. When we arrived the two dogs and then Isabel, the owner, greeted us. We were staying in the Joy room, a beautiful room with high ceilings and wood floors. The bathroom only had a bath and no shower (We did not realise this when we booked). Isabel was very friendly and gave us great advise of places to eat and visit. The breakfast was delicious and we had a great stay. The only negative was the limited channels on the DSTV. (Husband missed the rugby)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lu-Gerda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Isabel likes what she does, and that is to make her guests feel at home and enjoy their stay in her guesthouse. She thinks of everything that you may need or be interested in. She serves one guest family at a time for breakfast so that she is able to give her full attention to her guests, making sure that they eat what they like best and have enough of their choices. She is ready to make recommendations, answer questions, and share personal stories. Also, she does not want you to leave with a souvenir photo of yourself at her very special guesthouse. Our spacious room was decorated tastefully and comfortably, but, unbeknownst to us before we booked, our bath only had a bathtub. We have not used a real bathtub since we were children, and, at first, were disconcerted. Then we just pretended we were kids again, and enjoyed the difference. That is what travel is all about - experiencing the "Different".

Room Tip: Make sure to check whether you will have a shower - IF you prefer a shower.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beverly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Owner is very friendly and anxious to give her customers a rewarding experience. She made good dining recommendations and accommodated our breakfast needs (it was delicious by the way!). The room was very nice, and the price was VERY good, especially as compared to other B&Bs throughout South Africa (and we have been to many). The only drawback is that the walls are fairly thin, so the room was louder than what we would have liked.

Stayed: April 2013
Thank Ori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013 via mobile

Lovely room, great as a stop over on route from or to Cape Town. Even the dogs were welcoming! Not all that much to do nearby but it's a safe area. Lovely breakfast too. Secure parking undercover. They really couldn't do enough to help.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chantellekent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews