We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at the Bery Cottage”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wildebraam Berry Estate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2013

3 problems which could be improved on :
1. Car parking area not very practical - A carport would be welcomed
2. Privacy could be improved by placing one way film on bedroom window and kitchen window
3. Door to bathroom fom bedroom not easy to close

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Claude M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2013

What an amazing weekend. My overall experience from prior to our arrival, during our stay, until now has exceeded my expectation by FAR! Charming accommodation, breath taking views and exquisite products. What made our stay even more pleasant was Kat's outstanding customer service and going the extra mile as if it is part of her daily routine. Thank you very much; you will definitely see us again. Soon!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riette80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

What a tranquil farm, situated in beautiful surroundings and majestic mountains. A welcome break from city life. We stayed over for one night on our way to Plett and wished that we had more time to enjoy the peace. The little cottage had everything needed for a couple. We have been enjoying the farm-produced jams and liqueurs that we purchased at the lovely shop. Being only 2 hours from Cape Town, we hope to make a return journey. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Was a dissapointing experience. Reception not very welcoming. Cleanliness of cottage not up to standard. Bedding and furniture old and not comfortable any more. Will not return. Could have gotten better accomodation for the money spent

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Magda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed at river lodge. As soon as it was evening, lot of insects started coming inside the house. even though we closed the door there is space under the door which allows them to come through. Later, I had to close the gaps in the door using a towel. I also had to handpick the insects and throw them out. My 2 year old son refused to step down on the floor after seeing the insects.

They should do something about the door.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SreedharG_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

The estate located a short distance from town, allowing travelers to enjoy nature and its beauty combined with the tranquility of a country like environment. Although the cottage was actually a relatively old house, it was fully functional, very spacious and the kids just loved the huge rose garden. Although it's designed for families who came for several nights, it was also nice to relax for just 1 night on the way between Cape Town and Knysna.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eligingi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

As always staying with you is an exceptional experience. Wonderful reception, lovely facilities. Beautiful, peaceful surroundings. It is a lovely stopover for us on our way to Cape Town and just far enough either way.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lynnevanrooy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
1.7 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
0.1 mi away
Hermitage Huisies
Hermitage Huisies
#3 of 27 in Swellendam
74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 40 in Swellendam
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Marula Lodge
Marula Lodge
#7 of 40 in Swellendam
412 reviews
1 mi away
Langeberg Guest Lodge
Langeberg Guest Lodge
#12 of 40 in Swellendam
130 reviews
1 mi away
Impangele B and B & Self Catering Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildebraam Berry Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildebraam Berry Estate

Address: S4 Hermitage Valley, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Swellendam
Price Range: £32 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wildebraam Berry Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wildebraam offers several lovely units on a youngberry farm in Swellendam. Nestled in the Hermitage Valley, 2 km from Swellendam, all the units enjoy stunning views of the Langeberg Mountains and guests will revel in the tranquil country atmosphere. All units are fully equipped with towels and linen provided. Games and books are also provided.A minimum 2- night stay over weekends is preferred when booking the larger cottages. Wildebraam is renowned for its liqueurs and deli range produced on site and all guests are welcome to join us for tastings in our cellar Mon-Sat. In addition, Wildebraam has a conference/function venue which can host up to 64 people and both corporate and private functions are very popular.ACTIVITIES: Liqueur & deli tasting at Wildebraam Cellar, horse riding by own appointment with DEE HAZELL, birding, hiking in surrounds or in Marloth Nature Reserve (1.5km), mountain biking and berry picking (in season). A 9-hole golf course is 1.5km away and various sport clubs are in Swellendam. Little ones (and older ones!) will love Sulina’s Fairy Sanctuary and Swellendam also has several art galleries and local potters and artists. Well worth visits could include the local Drostdy museum, Bontebok National Park, De Hoop Nature Reserve, Robertson Wine Route-just to mention a few. There are also lovely day trips into the countryside including Barrydale, Montagu, Robertson, Malgas and Arniston. BUT, most of all, lots of RELAXING!! Wine tasting and country meandering are the order of the day.We look forward to sharing our "berried treasure" with you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Wildebraam Berry Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing