We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wildebraam”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wildebraam Berry Estate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2014

A beautiful estate on the edge of the Langeberg Mountains. Lovely setting with rose gardens and horse paddocks. Tranquil and restful.
The walks in Marloth Nature Reserve are stunning - especially the gorge walk and mountain pool.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lorna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed in Berry Cottage which provided everything we needed and was very comfortable. The views were lovely and the staff very helpful. Do taste the liquors and the chutneys etc. The fruit is wonderful and if you go in November it's picking time. Swellendam museum and the restaurant were both well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank iansuecameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Although we were greeted in a helter-skelter short of way it did not really bother us much seeing that we were on our honeymoon and champagne and rose pedals awaited us in the room. The quaint river cottage that we booked were ideally situated and provided the necessary privacy that a honeymoon couple desired.
After an afternoon nap we lit the fire outside to prepare our evening meal. And then it dawned on us, this is fly country and we need to be vigilant. Being tested travellers, my wife and I have travelled near and far all over the continent, experiencing various types of situations and forms of accommodation. Always taking it in a stride and living in the moment. This being our first fly attack, we weren’t entirely prepared, but we embraced the new experience and took turns with the fly swatter.
The next morning we fled the slaughterhouse, climbing over the corpses left behind on the wall, floor, curtains and bathroom, escaping to the tasting room of Wildebraam. The tasting room of Wildebraam offers a variety of jam’s, pickle’s, berries and of course the lovely liqueurs. After the tasting and doing most of our Christmas shopping in the tasting room, we’ went for a quick lunch in town.
A quick lunch turned out to be an extended expedition and after a visit to the Fairy Sanctuary and cheese factory we decided to have a late siesta, to hide from the heat and of course embracing the honey of the moon.
With zoom-zoom grrrr twang and some laughter, our quaint private river cottages lost its charm. The racket came from the maintenance team peaking through the window while mowing the lawn; this was indeed a rude awakening. In a calm yet firm manner I informed the crew, (who by now has finished mowing and where just lying on the grass in front of the cottage chattering and laughing) that they were being very rude and are excused. I phoned the management and complained about the situation. Although management heard me out, no proper excuse or compensation was offered.
It is unfortunate that a missed managed situation left a sour taste in our mouths as we fled from the flies and peeping toms early the following morning. We’ll think twice before stopping at Wildebraam again, yet never say never and the gods have their own sense of humour, so if you are unfortunate enough and the road or wind blows you in that direction, make sure to pack your citronella candle and no matter how secluded you may feel, close the damn curtains.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andries D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildebraam, Guest Relations Manager at Wildebraam Berry Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Trip Advisor,
Thank you for affording us an opportunity to comment on Mr de Beer’s comments
There are 2 issues in Mr De Beer’s comments:
1: Flies
2: “Peeping Tom”

1: Flies
The email received from Mr De Beer on 8 January was the FIRST time that I have heard about this fly issue. At NO time did he phone us to complain or allow us the opportunity to solve the problem. We do have fly swatters and insect spray in our units. We have subsequently spoken to professionals and to the farmer up the road, from where the problem appears to be emanating and we both now have a concoction which is effectively used in dairies and is non-toxic. We are assured that this will address the sporadic fly problem (that occurs after heavy rainfall)
2: “Peeping Tom”
This is a very sensitive issue as we have Mr De Beer’s description of the incident - which differs from the garden contractor’s.
Naturally, we must respect Mr De Beer’s description, but we must also assure you that Keith’s Grasshopper Garden Services is used by most of the guest establishments in Swellendam and has an impeccable record for respect of privacy. Keith’s workers have been with him for many years and he stands by them when they say they did not look in the window. We believe that this is an unfortunate train of events, incorrectly interpreted.

After this alleged incident, Mr De Beer phoned me and I apologized profusely to him and told him that the “gardener” was not our employee but that the maintenance is outsourced to a contractor. We told Mr De Beer that we would contact Keith immediately to talk to his employee as he was still on our property. During our conversation, Mr De Beer mentioned numerous times that they were trying to sleep and enjoy their Honeymoon privacy. As a result, when Keith, the owner of the Gardening Service, told me he was going to see them, I mistakenly (in retrospect) advised him not to as they were sleeping and would probably prefer not to be bothered again.
We have also committed to informing guests of the presence of the contractors on certain days.

We apologize for this unfortunate and isolated incident and have offered to compensate Mr De Beer with a free night’s stay should he see his way to recognizing our efforts to address the situation and be willing to give us another try.

Essentially, we want to assure our clients that we did what we could at the moment it happened, and have followed up with further measures to avoid a repeat of these situations. We DID react immediately and we DID apologize for the situation.

We are very proud of Wildebraam Berry Estate and will always do our utmost to make our guests happy and comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

This working farm is great value for money if you enjoy old world type places as I do. The small cotages, roses and mountain views are breathtaking. Fantastic products from the farm are available to purchase. Stafare very helpful and friendly. Will go back soon again just to relax.

Room Tip: The staff will tell you what your options are as the cottages are differnt sizes and prices
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We had a perfect stay at the Berry Cottage! The atmosphere was absolutely idyllic and made us wish that we could stay longer.
The cottage was so well kitted out (and extremely neat), that we found we really did only need to take our food and clothes.
The berry picking was a treat and made the feel of the stay all the more "original".
Thank you Kat for making the service experience a brilliant one from the moment I inquired to the point where we checked out.
Wildebraam berry estate is definitely becoming a regular destination for us!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 776WMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We would like to congratulate and thank you for making the Swich ladies' Christmas outing such an elegant and memorable occasion. Kat pulled out all the stops which, together with the stunning view and amazing facilities made for a morning that we will long remember. The service was superb, the berries delicious, and the syrups over the icecream could not be better! As it was a morning occasion we did not taste the liqueurs or jams but heard others remarking on their excellence.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GREEN15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

me and my husband stayed in the river cottage and I fell inlove with the place.the cottage is very well equipped and we only needed to take our food and clothes with.the open plan kitchen and lounge with a inside fire place was just perfect.we loved the silence and the nice view we had outside.the cottage is more private than the others and we loved it,i would definitely recommend wildebraam estate to anyone for a weekend or week away.we will surely go back in the future.it was really heavenly to be there!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christelle p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
1.7 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
0.2 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 39 in Swellendam
381 reviews
1.0 mi away
Impangele B and B & Self Catering Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Gaikou Lodge
Gaikou Lodge
#18 of 39 in Swellendam
116 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 39 in Swellendam
528 reviews
8.2 mi away
Kwetu Guest Farm
Kwetu Guest Farm
#3 of 26 in Swellendam
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildebraam Berry Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildebraam Berry Estate

Address: S4 Hermitage Valley, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Swellendam
Price Range: £30 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wildebraam Berry Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wildebraam offers several lovely units on a youngberry farm in Swellendam. Nestled in the Hermitage Valley, 2 km from Swellendam, all the units enjoy stunning views of the Langeberg Mountains and guests will revel in the tranquil country atmosphere. All units are fully equipped with towels and linen provided. Games and books are also provided.A minimum 2- night stay over weekends is preferred when booking the larger cottages. Wildebraam is renowned for its liqueurs and deli range produced on site and all guests are welcome to join us for tastings in our cellar Mon-Sat. In addition, Wildebraam has a conference/function venue which can host up to 64 people and both corporate and private functions are very popular.ACTIVITIES: Liqueur & deli tasting at Wildebraam Cellar, horse riding by own appointment with DEE HAZELL, birding, hiking in surrounds or in Marloth Nature Reserve (1.5km), mountain biking and berry picking (in season). A 9-hole golf course is 1.5km away and various sport clubs are in Swellendam. Little ones (and older ones!) will love Sulina’s Fairy Sanctuary and Swellendam also has several art galleries and local potters and artists. Well worth visits could include the local Drostdy museum, Bontebok National Park, De Hoop Nature Reserve, Robertson Wine Route-just to mention a few. There are also lovely day trips into the countryside including Barrydale, Montagu, Robertson, Malgas and Arniston. BUT, most of all, lots of RELAXING!! Wine tasting and country meandering are the order of the day.We look forward to sharing our "berried treasure" with you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Wildebraam Berry Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing