We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arumvale Country House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Arumvale Country House
Ranked #6 of 37 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Plettenberg
2 reviews
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

This was our First night In South Africa,and it couldn't have been more perfect.George recommended us a great Restaurant. The view was Incredible, and our stay was awesome. Just one shower Made Problems,as well as the door...;) Thank you very much for everything,we'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elena & Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    102
    18
    2
    1
See reviews for
72
200
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed in the Carol Suite at Arumvale Country Estate over the Easter weekend and we were so sorry to say goodbye!

The location is perfect, surrounded with green farmland, trees and mountains. The beautifully manicured garden and the view from the extra large lounge window was captivating.

Our suite was light, spacious and tastefully decorated and what a pleasure it was to have it serviced once a day.

George (the owner) was so helpful and friendly and made our stay just that much more memorable.

We are definitely planning a return soon!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MeaganLegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed overnight to break a journey from Cape Town to the Garden Route and found this charming country house close to Swellendam town but far from traffic and suburbs. Very peaceful, good accommodation and a pleasant and helpful owner. Will do it again but stay for longer next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

A very beautifully located guest farm with beautiful views. Cosy rooms and comfy beds!

We were upgraded to a suite after discovering that our cottage door had a faulty lock - very gracefully done.

Definitely a good choice for a tranquil stop in Swellendam.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Arumvale was my first choice from the beginning!!! Beautiful location and view over the mountains!
Love the modern country style...on the farm but in style!
Everything you need is there! Friendly hosts who make you feel so at home.
we will def be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tanya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Lovely, peaceful stay here after long day driving on the Garden Route. Its a little out of town down a non-paved road. I would recommend bringing own food etc, as the town was very quite to find somewhere for dinner. Also its a lovely location to cook dinner.
George, the owner, gave us some tips on changing our driving route a little and was well worth it!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aoife M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Fantastic guest house, great views and friendly hospitality. Well worth the trip. Its just outside the little town of Swellendam, has a small holding farm style feel, but with modern finishes. Great for kids to wake up to farm setting with animals all around

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Werner B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
1.5 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
0.9 mi away
Marula Lodge Guesthouse
Marula Lodge Guesthouse
#7 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 37 in Swellendam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Augusta de Mist Country House
1.1 mi away
De Kloof Luxury Estate
De Kloof Luxury Estate
#2 of 4 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
1.6 mi away
Babette Bed and Breakfast
Babette Bed and Breakfast
#5 of 37 in Swellendam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arumvale Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arumvale Country House

Property: Arumvale Country House
Address: Bethel Street | Hermitage Valley, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arumvale Country House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arumvale Country House provides well appointed, self-catering facilities and friendly, professional service. Situated in Swellendam's beautiful Hermitage Valley, which is a three kilometer walk or drive from Swellendam's historic town centre. Arumvale has three luxury, self-catering suites, one standard suite and a rustic garden cottage within a beautiful garden & countryside setting. Each suite has a large bedroom, en-suite bathroom, a themed lounge, kitchenette, private patio and separate entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Arumvale Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing