We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil Arumvale”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arumvale Country House
Ranked #5 of 39 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Very good value for money in a tranquil farm setting.
A well-equipped kitchenette and the fireplace packed with firewood and charcoal, just ready for the braai. Well-fitted bathroom with a super walk-in shower.
The general feel is relaxed and rural, once we got rid of the flies, which is understandable seeing it is a farm setting.
An excellent venue if an escape from the city is what you need.
Friendly & helpful staff that will see us soon again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Henry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

265 - 271 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed at this wonderful guesthouse which was recommended to us by friends who had previously stayed there. It is the perfect stop between Knysna and CT (approx 2hrs from CT). We stayed in the self catering double-story cottage which has a spectacular view of the mountain. The room had a lovely fireplace, 2 bathrooms and is well appointed with tea, and coffee and fresh milk. Lovely touch, especially with the cows in the field next to the cottage. Relaxing farm lifestyle and we are sorry we didn't stay longer, and will definitely be back. The owners of the farm are also so welcoming and helpful.

Room Tip: Annelize Suite is double story with a lovely view from the bedroom upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sam_treat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Great; very good service, very nice owners. Georgeous landscape; wonderful place to be. Marloth nature reserve very close, it is definitely worthwhile visiting. Also berry farms and fairy sanctury, good food in town (30-45 min walk away from Arumvale).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Martin Kristin ... K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This was our First night In South Africa,and it couldn't have been more perfect.George recommended us a great Restaurant. The view was Incredible, and our stay was awesome. Just one shower Made Problems,as well as the door...;) Thank you very much for everything,we'll be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elena & Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed in the Carol Suite at Arumvale Country Estate over the Easter weekend and we were so sorry to say goodbye!

The location is perfect, surrounded with green farmland, trees and mountains. The beautifully manicured garden and the view from the extra large lounge window was captivating.

Our suite was light, spacious and tastefully decorated and what a pleasure it was to have it serviced once a day.

George (the owner) was so helpful and friendly and made our stay just that much more memorable.

We are definitely planning a return soon!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeaganLegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed overnight to break a journey from Cape Town to the Garden Route and found this charming country house close to Swellendam town but far from traffic and suburbs. Very peaceful, good accommodation and a pleasant and helpful owner. Will do it again but stay for longer next time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

A very beautifully located guest farm with beautiful views. Cosy rooms and comfy beds!

We were upgraded to a suite after discovering that our cottage door had a faulty lock - very gracefully done.

Definitely a good choice for a tranquil stop in Swellendam.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Jo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
1.5 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
1.7 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 39 in Swellendam
527 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marula Lodge
Marula Lodge
#6 of 39 in Swellendam
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#2 of 39 in Swellendam
457 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 39 in Swellendam
627 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cypress Cottage
Cypress Cottage
#7 of 39 in Swellendam
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arumvale Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arumvale Country House

Address: Bethel Street | Hermitage Valley, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range: £42 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arumvale Country House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arumvale Country House provides well appointed, self-catering facilities and friendly, professional service. Situated in Swellendam's beautiful Hermitage Valley, which is a three kilometer walk or drive from Swellendam's historic town centre. Arumvale has three luxury, self-catering suites, one standard suite and a rustic garden cottage within a beautiful garden & countryside setting. Each suite has a large bedroom, en-suite bathroom, a themed lounge, kitchenette, private patio and separate entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Arumvale Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing