We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, Romantic, Authentic, Nature” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arumvale Country House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Arumvale Country House
Ranked #6 of 37 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely, Romantic, Authentic, Nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We loved staying at the Arumvale and would recommend this place to everybody.
George, the owner is very lovely, helpful and made us feel at home. The room / apartment was great and spacious. There was a living room and kitchen downstairs and a very nice bedroom with balcony upstairs overlooking the fields and mountains. It felt like a honeymoon!
There is also a nice swimming pool and a bbq on the deck to use. We loved it, no single complaint! Thanks very much!

Room Tip: If you want something unique, spacious and with great scenic views pic this place! Very romantic and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marije C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    102
    18
    2
    1
See reviews for
72
200
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Arumvale country house is a perfect for a honeymoon.

The Anneline house is amazing! The mountainous view from the bedroom balcony is spectacular.

It stormed during our time there which was absolutely brilliant. It was so romantic with the fireplace and the coziness of the house.

I wish we'd stayed longer and I will definitely be going back for more vacations to come.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Castle20140421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Very good value for money in a tranquil farm setting.
A well-equipped kitchenette and the fireplace packed with firewood and charcoal, just ready for the braai. Well-fitted bathroom with a super walk-in shower.
The general feel is relaxed and rural, once we got rid of the flies, which is understandable seeing it is a farm setting.
An excellent venue if an escape from the city is what you need.
Friendly & helpful staff that will see us soon again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Henry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed at this wonderful guesthouse which was recommended to us by friends who had previously stayed there. It is the perfect stop between Knysna and CT (approx 2hrs from CT). We stayed in the self catering double-story cottage which has a spectacular view of the mountain. The room had a lovely fireplace, 2 bathrooms and is well appointed with tea, and coffee and fresh milk. Lovely touch, especially with the cows in the field next to the cottage. Relaxing farm lifestyle and we are sorry we didn't stay longer, and will definitely be back. The owners of the farm are also so welcoming and helpful.

Room Tip: Annelize Suite is double story with a lovely view from the bedroom upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sam_treat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Great; very good service, very nice owners. Georgeous landscape; wonderful place to be. Marloth nature reserve very close, it is definitely worthwhile visiting. Also berry farms and fairy sanctury, good food in town (30-45 min walk away from Arumvale).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Martin Kristin ... K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plettenberg
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

This was our First night In South Africa,and it couldn't have been more perfect.George recommended us a great Restaurant. The view was Incredible, and our stay was awesome. Just one shower Made Problems,as well as the door...;) Thank you very much for everything,we'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elena & Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed in the Carol Suite at Arumvale Country Estate over the Easter weekend and we were so sorry to say goodbye!

The location is perfect, surrounded with green farmland, trees and mountains. The beautifully manicured garden and the view from the extra large lounge window was captivating.

Our suite was light, spacious and tastefully decorated and what a pleasure it was to have it serviced once a day.

George (the owner) was so helpful and friendly and made our stay just that much more memorable.

We are definitely planning a return soon!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MeaganLegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
1.5 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
0.9 mi away
Marula Lodge Guesthouse
Marula Lodge Guesthouse
#7 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 37 in Swellendam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Augusta de Mist Country House
1.1 mi away
De Kloof Luxury Estate
De Kloof Luxury Estate
#2 of 4 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
1.6 mi away
Babette Bed and Breakfast
Babette Bed and Breakfast
#5 of 37 in Swellendam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arumvale Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arumvale Country House

Property: Arumvale Country House
Address: Bethel Street | Hermitage Valley, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arumvale Country House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arumvale Country House provides well appointed, self-catering facilities and friendly, professional service. Situated in Swellendam's beautiful Hermitage Valley, which is a three kilometer walk or drive from Swellendam's historic town centre. Arumvale has three luxury, self-catering suites, one standard suite and a rustic garden cottage within a beautiful garden & countryside setting. Each suite has a large bedroom, en-suite bathroom, a themed lounge, kitchenette, private patio and separate entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Arumvale Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing