We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faery forgotten”

Swellendam fairy sanctuary
Ranked #1 of 1 Fun & Games in Swellendam
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Faery forgotten”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I wanted to love this place - faeries, grotto's, magic dust and wonder - but alas I found it stuffed full of cheaply made chinese style fairies and such like stuff. I wanted a wonderful collection of hand made and unusal fairylike creations. Saying that the gardens are lovely and my kids enjoyed poking about, and on the upside I spent very little money - bath pills that grow into sponge animals anyone?

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank KimL79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    15
    8
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“All ages paradise”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I have been to the faerie sanctuary many times over the years and every time i am blown away by the beaty of the fairies, the relaxed atmosphere and the feeling that you have just stepped into the Enchanted forest. Its an attraction that will move you, no matter how old. By the time you leave , you willstRt believing in fairies (again).

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Engela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Children and Adults' Paradise!”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We came across the Fairy Sanctuary while driving through Swellendam and what an unexpected find it was! We were absolutely blown away by the magnificently decorated gardens, rooms and playground. It's an absolute must if you're in the area, whether you have children or not. Will definitely be back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank capetownjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melkbosstrand, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
“Yes Fairies and Angels are real”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We visited the Fairy Sanctuary in June 2013. What a wonderful experience, with the fairie's and angels….. a must see when you pass Swellendam. We enjoyed a good few hours with the fairies, you feel like a child again and completely relaxed when you leave. A must visit if you in Swellendam even if you do not believe in Fairies… Happy fairy greetings

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Vorsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Swellendam fairy sanctuary also viewed

Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 

Been to Swellendam fairy sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing