We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Underestimated”

Bontebok National Park
Ranked #2 of 21 things to do in Swellendam
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This picturesque camping area is a protected refuge for the rare bontebok, a South African antelope recognizable for its red coat and white face.
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Underestimated”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We spent one night at this small National Park, on our way to Cape Town. We were very pleasantly surprised. The accommodation is comfortable. The proximity to the river is super, so we could swim; and we were lucky in that it had recently rained, so all the renosterveld bushes were in flower. I would recommend it as a stop-over if you are travelling up to the Garden Route - the bontebok are really graceful little antelope and I'm glad they have this small park dedicated to their species.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank vita713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    128
    76
    22
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
160 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Interesting trip”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Unfortunately we visited just after the heavy rainfall in early January and some of the roads were still flooded. A small park - with not much else to see other than Bontebok, but quite scenic in parts, particularly near the river.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank RODNEYANDPAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A scenic drive to do while in `swellendam”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Took a drive around Bontebok National Park and also had a nice walk. Didn't see any animals but the the views were lovely.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank geridine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franschhoek, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Camping at Bontebok”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We had a lovely stay, even if the only buck you see is Bontebok.
The ablution facilities are neat, clean and serviced more than once a day, the showers work!!
Staff is friendly and help full.
Will visit again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank HesterMeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Riverside Meanderings”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Bontebok National Park is a small gem just outside Swellendam and a baragin at apprx R80 fee per person all going to wildlife conservation. It sits on the bank of the Breede River and is very, very pretty. There are very few "tick the box" things to see and do in this national park - its more of a great place to just be. The birding is excellent and there three very easy walking trails (2 x 1.8km's and 1 x7km's). There are also several bontebok loitering around the campsite, you almost feel they are pets but you can get pretty good look. Our kids adored the swimming and tortoise spotting,

We camped in their stunning but pretty rustic riverside campsite approx R200 per night. Location wise, its sublime, right on the river with easy access for swimming and fishing. Be warned though, the riverside campsites are not open year round and the more permanent campsites are not particularly pretty - more like a parking lot around a fairly decent abulution block. The riverside campsites are also a fair walk to the abulution block and have no electricity - but its still worth it! The grandparents stayed in a chalet. You must book a river facing chalet if possible as the views can be stunning. The chalets were nicely appointed but very very small. Apparently you can squeeze 3 adults (2 single beds and a sleeper couch with one bathroom) in them but you would need to know each other very well for this to work. The chalets are also pricey for what they are approx R1000 per chalet per night

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KimL79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bontebok National Park also viewed

Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 

Been to Bontebok National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing