We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swellendam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bontebok National Park - Caravan and Camping
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed in one of the wooden chalets with our four year old daughter and had a great time - despite the storm the first night. The chalets are on the small side - but was perfect for our family of three. There are enough glass windows and sliding doors to allow for beautiful views of the surrounds and Breede Rivier despite the bad weather. The chalets are equipped with the bare minimum, but it was quite sufficient. We took a large tub with for my daughter to "bath" in the shower cubicle. She also enjoyed sleeping on the sleeper couch.
My husband wasn't disappointed in the dirt roads for mountain biking.
Saw lots of Bontebok, one zebra, some Springbok and a grey Rheebok. Lots of birds and mice.
Would love to go back in summer/spring so that we could swim in the river and have a picnic at the Picnic site - really beautiful

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CapeMom_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 34 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

This is the second of three Breede River destinations for us this week. Staying in one of the chalets overlooking the river and couldn't have asked for more. Simple but functional and well equipped. The wrap around porch with build in braai is just what we needed.

I've sort of given up on the idea of both of us fishing at the same time and am spending time on another hobby, this one involving a camera and some new lenses that need trying out. The boys are happy kicking on a blanket in the shade while daddy has his fishing line in the water and I'm snapping away anything that sits still long enough.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Desertmonkey2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I am a great fan of South African National Parks (SANParks) and have had many fantastic stays at their facilities. This one was a bit of a let down. The wooden chalet where I stayed was designed so that the verandahs of both the neighbours were a bit too close and exposed for comfort. WIth so much space available, they should have designed them to be further apart, perhaps with some bush or screening between them. The chalets are not cheap, compared to other SANParks accommodation, so I think better can be expected. Also there seems to be a fly problem and the auto spray in the chalet was pretty ineffective - although this is no fault of management. Next time I will camp as the sites looked great.
It was a nuisance to have to go into town to buy firewood/charcoal - perhaps the shop at reception could stock these basics as is the normal SANParks custom.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Camped here 1 night. Unfortunately the road to the campsite is not all paved. Go on a circular walking trail and swim in the river. It better to go in winter. It gets really hot in summer. U can't miss the bontebok they often come and graze in the campsite.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank MattAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Silvano B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
Thank KindimGepaeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
1.5 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
8.3 mi away
Kam'Bati River Resort
Kam'Bati River Resort
#12 of 26 in Swellendam
23 reviews
9.6 mi away
AfriCamps at Kam'Bati
AfriCamps at Kam'Bati
#7 of 26 in Swellendam
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 39 in Swellendam
627 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#2 of 39 in Swellendam
457 reviews
1.4 mi away
De Kloof Luxury Estate boutique hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bontebok National Park - Caravan and Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bontebok National Park - Caravan and Camping

Address: Bontebok National Park, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Swellendam
Hotel Class:3 star — Bontebok National Park - Caravan and Camping 3*
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing