We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth it” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Mill Restaurant

The Old Mill Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 36 Restaurants in Swellendam
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Avoid the "homemade" burgers. Bad quality meat, bland ingredients, oily chips, old bun. Terrible service. The chesecake was nice though, but hardly a redeeming factor. Never seeing us again

Helpful?
Thank stefandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    43
    16
    16
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glastonbury
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice meal but slow service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

The meal was very good but service was slow but that did not matter to us. Another table had to give up on getting their meal though as they were running out of time.
It seemed as though there was a significant staff shortage

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice evening meal in pleasant surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

This restaurant was just across the road from the hotel where we were staying and we did not want to go far, after having walked into town the previous evening for a disappointing meal at a more highly rated restaurant. Good decision! The surroundings were pleasant and, though the service was not fast, it was efficient and the food was excellent.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Likeable Coffee Shop in Swellendam”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

We have been to this easy going coffee shop/restaurant a number of times while in South Africa and have always liked it. The service is OK, the food is good for the price and the location makes a great stop if you are heading down the coast from Cape Town.

Don't expect this to be the best coffee shop or restaurant you have ever been to but it is our favourite place to stop in the area.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank snhindle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potter Bar, Herts (near London), England
Level Contributor
359 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
“Good if you want lots of meat otherwise give it a miss”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We tried this having been told it offered good meat dishes.

However not all the family wanted meat so we ordered a variety of dishes.

Whilst the food did arrive after a wait I can only say that the meat dish was good but lacked much in the way of vegetables and was not the most hearty plate after having eaten out at so many excellent places in South Africa.

The pasta dishes were just warm and okay but not spectacular.

We also thought the service or warmth of reception was somewhat bland or lacking. Perhaps we were in on an off night but at other places we had had very friendly and warm greetings and great service.

Overall it was just passable but if we lived locally based on this we would vote with our feet and eat elsewhere.

If you are out late not many places will be open so choices are limited.

In the summer when we were in town the positives are that during the day and even in evenings if it is not to cold you can sit outside. i think as a lunch eating stop outside would be fine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wacky the Wizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Mill Restaurant also viewed

Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 

Been to The Old Mill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing