We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely renovated, attractive guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
De Kloof Luxury Estate
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
Level Contributor
271 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Nicely renovated, attractive guesthouse”
Reviewed 25 January 2010

The buildings and grounds have been beautifully maintained, the welcome was friendly, breakfast was pleasant on the verandah. The kids bathroom had no toiletries and a window from the shower to the bedroom which didn't appeal to them.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanberraJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    53
    21
    6
    3
See reviews for
33
176
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2010

We really enjoyed our 2 nights in De Kloof! It's a wonderful exclusive accommodation with beautiful rooms in a lovely area. We will never forget the lovely breakfasts on the terrace in the morning sun. If you want a retreat and spoil yourself a bit; this is the place to be. The rooms are designed with real eye for detail. Every little detail is thought over. De Kloof is a real Luxury Estate.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retouw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiswick, West London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

We spent two nights over Xmas at De Kloof and thought it was fantastic. The estate oozes style from the moment you go into the main house and are then taken to your accommodation. The estate has been so beautifully restored that it is on a par with Akademie Street in Franschhoek for our best places to stay in South Africa. We had booked one of the lower cost rooms and we thought the design and the quality of the furnishings were superb. I can only imagine what the better rooms are like and we plan to return at some point in the next couple of years so will no doubt find out!

The facilities of the resort were the best we found in our 2 weeks in South Africa with the best pool, the biggest grounds and a gym to work off all the calories I had put into my system in SA!

The owners were also great and as there were no restaurants open on Xmas Day, we had a lovely buffet in the main house with the other guests which was probably the best night in the whole of our stay.

De Kloof is definitely our kind of place!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhyllisMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maarssen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
119 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2009

This beautifully restored colonial estate from 1801 is run perfectly by a Dutch couple, paying individual attention and service to their guests.
We stayed 2 nights in a detached house, beutifully decorated and a great design bathroom.
breakfast can be served at the terrace or inside.
Every evening there is a wine tasting.
The car is washed every morning!
The owners can advise on nice restaurants and book them for you. We had two great dinners in Swellendam!

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2009

We stayed at De Kloof one night in August 2009. Unfortunately that day it was raining so we couldn't appreciate entirely the beauty of the place, but still we enjoyed being in such a beautiful guesthouse with bad weather!

Our room was a deluxe garden suite, we saw them both before deciding which one to stay in. The rooms are very spacious and are elegantly furbished, with a modern style mixed with African elements. The bathroom is also very big, with two separate washbasins, bathtub and shower and all the toiletries. The TV offered a huge selection of channels.

The main house is beautiful, an historical monument which the owners have renovated with elegance, using a mix of original (wooden floors and ceilings) and modern elements. Breakfast was served in a nice room and was rich. We also had a pleasant wine tasting in our suite upon our arrival.

Marjolein and Roy were very helpful and welcoming. They gave us suggestions for the restaurant and booked we one we chose (Koornlands), a few minutes walk from the house and very good! They also gave us precious directions for the next day plan, including a couple of great shopping tips, Kapula candles in Bredasdorp. On the day of our departure it was sunny and we could finally appreciate the beauty of the De Kloof garden, which is so beautiful and well maintained.

We really enjoyed staying at De Kloof and we would recommend it particularly for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleonora_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2009

This is undoubtedly a beautifully renovated estate which looks, as previous contributors say, exactly as it looks in the brochure. The decoration is tasteful, good quality and the accommodation spacious, the grounds are lovely. But we do have reservations which we are sad about.

The last contribution indicates that it would be better to visit in the summer – we wholeheartedly agree. This is for a number of reasons. First, the rooms looked lovely but were cold, this was one of the few hotels we stayed in where there was no electric blanket or hot water bottle in evidence, nor was the heating that was available turned on at turndown, again out of step with other places we stayed. Second, our introduction to the property indicated that had we been there in summer we would have been able to have high tea in the garden, breakfast on the terrace, wine tasting…..my travelling companions later commented that we had obviously chosen the wrong hotel for the wrong time of year, it would all be so much better in summer. These were clumsy comments which was compounded by the decision that there would be no wine tasting as mentioned on our confirmation of booking: Swellendam is full of B&Bs, a differentiating attraction here was the wine tasting, perfect we thought after a day’s driving. On arrival we were told it was one of the things only available in summer, when we left we were told they no longer offer the tastings and ‘had replaced it with a champagne breakfast’ – oh dear, our confirmation promised this too – with a day’s driving ahead drinking at breakfast wasn’t sensible, besides sparkling rose wine is not champagne. If you want to cut the wine tasting for winter and it’s been promised on the booking confirmation then surely it makes good business sense to leave a complimentary bottle of wine in the room in lieu….. My view is that the owners let themselves down, they have invested a huge amount in the buildings and the expectations are high, they need to fulfil these every day or lower the expectations or even close in winter. I feel that another visit another day they would probably be on form, my companion would be inclined to try somewhere else. It should and could be great on the right day.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TopsyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2009

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon in June 2009 as a quick stop on the way to Oudtshoorn.

Good quality guest house with friendly welcome and very clean and nicely decorated room with big well fitted bathroom. Good breakfast and they even washed our car for us! Would definitely recommend visiting at a warmer time of year to make the best use of this place!

Didn’t take any pictures, but the place was exactly as it looks on the website.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rlpb13a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.4 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
0.5 mi away
Swellengrebel Hotel
Swellengrebel Hotel
#3 of 4 in Swellendam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 37 in Swellendam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Augusta de Mist Country House
Augusta de Mist Country House
#30 of 37 in Swellendam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#2 of 37 in Swellendam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
1.1 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Kloof Luxury Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Kloof Luxury Estate

Property: De Kloof Luxury Estate
Address: 8 Weltevrede Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — De Kloof Luxury Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star boutique hotel& Villa & SPA -Member of best Boutique Hotels of the World Often described as the Jewel and Grand Dame of Swellendam- Western Cape -South Africa -where history meets trends with unique interior decor. Hotel offers spacious rooms & suites all with free WIFI ,large designer bathrooms,extra length beds and climate control. high teas, breakfast, lunches and evening fusion tasting dinners and a la carte dinners served in Restaurant 18 Zero One ,large pool with breathtaking views. Spa for beauty and massage treatments with award award winning products and services. Dam with geese and ducks, several secluded gardens and koi ponds Grand Suite with waterbed, jacuzzi and fireplace as well 2 bedroom family Suites available. A true Oasis and hidden gem on superb quiet large grounds walking distance from historical heart of village ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your De Kloof Luxury Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Kloof Luxury Estate Swellendam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing