We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious charming guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
De Kloof Luxury Estate boutique hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2010

We stayed here on our last night before driving to Capetown for our flight. The location is perfect, up a side street so it is quiet but still easy walking distance to restaurants. The estate buildings are listed and thatched - this is a beautiful place to stay. Our room was large, very comfortable and beautifully decorated. The attention to detail is amazing. De Kloof's garden is lovely with a large pool. The hosts are charming and very friendly. Breakfast is served on the terraced and is fabulous. This is a great place to spoil yourself, relax and have a wonderful time. We will return for longer next time. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GH1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2010

I echo all the good stuff which has been written by others. The only reason I am bothering to write this review is to demonstrate that I can give more than three blobs.

Clearly run by a couple of perfectionists whose attitude is shared by everyone who works there.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WindyinSancreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2010

The buildings and grounds have been beautifully maintained, the welcome was friendly, breakfast was pleasant on the verandah. The kids bathroom had no toiletries and a window from the shower to the bedroom which didn't appeal to them.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanberraJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2010

We really enjoyed our 2 nights in De Kloof! It's a wonderful exclusive accommodation with beautiful rooms in a lovely area. We will never forget the lovely breakfasts on the terrace in the morning sun. If you want a retreat and spoil yourself a bit; this is the place to be. The rooms are designed with real eye for detail. Every little detail is thought over. De Kloof is a real Luxury Estate.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retouw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2010

We spent two nights over Xmas at De Kloof and thought it was fantastic. The estate oozes style from the moment you go into the main house and are then taken to your accommodation. The estate has been so beautifully restored that it is on a par with Akademie Street in Franschhoek for our best places to stay in South Africa. We had booked one of the lower cost rooms and we thought the design and the quality of the furnishings were superb. I can only imagine what the better rooms are like and we plan to return at some point in the next couple of years so will no doubt find out!

The facilities of the resort were the best we found in our 2 weeks in South Africa with the best pool, the biggest grounds and a gym to work off all the calories I had put into my system in SA!

The owners were also great and as there were no restaurants open on Xmas Day, we had a lovely buffet in the main house with the other guests which was probably the best night in the whole of our stay.

De Kloof is definitely our kind of place!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhyllisMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2009

This beautifully restored colonial estate from 1801 is run perfectly by a Dutch couple, paying individual attention and service to their guests.
We stayed 2 nights in a detached house, beutifully decorated and a great design bathroom.
breakfast can be served at the terrace or inside.
Every evening there is a wine tasting.
The car is washed every morning!
The owners can advise on nice restaurants and book them for you. We had two great dinners in Swellendam!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MBMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2009

We stayed at De Kloof one night in August 2009. Unfortunately that day it was raining so we couldn't appreciate entirely the beauty of the place, but still we enjoyed being in such a beautiful guesthouse with bad weather!

Our room was a deluxe garden suite, we saw them both before deciding which one to stay in. The rooms are very spacious and are elegantly furbished, with a modern style mixed with African elements. The bathroom is also very big, with two separate washbasins, bathtub and shower and all the toiletries. The TV offered a huge selection of channels.

The main house is beautiful, an historical monument which the owners have renovated with elegance, using a mix of original (wooden floors and ceilings) and modern elements. Breakfast was served in a nice room and was rich. We also had a pleasant wine tasting in our suite upon our arrival.

Marjolein and Roy were very helpful and welcoming. They gave us suggestions for the restaurant and booked we one we chose (Koornlands), a few minutes walk from the house and very good! They also gave us precious directions for the next day plan, including a couple of great shopping tips, Kapula candles in Bredasdorp. On the day of our departure it was sunny and we could finally appreciate the beauty of the De Kloof garden, which is so beautiful and well maintained.

We really enjoyed staying at De Kloof and we would recommend it particularly for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eleonora_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.4 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
1.7 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 39 in Swellendam
627 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#2 of 39 in Swellendam
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 39 in Swellendam
527 reviews
1.7 mi away
Swellendam Country Lodge
Swellendam Country Lodge
#9 of 39 in Swellendam
210 reviews
0.5 mi away
Babette Bed and Breakfast
Babette Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 39 in Swellendam
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Kloof Luxury Estate boutique hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Kloof Luxury Estate boutique hotel

Address: 8 Weltevrede Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Price Range: £120 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — De Kloof Luxury Estate boutique hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star boutique hotel& Villa & SPA -Member of best Boutique Hotels of the World Often described as the Jewel and Grand Dame of Swellendam- Western Cape -South Africa -where history meets trends with unique interior decor. Hotel offers spacious rooms & suites all with free WIFI ,large designer bathrooms,extra length beds and climate control. high teas, breakfast, lunches and evening fusion tasting dinners and a la carte dinners served in Restaurant 18 Zero One ,large pool with breathtaking views. Spa for beauty and massage treatments with award award winning products and services. Dam with geese and ducks, several secluded gardens and koi ponds Grand Suite with waterbed, jacuzzi and fireplace as well 2 bedroom family Suites available. A true Oasis and hidden gem on superb quiet large grounds walking distance from historical heart of village ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your De Kloof Luxury Estate boutique hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Kloof Luxury Estate Swellendam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing