We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bloomestate: a small paradise in Swellendam ....”
Review of Bloomestate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bloomestate
Ranked #1 of 39 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Once you've entered the gate you will be surprised by what you see and you will feel at home right away. It's very clean and well taken care of.
The staff (Carl and Maarten) is very friendly and they can help you plan your daytrips. They also help you to find the best restaurants in town.
If you feel like having a rest you can stay and hang around the pool or take a bath in the outdoor jacuzzi.
We've been here twice and we hope we can come back one day....

Room Tip: All rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vandenBroek-Voorburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (627)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 627 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2011

A friend of mine won two nights (everything included) at Bloomestate. It was a great price to win. So we booked a flight and went to South Africa for almost 6 weeks. When we arrived at Bloomestate, we both get a neck, back and shoulder massage from one hour each. I can really recommend that to everybody who needs to relax. The rooms are very spacious and beautiful decorated. There are so many extra's which is included to the room that we hadn't enough time to do everything. In the morning the breakfast was the best ever. And everything looks and tasts delicious. That day we went to 'de Hoop Nature Reserve'. Maarten (the owner of Bloomestate) had some wildlife/birds books that we took there. And he gave us information how to get there. After a nice day in de Hoop we were happy to get back at Bloomestate and we sat in the jacuzzi with a bottle of wine.......the best!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mo75Holland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

We had stayed at bloomestate once before, so we had high expectations for our stay but we were not disappointed.

The immaculate gardens, designer furniture and beautiful room, once again, provided such a fantastic setting that we decided to spend our three days at bloomestate rather than taking any trips (we did visit some other places on route to and from bloomestate)

The only big change was a good one - since our last visit, they had completed a secluded decked area next to their lake, which is a great place to get some shade or watch the birds.

What really sets bloomestate above even the generally high standard of South African accomodation is the attention to detail - you really do feel like they have thought carefully about everything from the way they serve breakfast right through to the way the gardens are illuminated at night.

The couple who run bloomestate are quite rightly proud of what they have created and could not do too much to make sure we had a good time. The Italian restaurant that they recommended and kindly drove us to was suberb and, as a special suprise, they arranged breakfast for us on the decking overlooking the lake (which must have been quite a bit of effort - it is at the other end of the estate to the breakfast room)

We had a really special time at bloomestate - we only wish we could have stayed for longer.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gingerwuzzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Very welcoming, friendly staff. Beautiful grounds with good pool, hammock and almost a safari feel. Very modern, striking design. Very large rooms with every mod con and large bath for two! Amazing breakfast, absolutely delicious and miles away from the usual buffet fare. Honesty bar. Have clearly understood what people look for in a relaxing hotel and wish we had stayed two nights.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misselaneyous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

would recommend this to everyone who loves luxury, design and tranquility!
great rooms and bathrooms, delicious breakfast ( the best we had in 3 weeks in south africa) nice swimmingpool, jacuzzi and nice garden. We would love to come back so you can spoil us again!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraMeerssen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

Great hospitality in a beautiful setting. Accommodation and service are excellent. Do not make your stay too short - allow time to fully enjoy and appreciate what is on offer!
Carla and Maarten are wonderful,friendly and helpful hosts

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stonereturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2011

This is our fourth trip to Bloomestate in Swellendam and our friends - both overseas and here in South Africa - always ask us "Why Swellendam?" We answer them, because that's where Bloomestate is. If it was anywhere else, we'd be there. Not that Swellendam doesn't have it's own charms - a classic small farmer's town with original buildings and a european feel - it's full of people passing through during the day, so there are galleries and cafes, but at night it is a ghost town with a few very good restaurants around like La Sosta and Sabines. It's just 45 minutes away from Roberston where some of our favorite wines are produced (Danie de Wet and Springfield). And the golf! Swellendam has a charming 9 holes - they keep saying the next 9 are coming - with a great view and a relaxed vibe "pay when you're done so we know if you decided to play once for 9 or twice for 18". And Robertson's Silwerstrand is fantastic and usually empty - for no good reason as it is stunningly beautiful.

We come to Bloomestate to see what new stylish elements Carla and Maarten have incorporated into their estate - and we copy them with our home decor up in London unashamedly.

We come here to relax, sit by the pool, gaze up at the mountains, whilst still having our cityslicker neccessities: a great big king size bed, that fantastic cup of coffee, wireless, ipod docking stations, fantastic showers in slate wetrooms, massages in their treatment room, steamed asparagus on a lovely salad for lunch etc.

Year after year Carla and Maarten have perfected the art. If only everywhere we travelled to had a pair like these two providing accomodation like this.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonnie354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
2.0 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
0.1 mi away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#2 of 39 in Swellendam
457 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 39 in Swellendam
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 39 in Swellendam
381 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swellendam Country Lodge
Swellendam Country Lodge
#9 of 39 in Swellendam
210 reviews
1.7 mi away
De Kloof Luxury Estate boutique hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bloomestate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloomestate

Address: 276 Voortrek Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range: £91 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bloomestate 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bloomestate Swellendam: This trendy guesthouse offers the restful feel of a country retreat with the style of a chic design hotel. Colourful chic in balance with natural surroundings. Bright and spacious rooms with terrace and views, high tech equipment, design furniture and free internet access and luxurious bathrooms (double bath and separate walk in shower) with bath and body products of Rain.Relax at the poolside or on the sundeck on the pound, try the Jacuzzi or pamper yourself with a wellness massage in the dedicated treatment room. Breakfast is a high treat, separate guest lounge with funky bar wing and large covered terrace with views. Good restaurants on strolling distance, owner managed. Only 2 hours from Capetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bloomestate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing