We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bloomin' great!”
Review of Bloomestate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bloomestate
Ranked #1 of 38 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southern UK
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Bloomin' great!”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Two nights spent at this superb establishment. Although it is many hours from home in Europe, we will return. Owners made us very welcome - sat down together with tea/beer to run through details of the place. They even recommended & booked a restaurant in the evening as we did not know the area.

Comfortable rooms in two blocks. Modern design and all amenities including reasonably priced wine/beer in mini bar. Good security for guests and vehicles. Even electrical adapters were provided! In well equipped club house there is a wide range of tourist information, DVDs and an honesty bar. Free coffee and tea.

Superb breakfast included cold meat/fish, prepared fruit and local cheese fresh orange juice was a favourite. As was the excellent coffee. Cooked breakfast was just right, with fresh eggs and bacon.

Pool was on the small side, but the view of the hills behind made up for this

Rhodesian Ridgeback, Scamper(?) was so cool.

Even a follow up email a week after we left, wishing us a safe flight back to the UK.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SussexFogey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    585
    33
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
83
418
11
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Our room, "Red cloud" was magic- wish we had that red light under the bed at home. Breakfast was a piece of art , tasty and fresh. Very friendly and helpful people, beautiful garden, clean pool, comfortable chairs at poolside. Wonderful bathroom, the colours made you happy and gave a feeling of luxory. Thanks from Sweden

Room Tip: The room called Red Cloud was magic
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Stayed just 1 night during our holiday :-(
It was a very pleasant experience: nice room, spacius bathroom with all the amenities needed. The owners are very friendly, just as their dog, I think an African ridgeback. Loved the design, the garden, the self-service bar and library (books and dvds), and mostly the breakfast! I do not have words to describe it, the ingredients were just so fresh and first quality!
The only setback I could mention that the property is quite close to a major road, so we could hear some traffic noise. Otherwise a perfect B&B!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank egermadar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Visited this lovely guest house in January 2013 for two nights.Boutique chic is not really my thing,
as I prefer comfort,ie nice comfy chairs,and room.The rooms had all you would need on your travels,but lacked comfort.The pool was too small,there were 8 people in it one day making it impossible to swim to cool off.The breakfast was lovely,and the hosts very good.The area around this guest house spoils it,the town has a few shops (not tourist shops)and the restaurants
in the imediate area not very good.We went to The Old Mill opposite the guest house and the reception we got on arrival from a female member of staff, almost made us turn away,her attitude and manner bordering rudeness,the meal was o.k. but atmosphere nil there were other people eating at this restaurant,and they left very quickly after their meal.!!
The guest house was tranquil,and there was a nice library to browse in.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentSmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bloomestate, Owner at Bloomestate, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Dear mrs Williams, thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Bloomestate. Your kind words describing our services are much appreciated, however we are sorry that the design didn’t meet your expectations.
The website of Bloomestate and many other websites (like Tripadvisor) where Bloomestate is listed shows as many of Bloomestate as possible, to expose the look and feel and the overall design, by photos and by descriptions. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the gardens and birding spots.

You visited us on a very warm and sunny day so at one time guests were happy chatting in the pool, which made it a very entertaining setting with drinks and icecream.

Your disappointing experience with one of the waitresses in a restaurant in town spoiled a part of your evening, but not your experience with bloomestate fortunately and neither your dinner the other night. Swellendam takes a pride of a variety of very nice and high quality restaurants, so guests do have a wide choice and can consider the recommendations of the guesthouses. We thank you also for your nice words in the guestbook and hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2013

The owners of Bloomestate, Carla and Maarten are two wonderful hosts that know how to make your stay unforgettable. We spend 7 nights and every morning the breakfast was a different treat. All details have been taken care of. When rain is expected, umbrellas are waiting for you next to your doorstep. When the afternoon is hot, Maarten shows up with a tray filled with beautiful ice creams. The estate offers different spots to relax in private: jacuzzi, deck next to a pond, a hammock, a nice swimming pool and a beautiful lounge area.
When you stay at Bloomestate there is a big risk of missing out on the local highlights, because relaxing at Bloomestate is really seductive. When you are planning to stop at Swellendam make sure you stay for more than one night to indulge in the full relaxing experience of Bloomestate.

Room Tip: All seven rooms are equally luxurious with different touches of styles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henkvanl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

The best b&b we stayed in on our three weeks trip. There are large, stylish, spotless clean rooms, equipped with everything ypu might need (even plaster and sewing kit) great bathroom and a beautiful garden with different places to sit and relax, next to the pool, near the pond or in the lounge make it wonderful place to be. At night it is quiet and feather duvets or alternatively a light alpaca blanket make you sleep well. Carla and Maarten are great hosts, very personal, helpful and interested. The breakfast is simply wonderful. We did not find anything at all to complain about. If you come to swellendam, stay here!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bloomestate, Owner at Bloomestate, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Thank you, Anna, we really appreciate you taking time and effort to write such a wonderful review of your stay at Bloomestate and we hope to welcome you another time at Bloomestate in the future.
Wishing you both a great, South Africa inspired start again in Berlin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Best accomodations and breakfast during our three weeks in South Africa. Only wish we could have stayed longer than a quick overnight en route to garden route. Hosts define hospitality. Three weeks of south african breakfasts could not compare to what was presented at the Bloomestate

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jollermd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
2.0 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
2.1 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 38 in Swellendam
510 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#2 of 38 in Swellendam
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 38 in Swellendam
371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swellendam Country Lodge
Swellendam Country Lodge
#8 of 38 in Swellendam
208 reviews
1.7 mi away
De Kloof Luxury Estate
De Kloof Luxury Estate
#2 of 4 in Swellendam
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bloomestate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloomestate

Property: Bloomestate
Address: 276 Voortrek Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bloomestate 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bloomestate Swellendam: This trendy guesthouse offers the restful feel of a country retreat with the style of a chic design hotel. Colourful chic in balance with natural surroundings. Bright and spacious rooms with terrace and views, high tech equipment, design furniture and free internet access and luxurious bathrooms (double bath and separate walk in shower) with bath and body products of Rain.Relax at the poolside or on the sundeck on the pound, try the Jacuzzi or pamper yourself with a wellness massage in the dedicated treatment room. Breakfast is a high treat, separate guest lounge with funky bar wing and large covered terrace with views. Good restaurants on strolling distance, owner managed. Only 2 hours from Capetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Bloomestate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing