We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay and service”
Review of Bloomestate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bloomestate
Ranked #1 of 39 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in beautiful Bloomestate. The room and the environment were really nice and the owners couldn't be more friendly. The jacuzzi was a good bonus as well. Breakfast was delicious and they also gave some good advice for what to do for day trips. What really made the stay memorable was the personal touch of the owners.This made the service superb. We even got coffee to go! I would definitely recommend this guesthouse to everyone

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niels S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 632 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2013

We stayed with our family in this beautifull guesthouse. We hired 3 houses. A very beautifull environment with very good service and very friendly owners Maarten and Carla.
The breakfast was excellent, well prepared and of a good quality with a personal touch.
And beautifull eggmeals prepared by Maarten.
A great location to relax for a few days. Besides the guesthouse there is a spa where we had had good treatments: massage, manicure etc.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeoB188590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We (family of 7) spent a Saturday night at Bloomestate. The ambience of the estate as well as the interior decorating is really special. Breakfast was excellent and plated in a way I have not encountered at any other guest house before. The friendly owners certainly have a unique sense of style and are most accommodating and interesting.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Our family visited Bloom Estate for one night in May, and all I can say is wow! From the warm welcome from Carla, the beautiful funky rooms and all-round hospitality. The beautiful garden also gives that feeling of being at a retreat with views of the mountains. I would definitely recommend the pool facing rooms and the red cloud room is especially romantic. Another highlight was the beautiful breakfast.

This is the type of place for those who are visually inspired and a must for honeymooners on their way to the Garden Route.

We will be back!

Room Tip: Red Cloud Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heste27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We enjoyed our two day visite in March 2013. The breakfast was extraordinary, the rooms are very large. The garden invites you to relax. For the children (and not only for them) the pool was very important. Because it is cleaned with salt, not with chlor, it was possible even for me (I have an allergy against chlor) to swim. In the evening, Maarten recommended us a restaurant and took us back with his Jeep. Sitting on the back of this pickup was a great experience especially for the six-year-old boy in our group. After that, we sat for half an hour in the very comfortable lounge, reading, talking, drinking wine.
Although we spent only two nights at Bloomestate, we felt like leaving friends, not the owners of a hotel when we left Carla, Marten, their team and - last not least - the dog.

Room Tip: I have not seen the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ulf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

This was our third stay at Bloomestate and we enjoyed it all the way. It felt almost like coming home .. Carla and Maarten never get tired of taking care of their guests. They also take good care of the buildings, everything is nice and clean.Bloomestate offers lots of space with big gardens. It's nice to relax but there are also lots of things to do in the area. And Swellendam has lots of restaurants. We we're lucky because the new spa, next door, just opened when we were there. Bloomestate also has a massageroom so you can choose what you like.
Ons thing is saure: we will com back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vandenBroek-Voorburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We very much enjoyed our overnight stop at the very chic Bloomestate.

Our room was spacious, well maintained and nicely decorated. The owners take great care to make sure that you have everything needed for a comfortable stay. They recommended to us a nearby restaurant for our evening meal and that was a great success.

Breakfast was absolutely superb and beautifully presented.

An excellent and relatively inexpensive place for an overnight stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikey077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
2.0 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
2.1 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#2 of 39 in Swellendam
534 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#3 of 39 in Swellendam
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 39 in Swellendam
385 reviews
1.7 mi away
De Kloof Luxury Estate boutique hotel
0.1 mi away
Swellendam Country Lodge
Swellendam Country Lodge
#9 of 39 in Swellendam
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bloomestate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloomestate

Address: 276 Voortrek Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range: £123 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bloomestate 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bloomestate Swellendam: This trendy guesthouse offers the restful feel of a country retreat with the style of a chic design hotel. Colourful chic in balance with natural surroundings. Bright and spacious rooms with terrace and views, high tech equipment, design furniture and free internet access and luxurious bathrooms (double bath and separate walk in shower) with bath and body products of Rain.Relax at the poolside or on the sundeck on the pound, try the Jacuzzi or pamper yourself with a wellness massage in the dedicated treatment room. Breakfast is a high treat, separate guest lounge with funky bar wing and large covered terrace with views. Good restaurants on strolling distance, owner managed. Only 2 hours from Capetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Bloomestate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing