We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite place”
Review of Bloomestate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bloomestate
Ranked #1 of 37 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Abidjan, Cote d'Ivoire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Favorite place”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We had a lovely stay in Bloomestate Swellendam in December 2013. Maarteen and Carla Made us feel at home. The place is beautiful, calm with a trendy and chic design. the room is comfortable with a BIG bathroom. Everything was perfect. One recommendation, STAY LONGER than one night !!!
Souraya

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Souraya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    583
    32
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
82
417
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

If you are into style, design, that sort of things, then this is the place for you! It just oozes with it everywhere! Into the rooms, that all come with their own decoration (ours was the purple room this time), through to the lounge and the breakfast area. Maarten is akin to Steve Jobs. Everything simply has to be perfect, and little details that betray that abound everywhere. We won't reveal too much but ask him about why there isn't any echo in the breakfast room and why it is still possible to talk and hear each other even when the room is full, or why ladies will feel at ease sitting on the black and white sofa there... Carla is simply adorable and will make you feel very welcome and so will the 2 lovely dogs that also live there. Swellendam is a charming little village and you will then find plenty of good restaurants around, but also a day spa right next to Bloomestate now. Highly recommended.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Swisscheese_Zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We had a great stay in Bloomestate Swellendam. The owners Carla and Maarten gave us a warm welcome. It was a wonderful place to relax. The rooms were very luxurious and clean. Breakfast was perfect. A definite recommendation!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anneloes1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoevelaken, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 3 December 2013

A very warm welcome from Carla and Maarten was the start of our fantastic stay at Bloomstae on the 16th and 17th of november 2013. We stayed in the green modern and comfortable room situated in the middle of a fabulace garden with a wide diversity on threes and birds. Starting with a breakfest in the morning that we will never forget. The best we had during our three weeks trip throughout South Africa. Relaxing at the pool, reading a book and so and then a chat with other guests, Thats holliday Before we had to say goodbye, we got plenty of tips to go and to have a save trip. Maarten and Carla thruely understands what hospitality means.

Room Tip: Don't mis breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wangen b. Dubendorf, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Delicious breakfast (the best of this year's holidays), spacious rooms, nice garden, good location and very friendly and helpful Carla and Maarten! It was already the 7th time in Swellendam but our first time at Bloomestate, a very nice discovery. Definitely a place to come back to!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Nice modern and clean estate with cosy rooms with lovely bathrooms. Breakfast served is perfect offering everything you need. Owners are very friendly and help whenever they can, including on details that makes you feel special. Very wonderful!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Excellent retreat in Swellendam. Spacious rooms with all comfort you need!
Lovely garden with a very cosy relax-room offering books,dvd,music,etc.
The very best breakfast we ever had! Nice to mention that the owners did everything they could after we forgot our iPad in our room. We were already in Cape town, 250 km away but they succeeded that we got it back…thanks again Carla & Maarten!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vitsiemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
2.0 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
0.1 mi away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#2 of 37 in Swellendam
449 reviews
1.9 mi away
Augusta de Mist Country House
Augusta de Mist Country House
#30 of 37 in Swellendam
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 37 in Swellendam
491 reviews
1.5 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 37 in Swellendam
361 reviews
1.7 mi away
De Kloof Luxury Estate
De Kloof Luxury Estate
#2 of 4 in Swellendam
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bloomestate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloomestate

Property: Bloomestate
Address: 276 Voortrek Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bloomestate 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bloomestate Swellendam: This trendy guesthouse offers the restful feel of a country retreat with the style of a chic design hotel. Colourful chic in balance with natural surroundings. Bright and spacious rooms with terrace and views, high tech equipment, design furniture and free internet access and luxurious bathrooms (double bath and separate walk in shower) with bath and body products of Rain.Relax at the poolside or on the sundeck on the pound, try the Jacuzzi or pamper yourself with a wellness massage in the dedicated treatment room. Breakfast is a high treat, separate guest lounge with funky bar wing and large covered terrace with views. Good restaurants on strolling distance, owner managed. Only 2 hours from Capetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Bloomestate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing