We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“heaven”
Review of The Hideaway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hideaway
Ranked #19 of 38 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
bELPER
2 reviews
“heaven”
Reviewed 16 November 2008

Mark and Diana make you feel one of the family as soon as you arrive, the accommodation is five star , home made bread jams and farm cheeses on top off the cooked breakfast and expert advice on the area would recomend to anyone

  • Liked — people
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank juliakay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    16
    15
    6
    2
See reviews for
32
163
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2008

For a small town, Swellendam has a lot to offer. The rooms are lovely at the Hideaway, but our hosts, Mark and Diana, made our visit very memorable and special. They were charming, fun and eager to insure a pleasant stay. Our room, The Queen Elizabeth Suite, was very comfortable and well-appointed. It had a four-poster bed, antique closet and even a spinning wheel as decoration. There was delicious shortbread, beverages (both alcoholic and non-alcoholic) in our room. Breakfast included homemade bread, muffins and scones, hot dishes and a take-away bag to have something to snack on later in the day.

Mark and Diana recommended two excellent restaurants: Roosje's, just a fews blocks away, and La Sosta, a very short drive.

Next door to the Hideaway is a pottery shop. David, the potter, and Felicity, an artist, welcomed us into their home where we enjoyed wonderful, enlightening conversation and their hospitality.

We suggest you ask Mark and Diana about the hiking trails that are nearby. You'll find trails that are suitable for light hikes and more challenging hikes.

When planning a trip to South Africa, do not miss Swellendam.

  • Liked — Our hosts
  • Disliked — Leaving!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SlowTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2008

The Hideaway is a unique and hospitable place to stay.

It is important to say upfront that the excellent website intimates a boutique hotel. It is not a hotel; it is an historic old family home converted to a guesthouse with a series of rooms (they call them suites) in the garden. The fact it is not a 5 star hotel should not detract from what is on offer. For it is certainly a 5 star guesthouse.

The owners will do everything to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Marks background in the hotel industry is evident in the attention to detail. They really cannot do enough to help, be it restaurant reservations, or making a welcoming cup of tea at check in.

All the rooms are different and quirky, each named after a different rose. They are well appointed with antique furniture, and plenty of space. 3 of the 4 rooms appear to be in a converted outbuilding, with the 4th, located in an extension of the main residence.

Electric blankets and fan heaters kept off the winter chill, but the rooms would be so much cosier and romantic with the addition of a wood burner, or fireplace.

A great breakfast is served at a communal dining table, which we enjoyed but may not suit those seeking more privacy first thing in the morning. The guesthouse is very child friendly. The staff ensuring we were all addressed by name throughout our brief stay.

Parking can be an issue, but again the staff took the pain away by keeping our keys and juggling cars on the small off street parking.

There is a tiny unheated pool in a conservatory in the garden. It will provide a fun place for one or two people to splash in the heat of the summer. It is aptly named The Wallow.

If you want to stay in a well managed, homely guesthouse that represents great value, and should be a template for other hostelries to follow then stay here.

If you are expecting a five star boutique hotel look elsewhere, but you wont find a better place to stay in Swellendam.

  • Liked — Attentive staff and location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank capetravller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2008

We needed a one night stopover in Swellendam and loved The Hideaway.

Clean, great breakfast, wonderful owners who were very helpful and 2 very nice dogs to play with.

Here is a great idea - for dinner visit Herberg Roosje Van De Kaap. It is walking distance from The Hideaway. You will NOT be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Boston2Bronx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2008

This is an absolutely fantastic place to stay. We had 2 rooms: one for our daughter and one for my wife and I. Both were large, superbly and thoughtfully furnished with free access to drinks in the fridge and even a free drink of sherry waiting. We had a four poster bed that was extremely comfortable and both rooms had spotlessly clean bathrooms. The owners have really gone out of their way to be thoughtful as to what would make a guest's stay ideallic. When we arrived we were invited to have tea and shortbread in their lounge as we all watched Wimbledon. The owners had reserved us a table at a local restaurant which turned out to be small, cosy, atmospheric and with delicious food and, like other restaurants in SA, good value. The breakfast was just amazing!!! Home made yoghurt, home made cakes, home made mueseli, fruit, home cured ham, home made bread and, if you wanted it, a cookded breakfast as well. The owners even provided a doggy bag to take the cakes away for a mid-morning snack.
The garden was beautiful and we could park our car in their very capacious drive. There is actually quite a lot to see in the village - we spent a rushed 2 hours in the museum. In 30 years of going to B&B in the UK, this was the best by some margin.

  • Liked — The warm welcome and considerateness of the owners, the food and the comfort
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2008

We have just returned from our trip to South Africa and still have fond memories of our 3 day stay at Swellendam and more specifically at the Hideaway. Mark and Diana make you feel more than welcome from the moment you arrive to the moment you depart with a liqueur for the men and a poesy of Roses from Diana's rose garden for the woman.
There are personal touches everywhere from the Belly Button warmers! to fresh flowers in the rooms and a fantastic breakfast. We stayed in the ecstasy suite, a huge room with a bathroom to die for with his and hers showers and sinks!

To make use of the great garden and service you need to stay for at least a couple of days and there is plenty to explore in Swellendam.

  • Liked — The rooms and the garden
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JaseK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hants
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 December 2007

What a wonderful place. From the moment that you are greeted by Mark and Diana with a welcome drink and flapjacks to die for, the Hideaway just excels on every front. We stayed twice during our tour of the garden route and cannot wait to return. The rooms have every luxury you could wish for and are tastefully decorated and furnished. We stayed in the Queen Elizabeth Suite which was a lovely room with a delightful hand-made bed and warm rich furniture and furnishings - certainly not dark - and the bathroom was light, airy and immaculately presented. The gardens are beautifully kept and full of Diana's lovingly tended roses. Where else would you find a fresh vase of roses each day in your room and a posy on your breakfast plate - not in many of the 5 star hotels around the world, of which we have sampled a few.

Mark and Diana are the most perfect hosts who make you feel that you are very special guests. It is not just the little extras that surprise you, like the pre-dinner drinks with them every evening, the fridge full of goodies that are there for your delight, the bottles of Muscatel for a nightcap and, well,I could go on endlessly, but just go there and see for yourself. I guarantee you will not be disappointed. We stayed in a number of places on our recent tour and the Hideaway stood out as memorable.

Do go on the trip to the Bontebok Park with Adin if you have a chance. He makes an educational and fascinating experience great fun and very amusing. His knowledge and humour abound and we wouldn't have missed it.

We look forward to our next visit but until then, congratulations to Mark and Diana for a most enjoyable experience.

Sue & Graham, UK

  • Liked — Warmth and friendliness of the property and the hosts
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SueH048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.2 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
1.6 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 38 in Swellendam
364 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 38 in Swellendam
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 38 in Swellendam
504 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#2 of 38 in Swellendam
450 reviews
0.3 mi away
Augusta de Mist Country House
Augusta de Mist Country House
#30 of 38 in Swellendam
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideaway

Property: The Hideaway
Address: 10 Hermanus Steyn Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hideaway 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small country guest house in the breathtakingly beautiful Swellendam region of South Africa has the charm and elegance to make your stay both pleasant and memorable. Stephen and Jackie offer a unique experience of 5 Star accommodation: unrivaled hospitality, elegant furnishings, understated luxury with emphasis on service and guest satisfaction, and one of the best breakfasts in South Africa. Swellendam is an ideal location from which to explore the Overberg region, which is full of things to do an places to see. There is so much to do in the area that Stephen and Jackie will gladly help you to plan your trip. Please get in touch! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing